We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Turtle On The Beach
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
Certificate of Excellence
India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great View!”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The hotel has a great view, huge rooms, lovely balconies and courteous staff and close to the lighthouse beach which has plenty of great food options. Also all the great things others reviewers have mentioned are all true!

The only drawback is that it does not have a private beach. The public beach (to which the hotel has a shortcut) was awfully crowded, and not suitable to walk around in a bathing suit. We instead ended up lounging at the poolside with a view of the beach!

So if the idea of your vacation is to relax on the beach,it may not be possible here. I hear some other resorts in the area do have a private beach though.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Diya_Kapoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    360
    112
    46
    33
See reviews for
361
401
32
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

had a wonderful stay at the hotel.... lovely view from the balcony. The beach, market place, eateries...everything is easily accessible.
The rooms are spacious and hygienic.
If u plan to put up at Kovalam ...then "Turtle" is the choice.

Highly recommended !!!! :)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank roli_mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chandigarh
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

awsome stay, i still remeber and wish to go to same resort once again. beautyful, and comfortable place to stay with nice settings. rooms are spacious and very comfortable with all the facilities. place is having all the facilities which a person would like to enjoy. i still remeber the day we stayed ther it was a comfortable 2 day stay which will remain always in my memeory. staff was very nice and cooperative. they were able to provide us packed breakfast early in the moring at 4 am for our trip to kanayakumari. we stayed in a sea facing room it was very nice and spacious.

Room Tip: select a sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noorsaini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I liked the stay at this hotel. Location is on hill top and have a awesome sea view. You will love the view for sure if u are in 400, 500 series room or suit and you love to spend time near sea. Beach is just 2 mins walk away through a private path from the hotel. Food need improvement. Will suggest not to go for meal inclusive plan. No hard drinks.

Room Tip: Go for 400, 500 series rooms or suit... 401 has a lobby roof blocking some sea view so bag discount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaurav C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We checked in on a 90 degree day to find out these guys had no beer license, while they advertised a chilled glass of beer in their bar overlooking the ocean. This hotel is not on the beach, it is purched in the hills and has a dangerous foot path going to the beach. Make sure your medical insurance is current before going to this hotel.

The hotel staff was nice & accomodating in light of the above mentioned issues. Strongly suggesting the Leela next door, it costs more but its' worth every penny.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jazz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Hotel was fantastic, when we arrived we were allocated a twin room but as we had requested a king size bed this was corrected asap. The location of the hotel was excellent above the beach but we were still able to enjoy the noise of the sea and the great views. Yes it was a steep upward climb from the beach but you had a choice tut tut or a slow walk to work off the calories!! The staff were so accomodating nothing was too much, we enjoyed 14 nights of bliss relaxing was key. The pool was spotless and most of our stay we were the only people using the facility although I imagine it can get busy when the hotel is full.
We throughly enjoyed our stay it lived up to our expectation and more.

Room Tip: Level 2 offered great rooms large spacious with a great view, we stayed in room 406
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purrdy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I was a bit skeptical to visit Turtle on the Beach with the limited reviews, but we took the plunge after a recommendation from my Dad's friend. It was a wonderful boutique spot on Kovalam Beach! Though its not right on the beach, I was into the secluded, small, private feeling I had there. In india, I would never wear a bathing suit in public, but felt free to at hotel pool. There were only about 25 other guests there beside my party of 4, which was just right for me. The crowd seemed very european, and some locals too. The rooms were beautiful and very clean, and felt like a luxury hotel for India. The ayruvedic spa was great too, and right on the premises. The only negative, the staff were very very slow, ordering lunch took hours. Oh we also utilized the hotel to arange air conditioned cars for us to drive to kanyia kumari and other areas. I loved my visit to kovalam and to Turtle, hope to go back some day!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plahottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.4 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
1.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
0.9 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#5 of 52 in Kovalam
557 reviews
0.6 mi away
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
3.8 mi away
Abad Harmonia
Abad Harmonia
#8 of 52 in Kovalam
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle On The Beach

Property: Turtle On The Beach
Address: ITDC Road, Kovalam 695527, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
#4 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kovalam
#6 Family Hotel in Kovalam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Turtle On The Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By blending the finest of art with the most sophisticated luxury, Turtle on the Beach brings about a new grammar in holidaying in this part of the world. You will find it unique in every way you look at it, either as a whole or in parts that make it a whole. And that makes Turtle on the Beach a one-of-a-kind boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Turtle On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle On The Beach Hotel Kovalam
Turtle On The Beach Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing