We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location near Kovalam beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Turtle On The Beach
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
Certificate of Excellence
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
633 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 396 helpful votes
“Great Location near Kovalam beach”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Location with great view overlooking Arabian Sea, especially sun sets from rooms is simply mind blowing. The taste of sea food is awesome.
Just few minutes walk from world famous Kovalam beach, which offers variety of recreational and food options.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deepankar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for appreciating our services and location through this review.

Kovalam is famous for its beaches, among the most pristine in India. Our guests can enjoy panoramic views of the Arabian Sea from our rooms and we are glad that you were impressed by our location. In addition to the magnificent service, we also make sure that our guests have an unforgettable gastronomic experience. We have shared you delightful words with the chef which is highly motivating for him.

We would love to connect with you through our social media channels and update you with the latest info about our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Karan Bakshi
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    348
    107
    46
    33
See reviews for
337
392
32
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Had been with the family for a very short visit earlier this month.

This place is located very near (mind you it is not on the beach..but overlooks the beach/sea) the Eves Beach and the Leela Kovalam. Beach is a 5 min walk down from the hotel.

What we liked:
- Big spacious rooms...great amenities in the room !
- Try the Sea facing rooms...Good View...Can see the sea. Pls note that you cannot see the beach from the ground level rooms...but probably will be visible from the higher floors.
- Beach is a 5 min walk away.
- Great hospitality : Great breakfast spread...Dinner (al la carte) was ok...but special mention for the awesome A-1 service and attention from Sulfikkar and Shammerkhan who served us during dinner and breakfast. Keep up the good work, Guys !

What we did not like:
- Humidity control in the room is not very good...Floor..books...sheets become wet/moist very often.

VFM is reasonable for the quality of rooms and service. Much better VFM compared to The Leela !

Room Tip: Try Sea facing rooms on floor 1 or above..for a good beach view. You can see the sea but can't s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for review following your stay with us.

We are pleased to know that you were impressed with the rooms, service, location and dining facility of our hotel. Our associates try to make the stay of the guest’s special through their endeavor and it is clear from your review that they have succeeded in their efforts. Your suggestions have been noted and will be conveyed to the relevant teams.

We hope that fine memories of our hotel will bring you back.

Best Regards,
Karan Bakshi
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I had a really nice stay at the Turtle on the Beach on Kovalam Beach, Kerala. Aside from the Lalit Hotel, this is the other hotel that makes for a lovely retreat to come back to after a day at the beach, an ayurvedic treatment or a day in the town (Trivandrum). It is not right on the beach, which is actually to its advantage. From the sea-facing rooms, there is a beautiful pool to look out on, and then out to the sea. Staff were professional and provided a lot of assistance with a documentation issue that I was facing. If you want to get away from it all and enjoy a quiet, peaceful accommodation without the price of the Lalit, I would recommend Turtle on the Beach!

Room Tip: Definitely choose the Sea-Facing rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ayekaybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review detailing your stay with us.

We are pleased to know that you had a lovely time at Turtle on the Beach. Rightly mentioned by you, we are located very near to the beach where our guests can unwind and relax. We are glad that the pricing was to your liking and you enjoyed the view from our hotel. Your appreciation for our associates has been shared and it is highly motivating for them. We are obliged that you would be recommending us to your friends and family.

We would love to have you on our social media channels. Look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Best Regards,
Karan Bakshi
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajmer, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

It is overall a very good experience to stay. Nice location as we were in a Arabian sea view room. The room was very big and the same with bathroom. Everything was well planned. Comfortable bed. Nice room service. I do not know for their food but saw it was costly , so I looked for options outside (Punjabi restaurant near to it etc.). Overall, if you wish to stay with your partner and spend some private time, listening to the waves, you can spend the entire night there. Simply amazing.

Room Tip: Choose the arabian sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abaj9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guest,

It is lovely to hear from you through this review.

The Turtle team is glad to know that you had a comfortable stay at the property. Our proximity to the beach makes us a preferred choice amongst travelers from all over the world and your appreciation is an addition to the list of praises we have received for our location. We are happy to know that the room, service and the view was up to your expectations. The food pricing is in accordance to the prevalent industry standards and we are disappointed that you did not give us an opportunity to please your taste buds.

We would like to have you as our Facebook fan and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Karan Bakshi
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had booked Arabian Sea view room for 2N/3D package at this hotel after evaluating several other stay options at Kovalam. Overall it was a nice relaxing experience, however I do have to mention few things about this hotel.

1. Rooms: The sea view room allotted to us was quite spacious with a large bathroom and private balcony. Bed was comfortable and arrangements on the room were neat. Room service was also prompt. Though it was called a sea view room, we hardly got to see Arabian Sea from our balcony as the whole area was covered with coconut trees. I later found that the rooms on right side of hotel had better view to Arabian Sea (we stayed on the left side) and it was mostly allotted to foreign tourists (looked like the staffs were biased towards Indian tourists).

2. Restaurant & Food: Their pool side restaurant offers good view of the Arabian Sea and is a nice place to relax ourselves. Staffs here were courteous.Their breakfast menu was good and well served. But for lunch and dinner, they have very limited choices (especially Kerala cuisines) and is highly priced. For example, 1 piece of medium sized Kerala paratha is priced at INR 125 ! However, the taste of paratha was very good. Their lunch and dinner buffet are expensive too (INR 1100 for buffet) and is not recommended for those who are looking for variety in food (we could get a sumptuous buffet menu at star hotels in any of the cities in India for this price). I found just 15 items on their buffet menu which included couple of desserts and 3 types of pappad.

3. SPA: Once again the prices are extremely high and is not worth a try. They certainly have to relook at their price structure. I have been to other places in Kerala where the services are provided by well qualified professionals and they charge only 50% of what these people are charging.

Overall Verdict: It is really a good property to stay if you are looking to spend a calm and relaxing vacation with family / loved ones but you need to explore outside the hotel for food and other services. Since there are plenty of options available near the beach (which is 5 mins walk down the hill from this hotel) you don't have to really depend on their in-house services. For example, they quoted INR 1300 for one way airport transfer on a sedan whereas I ended up paying only INR 400 by booking a sedan through a local call taxi operator. If you depend on their in-house services you would only end up paying a hefty price.

Room Tip: Rooms on the right side of the hotel (when you enter into front office) have good view of the Arabia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wandering-King
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and sharing your experience with us through this review.
We are pleased to know you found the rooms spacious and comfortable. The team has gone through the review and are quite concerned about the deficiencies experienced by you. We would like to mention that we always ensure that we are not biased in our booking policies and treat every guest equally. We are delighted to receive your appreciation for our restaurant and the quality of the food. Your feedback for the pricing of the food and spa is welcome and we will be discussing it in our next meeting.

We hope this experience would not put you off from visiting our hotel. We hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,
Karan Bakshi
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This was our first trip to India We stayed here for two weeks RnR and were really impressed
The hotel was wonderful food excellent and the staff were absolutely superb They couldn't do enough for you
We'd love to see the rest of India but wouldn't want to do that without going back to this hotel
The staff felt like friends Aditya and Sulphi in particular are worth their weight in gold
Caroline and Tony Patterson UK

Room Tip: Arabian Sea view rooms room 402
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We are elated to receive you appreciation through this review.

The Turtle team is pleased to know that you chose us for your stay during your first visit to India. It has been our constant endeavor to provide a fantastic experience to our guests, and we are happy to have accomplished it in your case. Your warm words for the food, service and associates has been shared with our team who are thrilled that their dedicated efforts were noticed.

We would like you to engage with us on Facebook and share your photos on our page. Hopefully we can welcome you back before too long.

Best Regards,
Karan Bakshi
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Nita & Vinod Sidpara -UK

When we arrived at this hotel in March- the welcome reception was very good and the reception staff were very helpful and polite. We stayed in seaview room 304. The room was very spacious and clean with very big bathroom and balcony. Good location and only 5mins walk down a steep hill but hotel provided a shuttle service. The housekeeping staff Rahul Soren provided very good service throughout our stay. All the hotel amenities were good. The restaurant provided very good selection of all meals no complain. The restaurant staff were excellent especially Violet with her cheeky smile and good sense of humour. Liji always greets with beautiful smile. Sulfi with his wonderful personality always helpful in suggesting good selection of fish dish from the menu. Ritesh was very helpful and always smiling. Lastly and most important person Aditya was very helpful with all the local knowledge regarding local transport, sightseeing and shopping tips. We had wonderful stay at this hotel and visit again and also recommend to others.

Room Tip: I would recommend higher floor for good arabian seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viku2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing the experience of your stay with us and recommending us.

We are pleased to know that you had a delightful stay at our resort in Kerala and that our service and facilities were at par with your expectations .We always strive to provide our guests with the best of everything, and it is heartening to note that we succeeded in our endeavor. We will share your words of encouragement with the Turtle team and we are sure it will motivate them to offer even higher level of excellence.

We thank you for staying with us during your trip and await your next visit soon.

Best Regards,
Karan Bakshi
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.4 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
1.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
0.9 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#4 of 52 in Kovalam
550 reviews
0.6 mi away
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
3.8 mi away
Abad Harmonia
Abad Harmonia
#8 of 52 in Kovalam
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle On The Beach

Property: Turtle On The Beach
Address: ITDC Road, Kovalam 695527, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
#4 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kovalam
#6 Family Hotel in Kovalam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Turtle On The Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By blending the finest of art with the most sophisticated luxury, Turtle on the Beach brings about a new grammar in holidaying in this part of the world. You will find it unique in every way you look at it, either as a whole or in parts that make it a whole. And that makes Turtle on the Beach a one-of-a-kind boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Turtle On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle On The Beach Hotel Kovalam
Turtle On The Beach Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing