We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice oasis in a busy city”
Review of Five Great Avenues

Five Great Avenues
Book In Advance
More Info
US$124.20*
and up
Full Day Tianjin City Private Tour From Beijing By Private Car
Ranked #3 of 417 things to do in Tianjin
Certificate of Excellence
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“nice oasis in a busy city”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Tianjin is known for the European style buildings, and we were surprised to find out how nice and quite this area was. For those who don't know the history behind it, these are simply western style houses, however, with the rich history behind each building, we enjoyed our walk and most of all, we went back in time, to the era when this was a foreign concession area, only the rich and privileges lived, we were dazzled. Walking around this area is like taking a history lesson of Tianjin, its interesting.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank shaobao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    143
    47
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tianjin, China
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“quiet and beautiful place in Tianjin”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The constructures along Fice Great Avenues are very nice, old but beautiful. There're many restaurants with good taste and pretty decoration, you could borrow a bicycle built for two or four and tour around Five Great Avenues, you could also take a hansom cab there.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruoyan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenyang, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just for the one who love architecture........”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I came here because it got a high rating in tripadvisor, but what i saw is different from what i expected.. maybe because i didn't like (or know) architecture much but it just like a bunch of european houses where i can't find anything special. You can only just take a photo from outside the gate. My opinion is make this place as your plan B or backup plan because it's not really worth visited or as i mentioned above, you are an architecture-lover..

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank viktoraditya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
129 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“If you are stuck in Tianjin then... Sure, ok... Why not?”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

If you live in one of China's fourth tier cities and have not seen a beautiful thing in months and really long to see architecture not inspired by Mao's little red book then sure... Go for it. Go walk around, go drive through it. Keep expectations low and it should be a good way to spend a couple of hours.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“European spirit in Chinese streets”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

The architecture is very interesting, small Europe in the heart of Tianjin. You can take a carriage or enjoy walking along the streets.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Five Great Avenues also viewed

 

Been to Five Great Avenues? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing