We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY GOOD PLACE TO BE IN KOVALAM”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hill & Sea View Beach Resort
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
Reviewed 15 September 2012

It was a pleasure for us to be in this hotel, very good room (the 701) with a balcony with a great view on palm trees and beach. A quiet and great place to be, with a very good staff, always here to help and make our trip a good moment.
The restaurant, the ayurvedic centre and the swimming pool are so good.
The beach s not far from here, juste five minutes to walk
Thank to the staff to be as professionnal and kind, it was a very good moment to be here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2012

We were going to stay for 3 nights but ended up staying for 9 instead. A short 2 minute walk from the beach but away from the crowds. This hotel stood out for us because it had everything we wanted- a spacious and very clean room with character, a comfy bed, a lovely balcony and access to a clean pool for sunbathing in peace. The staff were very keen to please and were flexible to our needs. With breakfast included it was an absolute bargain. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Kovalam and I just hope that they manage to keep up such high standards.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliceandAyub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed here for one night and must admit it was great and we felt even better considering the price we paid for it. We booked this hotel mainly for its cheap rate considering that we just had to spend the night there as our check-in would be after midnight and check-out after breakfast. We didn’t want something lavish but at the same time wanted a clean, comfortable and convenient place to relax for the night. We booked ourselves in the least priced Palm View Super Deluxe as we knew that we would not get chance to enjoy the Sea View from room.
Location – It’s on a hillock very near to the famed lighthouse beach though no direct access to the sea. You have to walk around ½ a km to reach the nearest beach. Our driver informed that earlier they had parking area from where one had to climb but now they had expanded in that area also. Its location is very convenient as it’s near the beach but still not in a crowded place.
Booking and Reception - Booking was smooth through makemytrip.com and check in was a 2 minutes process in the middle of night. Just handed over the reservation voucher from Makemytrip, signed the register, provided ID proof and it was done. Our room was ready and we were escorted to the room.
Room - It was a new room with nice wooden décor, a spacious bathroom with a bath tub and a balcony offering lush green views. The room was very spacious also. However, just few minutes after check-in, we found some ants on the floor. Though harmless, we wanted to change the room and called the reception. We were shifted to the same room, one floor below, in 5 minutes.
Breakfast – It’s not a buffet breakfast. They provide few options like Idli/Dhosa/Uttapam/Toast – Omlette/Puri – Bhaji, Tea/Coffee and you have to select from those. The roof top restaurant offers a good view, of the hill and of the sea. Restaurant is located at their older block but it’s connected to the new block. The staff were courteous and we met the new manager here. He asked for feedback and was very polite. He explained that they had expanded recently and wanted to ensure that everything is perfect before the upcoming peak season.
After breakfast, we spent some time in the pool side which also offers good views. Pool is also in the old block and being located on a hillock, it’s at an elevated level and hence the nice view. We did a hassle free check out after breakfast.
The only issues I found were,
1. Ants in the allocated room, they should have been more careful in cleaning.
2. We were leaving for a temple visit at around 7 AM and the reception floor was wet and there was no sign. I realize it only after stepping on the water and wetting the hem of my saree.
3. Before checking out, I wanted to enjoy the view from the large glass window of the room and after going near, found that the floor near the window is covered with water from the AC. This must be rectified.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ananyabinayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

I stayed six nights in late August here and I enjoyed my stay. In fact, the hotel is build in three parts (the first building is the frontage part, the third one is on the back hill side, and the second one make the junction between them) so it's not ordinary, and of course when you want to go out or go in you must walk a little bit (if you stay on the back building side), but for me it was not a problem at all. If you have a handicap of course it's another thing. Hotel is under construction but I never heard noise or inconvenient. The medium sized swimming pool was good: they clean it every day. Because it's located on the hill side, swimming pool was quiet and with a good view of the area. I liked the superior room, for me it was the best bed of all my trip in India in this category price (maximum 30 euros). So room was very clean (you must ask when you want that they clean it), very quiet, confortable, convenient with furnitures and a private balcony with view on sea and palmtrees. The only negative thing is that the finishing are not good quality. Most of the staff was very helpful and very kind. I would like to say that if you are not happy with something, before writing a bad review on tripadvisor, you should talk with the manager and he will do anything for your stay pleasure. Location is good, of course not on the front beach, but just in a 5 minutes walk distance, so it's not far. Be careful: at night there is no lights to lead you on the way, so it's more confortable to have flashlight. There is also a restaurant in the hotel. Food was correct and of course they are not specialized in european breakfast, but you can ask to the staff if you have some special request. In conclusion, it's a very good place to stay, not a five star hotel of course but very good intentions and a lot of kindness from the manager. I want to greatings to him again...

Room Tip: Speak to the manager before writing a complaint
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

The room was big enough and very clean. It's very difficult to find a quality bed in India, but in this hotel, it was just perfect. We had a nice balcony with a wonderful view. It's 5 minutes walk from the beach, which I appreciated, because we were in a more quiet area. The stuff was extremely helpful and friendly. Altough it seems a big hotel, you feel like in a guest house; they really took care of us. We had some special requests for the breakfast and it was not a problem at all for them. We appreciated having a swimming pool since it was monsoon season and the sea was dangerous. We would definetely stay again in this hotel.
If you want your room to be cleaned, or need fresh towels you should just ask them. They are really helpful, so before complaining about anything, you should feel free and tell them. The food in the restaurant was ok, but not the best we've had...

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SelvinYavuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

After lot of correspondence, we finalised a package tour of Kovalam and around with this property. We saw its website and were reasonably satisfied with its offer of sea view rooms with individual balcony. When we reached this property, we realised that we have been completely deceived by looking at its website.
First of all, it is not a resort as advertised in the web with swimming pool in the front. There is nothing like that in front of the property. In fact, it is right on a very narrow road. Sea beach is quite far off and on top of it, they could not provide the reserved rooms.
Property is still under construction. Access to rooms is a big problem.
It can at the best be classified as a very ordinary Hotel.

Room Tip: Not suitable as resort. If need be, can be considered for one night's stay at the most.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SPMukherjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

The hotel has good localization and it’s very close to the beach. The hill areas with palm trees, gives a very exotic style for a vacations and a very peaceful place for rest. Our room was very nice, with great balcony where we can seat and enjoy the sea and hill view. The room service was very good and convenient at any time of the day, also the room cleaning was deep but instead it wasn’t daily and they didn’t live clean towels until we asked them to. As sometimes the sea was very stormy, the swimming pool was a good salvation on the hot days, but by the end of our stay the pool gets to turbid/less clear to get in it. It was served a very tasty food, by our desire, in the roof top restaurant, where we can also enjoy the view. Wi-fi system was very accessible but unfortunately just in the reception, not in the room. Ayurveda treatments were remarkable, pleasant and really useful. Every member of my family has a different plan of treatments accordingly to their problems. The management hire a great yoga teacher especially for us to have classes every day. All the stuff was very nice, kind and helpful in every our request, either our gratitude to the director for spending so much time with us and for all the gifts. It’s a Hotel that we recommend if you want to spend some good time away from the big cities and enjoy the real Ayurveda treatments.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.2 mi away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#23 of 52 in Kovalam
241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sea Face
Hotel Sea Face
#31 of 52 in Kovalam
103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thushara Hotel
Thushara Hotel
#19 of 52 in Kovalam
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wilson Aruyvedic Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Jeevan Beach Resort
Jeevan Beach Resort
#43 of 52 in Kovalam
268 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sea View Palace
Hotel Sea View Palace
#22 of 52 in Kovalam
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill & Sea View Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill & Sea View Beach Resort

Address: Mottavila Avaduthura | Vizhinjam, Kovalam 695527, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range: £25 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hill & Sea View Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hill & Sea View Beach Resort. If you are at Kovalam, be proud to be at Hill & Sea View, at the highest altitude destination in Kovalam where you cannot miss the breathtaking view of vast Arabian sea over the mesmerizing greenish lay out laid by the cocas. These entitle that Hill & Sea View is your ideal place to enjoy Kerala at its whole length. "WANNA BET YOU WILL NOT MISS A BIT" You can reach beaches within seven minutes on foot; all rooms are with sea-facing balconies, view of sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hill & Sea View Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hill & Sea View Beach Resort Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing