We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab food”
Review of The Waters Edge

The Waters Edge
Ranked #23 of 64 Restaurants in Kovalam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$8
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Waters Edge Restaurant is located between the two accommodation buildings. Unlike many other eating places in the area it is lavishly furnished and as it is on the upper floor of the building with open sides the gentle breeze from the Arabian Sea keeps you cool when dining, although there are also numerous ceiling fans to do this should there be no breeze. During the day enjoy the open, uninterrupted view across the bay and beyond and in the evening relax and watch the lights of the fishing boats out at sea. The menu is varied and caters for all tastes - Indian, Chinese and European dishes are available, and all meals are freshly prepared when ordered. The chef will cook each meal according to your personal taste - let the waiter know when you place your order how strongly spiced you like your meals and our chef will cook the meal to cater for your own preference. Our advice if you are not used to eating spicy food is to allow a few days to let your body get used to Indian cuisine by starting off with mildly spiced dishes and gradually increase the spice content until you find the level of seasoning that you like. Sea food is obviously a speciality here and lobster, mussels, prawns, tiger prawns, calamari, snappers, tuna, butterfish and searfish are often available (depending on the day's catch of course). If you like you can personally select a fish from the fishermen's nets on the beach in the morning which Sanal and his team will be happy to prepare for your lunch or evening meal.
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Fab food”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Wished we had eaten here when we were here five years ago but kept walking past. We have just returned and ate here a lot at lunchtime and night.The food was excellent the waiter recommended the cauliflower cheese it was to die for it was done in a light batter with cheese sprinlkled over it. The four of us ate here a lot and every meal was brill. Cant wait to go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 186534Shazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    30
    12
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
bolton
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We ate here several evening on our recent holday. The staff are most friendly and we chose to eat outside on the sea wall,a great place to make new friends and have a chat, they do also have a first floor seating area inside, just in case the waves get a little lively from time to time.
We did not not have one bad meal, everything is served piping hot ( which is an absolute must for me) and spiced to your liking.
The veggie menu is large and varied which was great for me, and my husband and some of the best fish here he has ever eaten.
They serve alcohol so getting a nice cold G&T was no problem.
Well done Waters Edge and thanks for some lovely evenings.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jarbolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamaki, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best hotel team ever”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Stayed at the WSaters Edge for 3 weeks in feb 2013 and the most impressive thing for me was the staff, to say they were all brilliant is an understatement, nothing is too much trouble for them! One night we had a bad thunderstorm and the hotel suffered a lightening strike which among other things knocked out the electrics and blew 6 ac units but within twelve hours everthing was retored with the minimum of fuss!
Both the Seagull and the Watersedge Restaurant offer excellent food served by friendly attentive staff and although there is occasionally a wait it is certainly worth waiting for!! We have already booked a return for next year!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Edvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Had the fish coooked in spinach and it was white juicy and really enjoyable. Service excellent. Everyone in group enjoyed their meal.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank oakwoodclock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Friendly, welcoming, good food”
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Apu and Laurence really make you feel welcome at this restaurant. The menu is good and would suit varied tastes, although the Indian items are especially good, I can well recommend the prawns and garlic with a Kashmiri naan, as well as the potatoes and garlic....apologies to those I have breathed upon the following morning! Lovely relaxed place to dine with a sea view and the sound of the waves crashing in on the beach.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kattypottypolak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Waters Edge also viewed

Kovalam, Thiruvananthapuram District
Kovalam, Thiruvananthapuram District
 
Kovalam, Thiruvananthapuram District
Kovalam, Thiruvananthapuram District
 

Been to The Waters Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing