We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kovalam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kovalam Beach Retreat
Ranked #40 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
Newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Kovalam beach retreat after an agent booked accommodation for our Kerala vacation. The rooms are clean and spacious with comfortable beds and a nice balcony, but the positive review stops there.

The communal area upstairs where food is served is appalling. The table cloths are not changed and washed after meals, so you are literally eating around other people's food stains. But worst of all the food is served in an area where crows have free flight, and as food isn't cleared away properly, they fly about leaving their droppings ALL over the tables, chairs and whole dining area. We complained several times about this but nothing was done. People we're literally standing and eating.

Unfortunately the pool was also out of service when we were there, it was green and full of algae and totally unusable. A shame given that we paid for a hotel with a pool.

This hotel needs serious attention to detail as it could be much better, but I certainly wouldn't recommend it.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    10
    17
    7
    6
See reviews for
27
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Expedia bookd our hotel at The Kovalam Resort, light house road. When we reported thet the management has changed. We were directed to another hotel operated by past operator and he will accept the booking in his new hotel. This new hotel happened to be Kovalam beach Resort. They refused to honour the booking by Expedia, saying they owe them lots of money, but agreed to provide a room if we pay them directly. We agrred to pay. After 3 hours wait room was given. Room is very poor in clealiness. Many lights not working. Service is hopeless. They could not provide proper breakfast too - Inadequate food. Swimming pool, appered to be not cleaned for months. The location is also near an obscure beach about.

Room Tip: Please check with the hotel by phone before reporting, as you are not sure of a room, even if booked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vijudv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kovalam hotels

Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We were supposed to check in @2nd Jan-14. It was surprising to come to know that Its closed because of some drainage issue ( Actually closed because of some issue at management level) & no one from cleartrip or Hotel side did bother to inform us. However, Hotel guys were able to accomodate us at a decent place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Santosh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Had pre booked 3 rooms in this hotel during our Dec 2013 Kerala Trip, but when we reached their they said the hotel is going under renovation and they cannot provide us rooms in the hotel and instead they would shift us to a different property of theirs, we had no other option so had to accept it. The other hotel was named as Water Edge, hotel was ok but service was very poor below standard. The guy in charge at KBR was very rude and spoke to us very badly. It was a very bad exp.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mukesh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The rooms were not available on time. So they arranged a alternative which was aloof and service was not present at all. I Do not recommend this for anyone... Breakfast provided was not edible at all.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Prashanth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Pros:
Good location. Walkable to the beach.
Cons:
Poor Management. Very slow. Took 45 minutes to provide us with rooms even after 1 month prior booking.
Horrible food. Breakfast - dont even think of having here. Unhygienic. Crows all around. Cold food.
So called swimming pool not functioning. Dirty water filled.
TV and fridge provided in the rooms dont work. Nor they care or do anything about it.
Not enough food places/ restaurants around to have alternatives.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ritu s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ootty
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

It is one of the worst experiences of mine. The hotel has everything what one doesn't want. Though near to samundra beach, big rooms but the way staff is & the rooms are maintained is an example of ill management. S pool is just for the name sake. Don't get carried away with complimentary bfast, it's bfast with crows & u won't touch it. I feel cleartrip should at least verify the standards of the hotels before they recommend these on website. I wish I had not done this booking. Kindly stay away from this hotel. Not is exaggerated & it's true narration of my spoiled trip.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
2 Thank Major Rajesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Sea Face
Hotel Sea Face
#25 of 52 in Kovalam
100 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jeevan Beach Resort
Jeevan Beach Resort
#41 of 52 in Kovalam
261 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#21 of 52 in Kovalam
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Thapovan Heritage Home
Thapovan Heritage Home
#17 of 52 in Kovalam
113 reviews
0.5 mi away
Searock Beach Resort
Searock Beach Resort
#28 of 52 in Kovalam
95 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sea View Palace
Hotel Sea View Palace
#24 of 52 in Kovalam
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kovalam Beach Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kovalam Beach Retreat

Property: Kovalam Beach Retreat
Address: Puja Buildings, | G.V Raja Road, Kovalam 695527, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kovalam Beach Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kovalam Beach Retreat Just 50 mts from The Samudra Beach, Kovalam. A 3 star facility property with all modern facilities, having 3 restaurants with a Sea Food Specialty restaurant. Ample Parking space & Swimming pool. Restaurant with a good view of the sea.Kovalam means a grove of coconut trees and true to its name the village offers an endless sight of coconut trees. It is also known as the paradise of the south ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kovalam Beach Retreat Hotel Kovalam
Kovalam Beach Retreat Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing