We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Staff, Nice Pool & Beach Area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
Rayagada, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Staff, Nice Pool & Beach Area”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is a pending review that I wanted to write It's been one months now since

My family and me stayed at the Somapalmshore in July 2014. A very relaxing friendly stay,
This is located near Kovalam light house beach. greenness and wonderful sea views outside have direct access to the beach.

All the staff is very helpful and never miss the chance to give you wow service. A particular staff member stood out especially Mr.Gireesh on the front desk. He was very helpful....., courteous and professional at all times.He helped us in every possible way and made our trip memorable one. I would like to personally thank him for all of his help during my stay at the Hotel and reminding me what it is like to experience great customer service.

Property is good but need some improvement in rooms ,The swimming pools and the grass area is very well maintained. Food is available in buffet for Rs.400/- INR per person (looked little costly to me after seeing the menu) We had a pleasant stay for 2 nights there. Overall an excellent stay and will surely return soon......

Room Tip: Rooms on the Reception area have good sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patel87Jayesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    203
    69
    20
    42
See reviews for
173
169
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel is really good. Especially the private beach and its staff is really polite. The lady manager was really very sweet..... The rooms are all sea facing but upper floor rooms r great with excellent view although the rooms on ground r well maintained. Its walking distance from kovlam and lighthouse beach

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank parvinder guliani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darjeeling, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The hotel location is superb, near the light house beach and on top has a private beach too. Its very clean and the whole property, including its garden and everything is perfectly maintained. The food is also good compared to the basis food available in South. The breakfast was filling and good too. The rooms nice, clean and comfortable with a view of the garden and the beach....
Thanks for the wonderful stay...!!!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms....with beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sayoni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Service was very good. The food was delicious. Mr. Anil was very friendly and welcoming. I highly recommend this hotel to everyone. The views from hotel is
good and ambient is
good. Hotel is very clean and enough services are provided.
Rooms also have all the facilities and are very spacious.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank milanparekh555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I stayed with my family here last week. Friendly staff at front desk - especially Sreeraj, Malu and team are highly helpful. Very nice food at the restaurant. Very safe for families. I stayed in the ocean view rooms 415 and my brother stayed in 415. You can enjoy the ocean from your porch.

Very clean pool and well maintained out door areas without destroying the nature.

Very traditional style rooms and food. Not very expensive so don't expect a five star status.

Rejimon Varghese, Carmel, USA

Room Tip: You can hear the waves from the ocean if you switch off the fan and AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rejimon_VG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Great location - near lighthouse beach, Good rooms with balconies facing the sea, hospitable service staff and BEST part is that it has its private beach and its better than the famous beach nearby. And yes, its really private which means no one else other than the hotel guests can use it. I thought it would important to mention it with differentiation it because many hotels who are situated at open beach sides also claim to have a private beach when they don't have one. Anyways, just enjoy your time on the private beach with your family - you will love it.

The downside is food - only the North Indian menu. I asked them for bhindi (ladyfinger), they got me bhindi curry (yes, it exists in their restaurant). Then I returned it and asked what do they have in dry bhindi, they said they have bhindi fry and guess what they got me - whole bhindi dipped in besan (gramflour) and deep fried which eventually made it "bhindi ke pakaude". ... Stunned, I called it quits.

Overall - I would recommend it without doubt and would love to stay whenever I go back to Kovalam.

Room Tip: For North Indians only - Hold on to your craving for paneer paratha with butter on the top, its deep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashutosh1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SubhashCBose, Corp. General Manager at Soma Palmshore Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,


We take this opportunity to express our sincere thanks to you for your stay at Soma Palm Shore and the time taken to write your review in trip advisor. Your feedback is very valuable to us. We are very happy to note your appreciation about the exclusive beach of the resort which is rarely seen, Good rooms with sea view. We have noted your concern about the North Indian food served and we will inform our Executive Chef. We do have well experienced team of Chefs specialized in multi cuisine menu including north Indian, Continental, Chinese and Kerala food. Looking forward to serve you again and again at Somatheeram Ayurveda Group Resorts.


Best Regards
Subhash C Bose
Corp. General Manager
Somatheeram Ayurveda Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

pros.
~it is very clean ,and well maintained
~the rooms are very good
~nice location of hotel ,just near the beach & light house
~the breakfast was good
cons.
~WiFi/internet only lobby and restaurant
~T.V. has very limited No of channels

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Subhamit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SubhashCBose, Corp. General Manager at Soma Palmshore Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Sir,


We take this opportunity to express our sincere thanks to you for your stay at Soma Palm Shore and the time taken to write your review in trip advisor. Your feedback is very valuable to us and happy to note that you enjoyed staying at Soma Palmshore and your appreciation about the cleanliness, good room, location of the beach, good breakfast and free WIFI in lobby. We have noted your concern about the channels, we do have more than 50 main channels available, surely we can also provide your preferred channel. Looking forward to serve you again and again at Somatheeram Ayurveda Group Resorts.


Best Regards
Subhash C Bose
Corp. General Manager
Somatheeram Ayurveda Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
1.0 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
1.3 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#4 of 52 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.6 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#6 of 52 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Sagara Beach Resort
Sagara Beach Resort
#14 of 52 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
1.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soma Palmshore Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soma Palmshore Beach Resort

Property: Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
Address: Light House Road | Kovalam Beach, Kovalam 695521, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Soma Palmshore Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic holiday resort by the beach, Soma Palmshore has everything you need to take a break from the mundane – to relax, to refresh and to relive every moment.Located at the Kovalam Light House Beach in Kerala, which is popular world-over for its palm fringed beach, the sun, the sand and the surf, Soma Palmshore offers you much more than just a beach vacation. A comfortable stay, a delightful cuisine, the rejuvenating experience of Ayurveda, the soothing effect of Yoga, an experience of the local tradition and culture…and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Soma Palmshore Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soma Palmshore Beach Hotel Kovalam
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing