We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World class bar entertainment - a noteworthy staff - in a classy hotel, QED”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sheraton Tianjin Hotel
Ranked #23 of 1,327 Hotels in Tianjin
Certificate of Excellence
County Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
129 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
“World class bar entertainment - a noteworthy staff - in a classy hotel, QED”
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Looking over my shoulder at the previous reviewer I may owe them an apology ! I thought the bar was one of the highlights of my stay at the Sheraton. And yes I sang my share of songs. We were on holiday after all.
I arrived at the Sheraton at midday and ticked off the last of my premium international brand hotels that I had stayed in. I had now done every international brand hotel from Ibis to Marriott and felt rather chuffed with myself.
The hotel has a big, I mean big open space foyer. The atrium style foyer has tiered open landings on each floor all the way up to the bright sunlight from the glass roof. Two glass lifts bring you to your floor to add a little of the exotic to the experience.
As I said it was midday, so it was time for lunch. 200RMB got you a lunch that was basically all you can eat from a myriad of choices. Asian and Western there was lots to choose from. For me being able to fill my plate with plump shrimp and hand them to a chef to have them cooked to my order was a treat. The dining area is part of the foyer area and also the location for breakfast. A treat in itself to begin the day.
Rooms were to the standard you expect from premium brands and here didn't disappoint. Of the 69 TV channels that one gets in China all but Asia Today and CNN being in English we had BBC World and were able to see the Queen of England's visit to our city of Cork in Ireland. Another thrill.
Now back to the Bar! Of the five hotels we stayed in during the China trip, only the Sheraton and The Astor had a proper bar. But here the similarity ends. The bar at the Sheraton has an ace that was impossible to beat, it was in the form of a talented Fijian group with a girl with a voice and a repertoire that makes me expect to see her name up in lights in my part of the world so that I can say I know her you know !!
Elsewhere another reviewer averted to the omni present manager who was so hands on in ensuring his guests comfort. His name is Paul Sandilands and from Breakfast at first light to bar closing time he seemed to be everywhere. Even visited the bar to be entertained by us being entertained by their super Fijian group !
He even made arrangements for those that wanted to see the European Championship Cup Final in the middle of the night in the most convivial of surroundings of food and drink. And while I mention this I must not forget the happy, attentive and charming bar staff that may have been a little bemused by our capacity for enjoyment.
So there you have it. Not a novice at touring this Sheraton hit the button just right for us hence deservedly a little more gushing than my other reviews. But they deserve a good review because they impressed me. Quad Erat Demonstrandum

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank SirNorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    158
    60
    9
    7
See reviews for
9
6
8
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2011

the location of the hotel is quite good, not in the city centre if you're a tourist but for business travellers the location is ideal between the centre and the ring road for reaching the Meijang convention centre. the hotel has exellent serivces (restaurant closes a bit early if you have late meetings, this is rather enoying..) the rooms are constructed in a big atrium hall where you'll find the bar (the lobby is not the first thing you see when entering the hotel) the bar has the tendency to offer live music (piano and live singing romance songs etc.) this is not so good when you want to sleep early since your roomdoor isn't properly insulated.. breakfast and restaurant are good but pricy compared to the local restaurants. there's a part of the buildng that offers expat appartments, there's a good restaurant and a shop with importet (mainly french and US food products) .. pricy but good if you get homesick and tyried of chinese food ...
after all a good business hotel but less convenient and affordable for the average tourist
meeting rooms are correct but quite expensive

Room Tip: good for the business traveller or a convention
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bartlanduyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Hotel is a bit tired and showing its age.

Couple of days on the Club Floor. Friendly staff, very pleasant.

No in-room wireless, so need to take your iPad to the ground floor to connect up, although sometimes hanging around the lift lobby area you may get reception.

Room was the smallest Club room i've seen in a while. But compared to the Radisson down the road, an improvement.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lostnfnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2010

Stayed at the Sheraton for 5 days. The room was very royal and comfortable. the breakfast is nice but the in room dining though prompt was not as per Sheraton standards.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shubhrangsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level Contributor
153 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2010

You will get to know the General Manger as he is always about greeting guests and checking that your needs are meet. The morning breakfast will fill any guests need from Japanese, Chinese, American or European breakfast selection. The spa is very good and have a nice selection of treatments. The 6th floor staff is always helpful. The large exercise room is great and not overly crowded (always just a few folks). The hotel itself is not overly fancy and the architecture is rather boring and too much cement, but the inside is warm and the people always helpful. We will stay here on our future trips. (PS -good hamburger on lunch menu)

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonitadi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tianjin hotels
Binjiang Road
The Westin Tianjin
The Westin Tianjin
#6 of 1,327 in Tianjin
368 reviews
Hyatt Regency Tianjin East
#9 of 1,327 in Tianjin
107 reviews
Radisson Tianjin
#30 of 1,327 in Tianjin
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Tianjin Binhai Hotel
#20 of 1,327 in Tianjin
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Tianjin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Tianjin Hotel

Property: Sheraton Tianjin Hotel
Address: Zijinshan Road, Hexi District, Tianjin 300074, China
Region: China > Tianjin Region > Tianjin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Tianjin
#13 Best Value Hotel in Tianjin
#23 Luxury Hotel in Tianjin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Tianjin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Tianjin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Hexi Qu
Tianjin Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing