We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Business Hotel”
Review of The Westin Tianjin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Tianjin
Ranked #6 of 1,328 Hotels in Tianjin
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Typical Business Hotel”
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Typical of what you would expect for a large 4/5 star business oriented hotel.
Spacious room, quiet, comfortable sleep.
Checked in late night and left early morning. Ordered room service late night, it took forever long to deliver despite the promise, and the food quality was not impressed. Breakfast selection was good.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryMJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    142
    47
    13
    10
See reviews for
20
22
19
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuching, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

used to be one of my best hotel stay when they just opened. but the "thumbs up" attitude from the staff were gone. Less smile ...................... Went to the executive lounge during evening cocktail hours, the staff just stay in her desk and never check and refil the empty bottle of wine and the bites...

Still a nice stay but not as good as before.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel_THL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

I knew this hotel was good from the pictures but wow when you get to see it in person, amazing. To think that this is in a 2nd tier (?) city like Tianjin even adds to the wow factor. This is not shanghai or hong kong, so to find this monster of a hotel here is pure joy. Hotel looks very new and super luxurious. Ok not super lux like st regis but this is tianjin. The lobby was posh, the room was amazing, bed was even more amazing. Heavenly bed, what can you say? Spa was great, luxurious. Italian restaurant was delicious. Club lounge w my favourite. It was enormous. Biggest I have ever seen and perhaps three times the size of hilton wangfujing club lounge. Although slightly bigger than the mulia and shangrila kowloon's. The best thing about the lounge was: nobody. There was nobody there during breakfast, high tea, afterhours. During my three night stay there were only four other people I met there that were guests. You have your waiters and cooks of course, there is one chinese waiter (perhaps lounge staff is more appropriate) that spoke excellent english and french. The all day desserts were delicious, coffee was a plenty and tv was flat screen, new model. The lounge itself only opens with your keycard so no need of the question: may I know your room number sir? Once you are in there. I had free internet in my room, which was very helpful. Couple it with the bed and it will provide hours of enjoyable in room surfing and skype time. This hotel also has a wow factor if you are on business. The local businessmen will know that you are 'somebody' when you asked to be picked up or dropped off here. This hotel is ridiculously WOW for Tianjin.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cendut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, California
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Make sure to ask for a room in the back away from the road. This is my second stay at the Westin in Tianjin. The last time I was here I had a room in the front and the constant noise of the traffic, honking, screeching and what not, made it really hard to go and stay asleep. This time I asked for a room in the back and my stay was considerably more pleasant. In addition, the staff seemed to have matured since my last time. The service was what you expect from this category hotel. All in all a very good experience. I will definitely come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giovanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2011

Got an upgrade to the suit, very spacious and modern (this is a very new hotel). The finger food they serve in the club lounge during the evening could be the best I ever had in a lounge.

Swimming pool is nice, but the changing room had an unpleasant smell and the automatic cold water shower at the pool entrance is something the hotel should change.
Qba with live band is a place not to be miss if u are staying in this hotel.

Overall, I'm qutie suprise to find these excellent hotel in Tianjin. Will defenately be back again

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel_THL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2011

Brand new - sparkling - glamorous ... what else can you say? The rooms are huge, top modern, spotless. The restaurants offer excellent food and they offer various restaurants with Chinese and Western food. Do not miss the nice breakfast buffet!. There is nothing you could possibly complain about. Staff is very helpful. I will stay there again next time.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csac3173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2010

I was so impressed when I walked into my room at the Westin that I immediately called down and extended my stay for two more nights in order to spend the weekend there: it was so comfortable and tastefully decorated I thought I could relax and catch up on work before moving on to my next meeting in Shanghai.

Unfortunately, within 12 hours I was unextending my stay. I checked out early the next morning and moved on to Shanghai.

You see, the Internet access in the room turned out to be so slow that I literally couldn't get any work done. Nor was there a connection in the Club Lounge - a shame because the snacks there were among the best I've ever seen. I ran an online speed test and discovered I wasn't the first guest at the hotel to have done exactly the same thing.

Disappointed, I called the front desk to ask if something was wrong with the connection. Wait fifteen minutes, they said. I waited, but nothing changed. I called back. A lot of people are using the Internet, they said. This seemed reasonable at 10 pm - but at 3 am, the connection was still exactly as slow.

I don't know how a hotel can be so perfect in so many ways and miss the ball on something critical to the modern business traveler.

Other quirks: Westins are usually known for their fine beds and impeccable bathrooms, but the pillows at this location were stiff and the water pressure very weak. The mattress was perfect, though. And the curtains made the room pitch black on command, which I always appreciate.

In short: if you don't need Internet access and are in Tianjin, do consider this hotel: it's gorgeous, and mostly very comfortable. But if you do need Internet access, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alpacalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tianjin hotels
0.9 mi away
The St Regis Tianjin Hotel
The St Regis Tianjin Hotel
#2 of 1,328 in Tianjin
447 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Tianjin
The Ritz-Carlton, Tianjin
#1 of 1,328 in Tianjin
344 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Tianjin
Shangri-La Hotel Tianjin
#3 of 1,328 in Tianjin
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nikko Tianjin
Hotel Nikko Tianjin
#24 of 1,328 in Tianjin
341 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Tianjin East
Hyatt Regency Tianjin East
#11 of 1,328 in Tianjin
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Tianjin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Tianjin

Property: The Westin Tianjin
Address: No.101 Nanjing Road, Heping District, Tianjin 300040, China
Region: China > Tianjin Region > Tianjin > Binjiang Road , Xiaobailou , Heping District , Hexi District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Tianjin
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tianjin
#13 Business Hotel in Tianjin
#24 Best Value Hotel in Tianjin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Tianjin 5*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Tianjin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Tianjin Hotel Tianjin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing