We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 weeks at grandsea Hotel”
Review of Hotel Grandsea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Grandsea
Ranked #62 of 91 Kovalam B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We are happy to live here. We have a grand room with balcony and good view. The rooms are clean and it`s not long to go at the beach. 5 minutes. We are here for 4 weeks for treatments ayuveda and it`s near for the doctor and treatments. The hotel is not near on the street and tranquility. We want return next year and we want to stay at the same hotel.
We are from germany and it was the first time here and we like it very much.

Room Tip: the room for 2 people is good an our room 104 is very big and with a nice seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raoul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2013

The main problem is. Whatever was written here, It was not provided in the hotel. They were not knowing that breakfast was mentioned in Tripadvisor.

No Television due to Sea problems, Atlast they did not give me a bill too.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Jeetenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

The Grandsea Hotel is a good deal, but to be fair you need good legs to stay here. A walk to the beach is about 5 minutes downhill, the walk back is uphill (duh) and at times very steap. The rooms are spacious and has A/C (ours did not work for 3 out of 7 days though) and attached bathrooms with hot water. The breakfast is served on their roof top and is continental.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LFredrikJonsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

i enjoyed very match to stay at Hotel grandsee and looking forward to came back soon,it was a excellent stay with friendly staff ,and my room has a big balcony and nice sea vie and I enjoyed the place. Definitely You can choose this place without any doubt.

Room Tip: please select sea vie rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ingo b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

5 minutes walk up hill from the beach on the lighthouse side of the beach you will find Grandsea. clean rooms and good bathrooms. Not all the rooms have that perfect view but we managed to get room 111 and there you could see the sea. It also had a large balcony. They have Internet in the lobby that is ok. and the AC in the room was of good quality. The breakfast was included but just a few slices of toast and coffee. However with that price it wasn't much to complain over just go to one of the many restaurants. We stayed there over New Year and was happy to not be near the beach that day.

Room Tip: If you want sea view not all the rooms have that. some time it is manly another grey house. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Havspappan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013 via mobile

First of all I would like to say that the staff were very helpful when we asked for something. However there was not always someone behind the desk at reception. From the beginning I was really disappointed with this hotel. We had no sea views, which were promised instead we had the view of the back of a building. our room had dodgy ac, a tiny tv without cable, no mini bar, no hot water, no wifi. All were promised before we arrived. We also had to pay up front, now I see why... We moved rooms after complaining and got a slightly bigger tv and better aircon but still no hot water. The power went out around 30-40 times when we were there! And the manager said it had to go out from 9-9:30pm, something that did not happen at any other hotel or restaurant we visited in kovalam! Finally the restaurant only had a few plastic chairs and a plastic table on the dusty, industrial rooftop, where one of the staff was bathing during breakfast (we went out for breakfast each day after that). So all in all for the price, and all the false promises, give this one a miss!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fletchercone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013 via mobile

I stayed at hotel 'Grandsea' in January 2013. Before we arrived we had to leave a 30% deposit for the four nights and then when we arrived before we saw the room we had to pay the remainder. This was a mistake. Even though we booked a ground floor room with sea views we were taken up a few flights of stairs to a teenie tiny room. There was no view, the only thing you could see was a semi constructed building blocking out everything. The 'cable tv' we were promised had a screen that was no larger than an A5 sheet of paper, with about four or five analog channels. The wifi we were promised did not reach our floor. The hot water didn't work and the aircon remote also didn't work. After kicking up a fuss we were moved to a room on the first floor for the remaining three nights. This room was better. It was larger, the tv was a bit bigger and the wifi worked (most of the time). The bathroom was also bigger, we no longer had to stand on the toilet to have a shower. However, the hot water takes a few minutes to kick in and then when it does it lasts two minutes if you're lucky. As well as this the power at this hotel constantly goes out. And not just for a couple minutes every now and again, at least 5 times a day for 30 minutes. So even if you do get a nicer room things such as aircon, tv and wifi don't work half the time. I can not stress how frustrating the power going out is. Breakfast is just a plate with some toast on the roof, where there are a few plastic deck chairs and a whole pack of crows staring at your food. And if you want to pay with eftpos/visa think again. The machine doesn't work and the closest ATM is a ten minute drive away. I feel bad leaving such a bad review because the staff were very nice and helpful. However, besides this I can not think of one other positive thing to say.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rachelclarebrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Sea View Palace
Hotel Sea View Palace
#23 of 52 in Kovalam
93 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sea Flower Beach Resort
Sea Flower Beach Resort
#22 of 52 in Kovalam
37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vijay Varma Beach Resort
Vijay Varma Beach Resort
#19 of 91 in Kovalam
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anitha's Garden Stay
Anitha's Garden Stay
#6 of 91 in Kovalam
37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Beach Florra Inn
Hotel Beach Florra Inn
#9 of 91 in Kovalam
116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stay Well Ayurvedic Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grandsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grandsea

Address: Light House Beach | Vizhinjum PO Kovalam, Kovalam 695521, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Kovalam
Price Range: £16 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grandsea hotel is situated in a calm place which is only 50 meters away from the Beach near to Lighthouse. Kovalam is quiet little town with greenery all around. Coconut, bananas, pineapples, papayas, ginger, mangoes etc are its wealth. Two beautiful adjacent bays bestow glamour to Kovalam ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Grandsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grandsea Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing