We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They could do better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Somatheeram Ayurvedic Health Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Somatheeram Ayurvedic Health Resort
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Kovalam
Certificate of Excellence
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“They could do better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

My wife and I stayed in the resort for two nights in Jan 2014. Bathroom floor and door were worn out. Restaurant served good food but options were limited for vegetarians. Breakfast spread was average.
While resort is named as Ayurvedic resort, the treatment rooms and ambience are very average.
While room tariff was reasonable, they can make the facilities neater and cleaner and spa needs to be upgraded.
Staff in the resort is quite polite and helpful.
P C Jain

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Padam46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    51
    16
    11
    13
See reviews for
16
60
52
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Francistown, Botswana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We, couple, spent 3 weeks in this Resort in order to get rejuvenation and detoxification program for our body. We wanted to be pampered. Unfortunately Ayurveda treatment is not met my husband expectation, he lost only 2 kg but supposed to lose 5-8 kg as minimum. For female this treatment is perfect! It works and it worth!
If you wish to get relaxation,wonderful service and stunning view go to Somatheeram Resort. Even House boating tour with them cost to book.
The Arabian Sea is warm and clean with a big waves but there is a drive :)).
I enjoyed yoga class at the morning and 4 hands massage although the use of large amounts of massage coconut oil did not bring much pleasure.
I can say that this place is for those who works hard and for those who wish to get rid of stress and tension.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

This is an easy hotel to review as it delivers exactly what it sets out to – but you need to decide if that is what you are looking for.

Rooms: Mostly circular huts. Comfortable, but a bit dark and not particularly luxurious – bathroom in particular was rather basic. Everything you need (including mosquito net), but not much else.
Wifi: Surprisingly good connectivity.
Pool: Nice if a little small with nice shady areas for sunbathing
Setting: Absolutely stunning on a small cliff overlooking one of the most spectacular beaches I’ve ever seen
Beach: A three-minute walk from the resort. Absolutely huge – both long and wide – predominantly very clean, with comfortable hotel loungers and umbrellas, a few moderately annoying hawkers, a majestic powerful sea (that I could watch for hours), and lovely soft sand.
Food and drink: No alcohol, painfully relaxed service (especially at breakfast), reasonable veg buffet but pricey (if not included in your package?), fabulous value grilled fish and prawns (with fries), and an otherwise fairly limited a la carte menu.
Service: Very good, excluding the speed of service for breakfast
They offer spa packages, yoga and ayurvedic treatments which seem good value and seemed pretty popular judging by the number of people wandering around the resort in green robes.

To visit Kovalam will cost you about 200Rupees by Tuk tuk – 400 return including two hour wait. There are some local shops, up a steep hill, they mostly sell tourist souvenirs and fabrics though, and sadly for me – no beer or chocolate shops ;-)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mundii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guadeloupe
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

I spent 10 nights in this hotel, I was very well welcomed , the room I requested was not available so I spent two nights in another room that was not clear enough , then reception gave me satisfaction .All the staff were wonderful and the care about all the customers..
After a visit to the doctor i get my treatment , which were correct.
It seems that this property receive a lot of groups so consultations are a little fast...
The food is very good and very fresh.
The cottages are lovely and clean, the matrass has to be changed for confortable one.
In the reception you can access internet, cousins ​​of the reception should be changed because it is the first thing you see when coming and it does not show a good picture of cleanliness.
I could probably go back at this property.
Avoid the jewelery shop located in the hotel but with a different management, the people who run this store just an idea in mind, push you to buy but do not consider the client, they are not professional, youwill have better prices + smile in the street of the hotel...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doudou977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

My wife and I had a memorable 10 days at the Somatheeram resort near Kovalam in Kerala.
From the warm reception on arrival to the moving farewell given when leaving left a lasting pleasant memory .Every aspect of the stay had been meticulously planned and each member of the wonderful team carried out their assigned duties and more with a smile and purpose.
Krishna Priya at the reception was always available to help with a smile.The manager of the site Ajens, the restaurant manager Anup ,the chef Georgie spared no effort to make our stay a pleasant one.The waiters in the restaurant to the room service and the gardeners were all wonderful.
Chitra in charge of the resort made the reservation smooth and was. At hand to make sure all was well at all time.
All in all a worth while stay ,assessing the benefits of the Ayurweda treatment is very personal .

Room Tip: Request a room with a good view of the sea,the west end round the corner from the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Puvana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

I visited Somatheeram In Nov 2011 and was there for 3 weeks. I had done extensive research on the type accommodation and treatment that I wanted and this ticked all the boxes.

I arrived in the early morning after a long flight and my room was not ready :( I was given a room in the neighboring building no more than 10 seconds away, no big issue as all I wanted to do was have a shower and sleep. After a brilliant nights sleep I went to reception and was shown my room.

I got a beautiful cottage room facing the ocean and the beach. The views were amazing. If you are looking for 5 star luxury these cottages are not for you. I was however very happy with this. A bed, safe, shower all the basics and peace......... what more do you need!

My main reason for visiting was to have treatment done on my lower back due to scoliosis. I met the doctor on the first day that i was there and they put together a treatment plan which I had to follow. The treatment given was some of the best out there. Shana who gave me all my treatments is probably one of the nicest, professional individual you will ever meet.

After about 10 days I had to move rooms as my room had been double booked. I requested a room next to the pool. I was moved straight away, and i didn't have to move any of my ridiculous amount of luggage. Nothing is an issue for these guys. Another stunning room.

From breakfast to lunch to dinner everything is perfect. I am a veggie and also very fussy!! They would make changes to any of the dishes that i asked for. After the first couple of days they would see me walking up and start to prepare my breakfast and have my tea ready. These are the most polite staff that I have ever had the pleasure to speak to. Always smiling and always positive.

On a couple of days each week they would have some entertainment for the guest. It was nice to watch the dancing and the music that was being played. Helped to put a nice end to the day. They also offer free wifi in the reception area which is a plus and have really fast room service.

I came to Somatheeram very stressed, tired and in pain. I know the treatment is not permanent but it relived a lot of the pain. When I left Somatheeram I left with a different view on life. I have never been so relaxed and calm.

Thank you Somatheeram. I will have no problems recommending you and I will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RinksB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kulasekharam
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

I stayed with my family in the somatheeram resort, where had a toddler.i liked the for it's ambience.. it seem to have a soothing and healing effect some how... the sight of the different waves and the ocean, the trees to take your mind into a sort of introspection into oneself... the base category rooms were tor 6000 rupees a day...in the off season that too..as we settled down.. the room had an old English colonial architectural touch to it with a Kerala make over.. traditional, peaceful and elegant.. i really liked the ambience it gave out...every Cottage had it's own outside space with seating chairs...bathrooms were clean..but lacked good exhaust... it opened into the room itself which was displeasing....


the is wifi...so to speak only.. there is never a range...it's good to say that there is no internet at all... it was so frustrating... they take money for this but the quality of Service is pathetic..so we felt cheated..i think they should just say that there is no internet at all... or impossible their wifi up.

we had checked into ac cottage .i had specifically asked them about this as it was summer and really hot... but we were in for a shock.. add soon as we arrived to the room found that ac is not switching on...had to call them severel time before i got any response...pathetic service..it seemed that after they took the money they were least but bothered about our stay... it was hot we sweated out totally....it was getting so unpleasant.. like we paid for or misery.. felt so bad and cheated for the money we had paid... turtle on the beach hotel was giving rooms at cheaper rates and it was gorgeous ...we knew we had wasted over money... they told us that there is no power.. and they don't have Generator for the ac..they were not sure when the power would come.. this was horrible... i told them that i wanted to leave..and wanted my money back... they gave a blunt response. ..this was so unprofessional...so we suffered inthe heat and waited to check out...


the pool was small and not clean lot of insects in it... didn't like it

food was not tasty at all... would end up hating it ifi had eat it for more than day...and it was hugelyoverpriced....


for all that the explanation given it's that it's a ayurvedic resort.. comforts are not the criterion.. but then why should the price be so high then...

so it was not worth the money..Service was pathetic. .staff were not understanding...

but the place has some strange effect on the mind... it soothes...heals...asks you to introspect... find solutions to the conflicts with in... takes your soul far away from the world...puts silence to those ripples of the mind so tosay...

would want to go back again for this...

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nasser3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
3.7 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
4.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
3.3 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#5 of 51 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#6 of 51 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
2.8 mi away
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somatheeram Ayurvedic Health Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somatheeram Ayurvedic Health Resort

Property: Somatheeram Ayurvedic Health Resort
Address: Chowara PO, | Trivandrum, Kovalam 695501, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kovalam
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kovalam
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kovalam
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Somatheeram Ayurvedic Health Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The First Ayurvedic Resort in India, situated nearby the world renowned Tourist destination – Kovalam & the Capital city of Kerala - Trivandrum. We have awarded as "the Best Ayurvedic Centre in Kerala" for 10 times by the Department of Tourism, Govt. of Kerala. Also won the "National Tourism Award". Here we developed body purification, rejuvenation, beauty care, and other Ayurvedic treatment programs which deals with the prevention and curing of body-mind-soul related problems. And we also introduced Stress Management Programme, it is a natural Ayurvedic solution for today’s occupational disorders, especially for the IT and other industrial - Technology sectors.The Ayurveda packages include:Accommodation, Ayurvedic Treatments, Full board Ayurvedic vegetarian food, All applicable taxes As well as the complementary services like; Yoga & meditation (01 session per day) along with minimum 07 nights packageTransfers (to & from Trivandrum International Airport)Half day local backwater cruise in a country boat (for minimum 14 nights package)Trivandrum City Sightseeing tour (for minimum 21 nights package)Cape tour (for minimum 28 nights package) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Somatheeram Ayurvedic Health Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somatheeram Ayurvedic Health Hotel Kovalam
Somatheeram Ayurvedic Health Resort Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing