We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a Place to Sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
South China Harbour Horizon Hotel
Ranked #456 of 1,342 Hotels in Tianjin
Reviewed 7 October 2012

This hotel has a 5A rating, but I am not quite sure what that means; maybe 5 Arguments against staying here:
1. BIG ROOMS, POORLY UTILIZED: Huge bedroom with lots of empty space. Not even table for dresser to put your purse or small packages; very large, spacious bathroom with a tiny shower, and very little countertop space for your personal toiletries.
2. BATHROOM BLINDS: extremely dirty and dusty.
3. COMPLIMENTARY ITEMS: We had to call to have them re-stock tea and lotion.
4. GIFT SHOP: Does not exist in this hotel. So, if you need anything like aspirin, tissues, pen, Q-tips, etc., you will have to go for a walk to find the nearest store.
5. HOTEL RESTAURANTS: They list two, but they really have only one. The other one is for "VIP" guests who have booked a wedding or some other affair.
Finally, my roommate mentioned that she could smell the food wafting up every morning. She didn't seem to like that.

Now, Some Good Things:
Hotel staff was friendly and courteous. A few spoke passable English.
Breakfast buffet was free and well-stocked with both Chinese and Western food items. And, eggs were cooked to order.
The maintenance man (had problems with our toilet and air conditioner) was courteous and friendly, and he responded quickly to our concerns.
The location isn't bad if you don't mind walking. You can walk to the subway station. And, getting a taxi in the area was not difficult, either.
We had three people in a twin room, and they happily supplied bed linen for the third person at no extra charge.
Room rate was reasonable for a holiday weekend: 338RMB/53USD

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fritz6233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2012

We stay in this Ocean Hotel Tianjin China many time when we take the Princess Cruise from Tianjin.The reson we like about this hotel is they had a large room on the 29-32 th floor like a apartment with beautiful (A style River View room).The price is great and the front desk is very friendly and helpful.The Hotel is not brand new but is center local near the shopping center and the train station is few minutes away.Cross from the hotel is a nice park for us to explorer .I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the 29-32 th Floor( A style River View Room)
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucyyu8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Room huge; lots of room for 3 beds. Huge bathroom with bathtub & separate walk in shower. Walkin shower poor design & workmanship; water came out of the screen door & flooded the floor. Carpet in room needs a good vacuum or replace, otherwise everything in good working order. Breakfast buffet good choice of western & Chinese. Strange; they only provide chopsticks & Chinese soup spoon. Ask waiters for fork & knife, which they keep out of reach. Hotel out of town centre a bit but plenty of taxis available & cheap.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KEE2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Really nice hotel in a nice neighbourhood not too far from the station and the city center. Staff was really friendly and I think they spoke a little English. Considering the price, it is really good value for the money.

Breakfast is mainly Chinese and most of the other guests were Chinese and other Asians when I stayed there, but it is possible to get a fairly good sandwich either in the Western Restaurant or as room service.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knaekbroed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2009

We were at this hotel twice in the last month for our honeymoon. My wife is Chinese so I didnt have any language problems!
The overall impression on first walking into the hotel is good. Nice lobby and the bell hop staff helped with the luggage without any encouragement or pushyness if you didnt want them to carry something. Check in was painless and the staff had enough English to explain the check in process, this was easy for my of course with my own translator anyway. We had booked a larger room (not sure if its classed as a suite) this had a large queensize bed and a second kingsize bed for the little one. There was a glass writing desk which also had the internet access lead (internet is free) there is no wireless in the hotel but this wasnt a problem and the speed was ok. The TV on both rooms we stayed in was about 37inch but no English channels, not really a problem as I just used the laptop and the picture quality was brilliant (an issue with the hotel distribution system I think) Bathroom was large, separate walk in shower and bath. Shower had both a fixed overhead shower and a more standard removable shower. Good pressure although on the second stay the hotel must have been quieter as hot water took a while to come through. A quick mention that on our second stay the flexible shower had a pipe split one morning throwing water in all directions. A call to reception and a replacement was fitted within 30 minutes! now that was service. The only downside about the room was the carpet, it was quite marked. In fact this seemed the norm in most places we visited in Tianjin. I can only guess it is the high smog levels that means its near on impossible to keep clean. This would also be a critisism of the western styled restaurant where you had breakfast. The carpets were marked as were many of the chairs. I would point out that all surfaces, tables etc were imaculate so I had no concerns over the cleanliness of the hotel just it was let down by the look of carpets and chairs. Breakfast was ok, not really western but they have an egg chef for fried eggs or an omelete. They will also do noodles if you want them. Most of the other options are chinese. I normally had bacon, eggs and toast, chicken sausage doesnt really appeal to me on a morning! Tea and coffee is available but I would avoid the coffee, not great! also the tea is quite weak but I found this in many places in China. Watch out for the hot milk as well, thats a weird experience on cornflakes! Other good points were the housekeeping, they noticed we had used milk for the little one and the next day they supplied the same make. A nice touch! Bell hops always sorted a cab out if you needed one although they are never far. A nice supermarket is 2 minutes walk if you need anything as well. Not much to say about the area as we never went out there, certainly seemed ok. We paid just over £30 per night including breakfast so for the money it was a bargain, Ive certainly paid far more for far less in the UK.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Col1n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kii2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 13 October 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tianjin hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Nikko Tianjin
Hotel Nikko Tianjin
#26 of 1,342 in Tianjin
347 reviews
2.0 mi away
LoGin Heping Tianjin
LoGin Heping Tianjin
#371 of 1,342 in Tianjin
43 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Tianjin
The Ritz-Carlton, Tianjin
#1 of 1,342 in Tianjin
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Tianjin Riverside
2.2 mi away
The St Regis Tianjin Hotel
The St Regis Tianjin Hotel
#2 of 1,342 in Tianjin
508 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tianjin City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South China Harbour Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South China Harbour Horizon Hotel

Address: No.329-333 Cross of Huanghe Dao and Qingnian Road, Nankai District, Tianjin, Tianjin 300100, China
Region: China > Tianjin Region > Tianjin
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #456 of 1,342 Hotels in Tianjin
Price Range: £27 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your South China Harbour Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing