We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but great value!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sea View Palace

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Sea View Palace
Ranked #21 of 51 Hotels in Kovalam
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Basic but great value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at SVP for a few nights after flying to india. If u have never been to asia or if u are just a resort lover u will be dissapointed. For the cheap price u pay u are just dumb if u are expect a five star place. Because it is not.

its a good place for a good price. The personel at the tiny checkin lobby and bar/restaurant are friendly and welcoming. The room is basic but everything is working. Shower and airconditioning just fine.

The big plus that it is right on the beach! Just a promemade 3mtr w8de separates the restaurant area from the sand, sea and cheap beds on the beach.

again... its not the hilton, its a affordable and very good midrange indian hotel!

Be happy and friendly, and u'll get friendly. If u talk to them with a arrogance u'll get arrogance...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mh_1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    33
    9
    10
    11
See reviews for
28
34
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two weeks or thereabouts in February. Reading now some of the other comments I agree with regard to the mosquitoes and the lack of power with no back up for AC or lighting. However the biggest bone of contention was with the final bill presented to us, and from our perspective, the absolutely appalling attitude of the hotel manger and his 'get all the money you can out of the guests' attitude. On the basis of his attitude alone, I wouldn't return to this hotel, but would definitely return to Kovalam Beach which is truly wonderful. There are way way better hotels to stay at on the Beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Timothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kovalam hotels

Napier
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

Our agent had us booked in by mistake for 12 nights when in fact we only stayed 11. When we received the bill we paid happily as our experience was, overall good, however when we surveyed the bill we challenged the difference and were very abruptly told that this was the way it was and that no refund would be coming. The manager was an unpleasant character to negotiate with and I certainly would not go back. We paid the extra night in the end, knowing that the eror was not ours. NOT RECOMMENDED -- however, may be under new management soon we were told.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NapierGlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

- No room service -no tea, no water, no complimentary meal
- No "Sir" or "Ma'am" after your room is booked
- Staff fails to recognize you once you book their room
- Very old rooms - TV doesn't work, Switches are broken
- AC leaks( water drips all day), they shout at you if you complain
- No water heater in bathroom
- No soap in bathroom
- Nobody to respond to your needs, they flee once your room is booked
- No phone in room
- Nobody to cleanup your room, in your absence
- Quilts are meant for babies not for full grown men
- Do not stay if you are an Indian

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank IndHotelReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

We went to Kovalam for our first anniversary trip after Varkala and since we planned to stay in Kovalam for just half a day and night, we looked for an average priced resort and we zeroed on this.

Pros

Very accessible to Lighthouse beach or Hawa beach.
Value for Money

Cons

Service was just OK.

The rooms were good and there was value for money. There was no UPS / generator in power cuts. We had to wait for 30-45 mins for the power. The room we stayed had no hot water connection (Could be rectified). For a non Ac room it costed Rs. 1200 using clear trip. This was a good deal., considering the sea proximity.

The lighthouse beach was rated less than Varkala, but we found it otherwise. The light house beach is a must visit place. The deepness reduces gradually and there are no rocks in the beach. It is a great place to play.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms have direct view to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CK-Sathya-Trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

We happen to stay at Seaview Palace in one of their AC rooms ,this was possibly our worst experiance : mosquitos all around but no repellant provided we had to buy All out. Toilet not cleaned and exhaust fan not working . TV cable rent not paidto the company hence no channels.
Erratic power supply without back up ,Our AC stopped working and it too several hours to fix it .
Worst is no body is available at front desk and the room boys have terrible attitude.Noroom service available. Compared to Hotel Marigold it has no will to serve or make the guests comfortable here the staff seemed make the guests feel obliged by their smallest actions

Room Tip: First floor is better ,come to hotel prepared to take the room only must carry all your requirements...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank KishoreK366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

very good food and staff ,beautiful room view, neat clean hotel,awesome & memorable stay, great India, a real Kerala stay, my favorite in Kovalam very,very,very, good and helpful, management staff, i'll advice all the Kerala travelers to visit in this Hotel only and make your holiday memorable

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jkh304551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.1 mi away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#20 of 51 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.3 mi away
Greenshore Apartments
Greenshore Apartments
#14 of 51 in Kovalam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park International Kovalam
Park International Kovalam
#34 of 51 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Searock
Hotel Searock
#23 of 51 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thushara Hotel
Thushara Hotel
#19 of 51 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pappukutty Beach Resort
Pappukutty Beach Resort
#38 of 51 in Kovalam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sea View Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sea View Palace

Property: Hotel Sea View Palace
Address: Light house beach,kovalam, Kovalam 695521, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sea View Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel sea view palace , a Budget Beach hotel in Kovalam, which was established on 1997 and lastly renovated on 2013. The hotel is located at the Kovalam Light house beach, hotel is situated right in centre of the beach with beach view rooms. The hotel is just 50 metres walk along the pedestrian pathway from the Kovalam light house . Kovalam Hotel sea view palace is just 16 kms away from the Trivandrum International Airport with less than 20 mins to reach the hotel . We are having 14 well furnished good rooms and common sea facing balcony with sofa sets . Hotel also has a traditional restaurant, Santana Restaurant with all types of delicious foods, and could enjoy your dinner in the candlelight with a romantic touch. Restaurent is designed such a way that it gives traditional kerala touch. We are also having skilled staffs and provide room service for 24*7 , which gives a homely atmosphere for our guests. Our aim is to make our customers enjoy their vacation maximum to the core and to prefer our hotel when they come next to kovalam.We guarantee a memorable vacation at Kovalam and you leave with best memories that you had with us in kovalam.OUR FACILITIESA/C Deluxe Rooms,A/C Standard Rooms,Non A/C Standard Fan Rooms.Laundry services,Sea View balcony.24 x 7 Room Service,Beach Front Restaurant,Airport pick-up and drop (On request),100% Ayurvedic treatment centre,Doctor on call ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Sea View Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sea View Palace Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing