We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Nikko Tianjin
Ranked #25 of 1,334 Hotels in Tianjin
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“pretty good”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

stayed there for 4 days as a business trip in Tianjin. I had a good experience there, the location is nice the room is clean and big and the price is reasonable,
i think i will always stay there whenever i come to Tianjin

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahmedsaid007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier R, General Manager at Hotel Nikko Tianjin, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Ahmedsaid007,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read your comments on your overall satisfaction and to know that we will likely have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next business travel to Tianjin.

Sincerely yours,

Olivier Rochefort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    185
    46
    4
    9
See reviews for
11
14
35
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Hotel Nikko Tianjin for 8 nights while visiting family. The location is perfect, there is a shopping mall with a variety of stores literally under the building and across the street in each direction... the hotel is clean, they provide daily fresh towels, the staff is efficient and communicating in english is ok. We didnt have any noise issues, especially being in such a central and busy location. We found the spa with swimming pool a good way to unwind and get rid of jet lag. Keep the hotel's business card handy for your taxi drivers!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MarcelloAndMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier R, General Manager at Hotel Nikko Tianjin, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear marcello-michelle,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that the convenience, comfort and service level of our hotel met your expectations.

On behalf of our team, I appreciate your patronage and offer our best wishes for the new year.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit family in Tianjin.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Came through for the annual Tianjin mining conference. The location of the hotel is good, alongside a shopping mall and the subway station and within walking distance to many malls as well as a pedestrian shopping street a few blocks away.

Getting to the hotel was ok (as I speak Mandarin and could also point out the road name) but I can imagine it could be very challenging for people that don's peak the language. So as a hint, get the name of the hotel and the main road it is behind written in Chinese to give to the taxi drivers - they will find it much easier to find the place.

The hotel itself is behind the main roads and at the first glance does not seem all that nice. however, once you catch the elevator to the reception area and get a view of the rooms, all that changes. The rooms were nice and big with a wonderful bathroom.

This was home to us for 5 days and it was very comfortable.

The restaurants were good as we ate there a couple of times and even hosted a Chinese delegation for dinner the one evening.

All in all a comfortable stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErwinPon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier R, General Manager at Hotel Nikko Tianjin, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear ErwinPon,

Your feedback and suggestions are appreciated and certainly helpful; we are indeed exploring new possible exterior signage. It is pleasant to read you enjoyed our facilities and dining experience.

On behalf of our team, I thank you for choosing to stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back.

Best wishes for the new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This is a very nice hotel, very well placed (over a main subway station and by a shopping mall), with nice food and clean big rooms. However the hotel is in a narrow lane, badly signalled and most taxi drivers do not know where it is. Arrival was complicated, but fortunately after several failed attempts the receptionist managed for a taxi driver to take me to hotel.
Tianjin is a noisy city, there is some construction work nearby (even at night) and the windows do not close correctly: this made sleeping was difficult. I think they should repair those windows.
+ WiFi (normally 100RMB per day) was rather poor: my two smartphones connected and disconnected continously and the speed was too slow.

Room Tip: Check if the window closes perfectly
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ropongi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier R, General Manager at Hotel Nikko Tianjin, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear Ropongi,

Thank you for sharing your positive impression and experience at our hotel.

Please note that the nearby construction is no longer a disturbance as the new building and landscaping are now complete. Incidentally the completion of this project also has a positive impact on the road accessibility to the hotel.

I appreciate your feedback for the window and Wifi as it helps to research and correct unusual occurences.

We look forward to be at your service again when your travels take you back to Tianjin.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jinan China
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We went to visit friends in Tianjin, so this was not a business trip. The hotel was satisfactory, but expensive for food and drink when compared with other similar hotels. I thought the demand to buy a swimming hat to use the pool at vastly inflated prices was a step too far. Especially when the pool was empty, and I was told the hat was required for safety reasons. I have a lot of body hair, and really thin on top, so this must be a complete money making scam. ( why not just lend a hat!!) The food quality was not to up to Chinese standards.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JinanChinaMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Location might be convenient, but access from taxi is not easy, since the main entrance is not located on Nanking road but in a back lane.
Rooms are barely clean, I found waste candy papers on the night table, disapointing !
All day dining buffet on the evening is so so, and I found it quite expensive; I had to wait at the sashimi counter which was not attended to, and was served without much attention and care.
Overall a quite disapointing experience, and definitely below a 5 star hotel standard.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominique L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier R, General Manager at Hotel Nikko Tianjin, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Cher Dominique L,

"Merci" for taking the time to share your comments. Your concerns are well noted and I do apologize for our shortcomings and for not meeting your expectations. Cleanliness is usually not an issue at our property and according to other reviewers on this site, moreover I will definitely look into it to ensure it continues to be a key focus point. As you have stayed with us on mutliple occurences recently, I will contact you by separate e-mail in order to get more details from you about the specific room in question.
The comments you made on attentiveness and caring have been shared with my team as they clearly are essential ingredients for consistancy in our successful service delivery.
Thank you once again for your feedback and for your frequent stays with us. I look forward to the opportunity to meet you in person on your next visit.
Salutations distinguées,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Nikko Tianjin is located over a mall and from the sixth floor i could just walk across to the next building and take an elevator up to my office. For me it could not get more convenient. It is also located close to the railway station, so if you have to hop on to one of the super fast trains to beijing this is a good hotel to be in. I had no issues with the food, the service and the comfort in the rooms. A good place to stay.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank sak015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier R, General Manager at Hotel Nikko Tianjin, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear sak015,

Thank you for your comments, it is good to know that hotel Nikko Tianjin is convenient for you and that you are a satisfied guest.
On behalf of our team, I appreciate you choosing to stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back.
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tianjin hotels
Binjiang Road
The Westin Tianjin
The Westin Tianjin
#6 of 1,334 in Tianjin
376 reviews
Radisson Tianjin
#32 of 1,334 in Tianjin
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Tianjin East
#11 of 1,334 in Tianjin
111 reviews
Tangla Hotel Tianjin
#13 of 1,334 in Tianjin
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko Tianjin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko Tianjin

Property: Hotel Nikko Tianjin
Address: No.189 Nanjing Road, Heping District, Tianjin 300051, China
Region: China > Tianjin Region > Tianjin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Tianjin
#15 Business Hotel in Tianjin
#24 Luxury Hotel in Tianjin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Nikko Tianjin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 373
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Nikko Tianjin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko Hotel Tianjin
Tianjin Nikko Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing