We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced with no AC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western King Salmon Motel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Soldotna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Its not an over god-awful hotel but its extremely over priced and they dont even have AC. Granted, it is Alaska and AC isnt usually necessary but on the days where the sun is beating down we all know that it is necessary and should be a given in any hotel. My girlfriend and I were basically forced to stay here after failing at hitchhiking on a hot, sunny, summer day and needed AC. But when this hotel has a monopoly in the area, mostly when we didnt have a car, they can charge whatever they want. Easily one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed at

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbtfan31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

Plain jane facility. Ate at restaurant for the hotel. You order off the menu and apparently pay the amount over a standard amount. It was great that the restaurant opened at 6:00AM. The front desk was not open at 6:30 when we left the motel. Probably would not stay at this motel again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I've stayed at this hotel before and will stay there again. It's always clean and the rooms are large. The hotel staff is always very nice. They give you a $15.00 voucher for the restaurant next door but the meals and service always leave something to be desired.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Alaska is expensive and this hotel was no exception. However, the room was more spacious than most hotels I've stayed in, it was clean, the free breakfast at the restaurant next door was very good, everything in the room was clean and worked. Perfectly satisfactory stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank conventionier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The rooms smell fresh and clean. The staff are very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. The restaurant is clean and the food is good and priced right. This was one of the quietest places I have ever stayed. There is a nice area to do laundry.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Hazel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Was a good value for the price, the rooms were spacious. I especially enjoyed the breakfast, there were plenty of options and I tried something new each day and was never disappointed. The hotel was close to everywhere I needed to go.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Jeanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We come to Soldotna a couple of times a year for medical treatment and stay at the Best Western. Always consistent and reliable. The staff is friendly and helpful. Only problem we have had was with the cable and a staff member came within just a few minutes to fix. The vouchers for the restaurant next door are a plus - great breakfast!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Dena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soldotna
1 mi away
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
#2 of 8 in Soldotna
141 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kenai River Lodge
Kenai River Lodge
#4 of 8 in Soldotna
83 reviews
7.1 mi away
Aspen Extended Stay Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Soldotna Inn
Soldotna Inn
#8 of 8 in Soldotna
37 reviews
7.2 mi away
Quality Inn Kenai
Quality Inn Kenai
#5 of 5 in Kenai
68 reviews
7.6 mi away
Kenai Airport Hotel
Kenai Airport Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kenai
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western King Salmon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western King Salmon Motel

Address: 35546A Kenai Spur Hwy, Soldotna, AK 99669-7655 (Formerly BEST WESTERN King Salmon Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Soldotna
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Soldotna
Price Range: £77 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western King Salmon Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, getaroom.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western King Salmon Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Soldotna
Soldotna Best Western
Best Western King Salmon Motel Alaska/Soldotna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing