We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“interesting boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Tianjin Haihe
Ranked #18 of 1,357 Hotels in Tianjin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a great place to stay in Tianjin. Many different rooms, all beautifully decorated, in this former German concession. Pleasant gardens between the buildings - great swimming pool as well. A very unique hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RHLondon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IndigoTJ, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Tianjin Haihe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear RHLondon2,
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us.We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our three different themed guest rooms made your stay experience morememorable. We will continue to strive in delivering quality services, allowing our guests' to indulge in the best they deserve. Once again, we look forward to your next stay with us and continuous support in the near future. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 32 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

My first time in Tianjin and stayed in this very interesting property, formerly part of the German concession, in the early part of the 20th century. IT is an actual German village and the hotel is on the grounds of the former German consulate.

It is a luxurious property with a large central courtyard and rooms in separate buildings. There is a basement that connects all the buildings and their spa and fitness center.

I stayed in a huge room in the far corner building with a film industry theme. Images of Marilyn Monroe were over the bed and black lacquer walls throughout. the bathroom was enormous and the space was quite nice. Loved the high tech bidet toilet.

The subway is a only a few blocks away and can take you anywhere in Tianjin.

Free wi-fi in the rooms as well. I used the fitness center every day. It was really nice, towels, fruit and water available. While i didn't use it, the swimming pool looked beautiful.

My only complaint, (but its not really) was the process for ordering room service. As a non-Chinese speaker, i had hoped to be able to communicate my order but the person who answered the phone had trouble understanding me. However, instead of screwing up the order, they actually came up to my room and took the order there. A great way to ensure a smooth experience.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank motowninchapelhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IndigoTJ, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Tianjin Haihe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Motowninchapelhill,
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Hotel Indigo Tianjin Haihe. We are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and that we were able to provide you with a memorable experience. Each Hotel Indigo location offers a unique experience that reflects the culture of its neighborhood. You can see it in the décor, taste it on the menu, hear it in the music and discover more when you speak to Hotel Indigo employees. We welcomes you to experience the unique character of Tianjin’s colorful neighborhood, Germanic Street. Our team is committed to making your stay as enjoyable and authentic as possible. We would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the process of ordering room service. Your comments has been documented and will certainly be looked in to. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Just spent 17 nights at the Indigo Haihe in Tianjin. The hotel as such is lovely, maybe one of the nicest I've ever stayed in. Hotel grounds are very nice, feels like entering a small European village.
Room was very nice, very big and equipped with an absolutely fantastic bed. Slept like a log throughout my stay. Bathroom was VERY big, the biggest shower I ever seen in a hotel as well as a bath tub. Nice "lounge area" in the room with a sofa and arm chair as well as two extra chairs and a table. Room was also very quiet which I highly appreciate. Free WiFi throughout the hotel, speed was a bit slow from time to time which is not uncommon in China though.
Staff was very nice throughout the hotel. Some of them were lacking in terms of English but they tried to their best. One of the guest relations managers(?), Morgann, was exceptionally service minded and was an absolute star. She catered for every possible need and always greeted us with a smile on her face. Also the doormen were very nice, especially one of the "older" guys. Nice and very friendly and always with a smile on his face.
Overall the hotel was very nice but one thing prevents this from being a 5 points review; breakfast. Well maybe the entire restaurant department.
Breakfast as such was not too bad. But when it came to cleanliness and availability it was lacking quite a bit. A breakfast buffet that has no juice for two days in a row? Very dirty jars for cereal, was not cleaned once during may stay and was pretty much empty all the time.
The lids of these jars had the very same stains as upon arrival as when I left, they were even more sticky though (approached the front desk about this several time but no change). The pub "Blauer Engel" served quite a good grill buffet but other dishes that we tried were just alright, quite bland to be honest. And quite a few items on the menu was not available as they were out of stock. Seems to be a common thread for the restaurant department.. Got the feeling that the staff both at breakfast and the pub really wanted to do a good job but they seemed to lack proper guidance by the restaurant management.
Having all this said, overall the hotel is really good and I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank j_a70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IndigoTJ, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Tianjin Haihe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear j_a70,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your 17 nights stay with us recently.We are very glad to know that our staff and service helped in making your visit enjoyable. We value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. Being our valued guest, your opinion and feedback is extremely important to us, as it will help us to further enhance and shape our service in delivering a truly memorable and authentic experience to our guests. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience due to the breakfast has failed to meet your expectations. Please do not hesitate to contact with us any time if we can be of assistance to you for your next stay. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We were pleasantly surprised with the blend of European and German architecture - in the middle of busy Tianjin. Apparently the hotel used to be a cluster of schools and the owners have managed to create a unique luxury hotel experience. The rooms are generously large, lots of wardrobe and closet space, complete with wifi support, nice lightings, a large bathroom with rain showers and sensor controlled toilet seat. The hotel service from porters, front desk, security and the waiting staff was excellent. The Breakfast experience provides both local and western options. The hotel comes with a Gym and an indoor swimming pool to pamper those who need a workout. Definitely a luxury and boutique experience to remember.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Lawrence L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IndigoTJ, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Tianjin Haihe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Lawrence, Thank you for your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Tianjin Haihe. Our hotel is located in the former German Concession neighborhood. The hotel’s 11 individual gorgeous villas pay homage to traditional Germanic architecture with red-brick facades and ornate cupolas. We were pleased to note that you appreciated German architectural style, room facilities, service, breakfast, etc of our hotel. Your encouraging review will help us motivate service quality even further as we hope to exceed ever beyond guest expectations, and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is a very nice hotel with European architecture. The moment you step in this hotel, you feel like you're in a European villa. The room was fantastic, nice but at the same time has a very artistic feel. Staff people are very nice also, since they kept helping me out when I had trouble billing with my card, and they tried to use alternative methods till we get the issue solved. There is a nice bar attached within the hotel which offers great food and beer! Nice hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 中达孙
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IndigoTJ, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Tianjin Haihe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear 中达孙,it's our pleasure to have you with us here at Hotel Indigo Tianjin Haihe and to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. It is that which our staff strive to provide each of our guests in their own special and unique way. Thank you once again for your encouraging review. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

It’s an impressive hotel in terms of architectural and decorative details, clearly it tried to bring the old German concession charm back to this busy industry city and have done a pretty good job. But it feels sort of out of the place because there were not much activities or foot traffic happening inside.

It looked the developer spend a lot on everything rather than to train staffs to give guests a holistic experience—front desk was friendly but rather slow, every request like ask for non-smocking room change was hard because I guess this kind of request is rather unusual.

Stayed at three different rooms within a week, this actually was confusing because I didn’t expect there are so many different room types. In general, rooms are in excellent condition and very clean, however not every bathroom considered the privacy issue. The real down side was the cigarette smoke. It started from the entrance hall all the way soaked to rooms.

Breakfast was good, sitting arrangement was good and people were very friendly. Really enjoyed it.

Very hard to get taxis because of the traffic layout outside the hotel and it seems not every taxi driver in Tianjin knows this place.

Room Tip: Choose rooms close to lobby if you don't want to drag your suitcases too far. Road side room can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinibearX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IndigoTJ, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Tianjin Haihe, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear MinibearX, Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Indigo Tianjin Haihe and taking your time to share your feedback with us. We are glad to know that hotel architectural and decorative details gave you deep impression. Please accept our sincere apology for any inconvenience caused. We would like to assure you that we have communicated your feedback with the concerned department and corrective actions have been taken. Thank you once again for your comments. We look forwardto welcoming you back to our hotel again. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Located at the other end of the historical Jiefang Road. Quiet but easy access to the metro and eateries. Nicely constructed with artful interior designs. Fresh and colorful breakfast restaurant operated by friendly and cheerful staff. Underground swimming pool with daylight was a relief from the smoggy city.

Like many hotel rooms in China, our only qualm was the air-conditioning in the room - too hot and cannot be turned down. Switching it off was the only option but tends to be stuffy as not many windows can be opened.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IndigoTJ, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Tianjin Haihe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear VictorC1883, Thank you for your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Tianjin Haihe. We are pleased to know that you appreciated the location of our hotel, an aspect of our hotel that is preferred by many of our guests. Your encouraging review will help us constantly improve our quality even further as we hope to exceed overand beyond our guest expectations. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience due to the air-conditioning problem and will definitely rectify the issues that were being brought up. Thank you once again, we look very much forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tianjin hotels
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Tianjin Riverside
Holiday Inn Tianjin Riverside
#10 of 1,357 in Tianjin
435 reviews
2.2 mi away
Renaissance Tianjin Lakeview Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Tianjin
The Ritz-Carlton, Tianjin
#1 of 1,357 in Tianjin
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Banyan Tree Tianjin Riverside
Banyan Tree Tianjin Riverside
#19 of 1,357 in Tianjin
76 reviews
30.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jing Jin City Resort and Spa
1.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tianjin Jinnan
Crowne Plaza Tianjin Jinnan
#30 of 1,357 in Tianjin
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Tianjin Haihe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Tianjin Haihe

Address: No.314 Jiefang South Road, Hexi District, Tianjin 300202, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Tianjin Region > Tianjin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 1,357 Hotels in Tianjin
Price Range: £69 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Indigo Tianjin Haihe 4.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Indigo Tianjin Haihe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing