We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it!”
Review of Hotel Samudra KTDC

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The best part about this hotel is that, for most of the rooms, the view from the balcony includes the beach, the sea, and the swimming pool. It is quite a view to wake up to early in the morning. The food is quite decent. They serve good breakfast. The rooms were quite nice. The best part about the hotel is the "private beach" that they have. It is very clean, quite, and well secluded. You can stay at the beach for hours without having to be bothered by vendors or the rush of the public. They even arranged a cake on request for my brothers birthday within an hour, which was freshly baked and very yummy!
With this being the last destination of our visit to kerela, we were left wanting to stay for another day!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shyamolig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (585)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 585 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Room clean and ok when come to food and price is lousy even room service call them they not response immediatly very slow the worst is lights off automatically and restaurant full of flies and mosquitoes my body and friend too a lot of mosquitoes bite even some foreigners from other country complain and scold them they shake head like simple need to improve service

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
11  Thank Dewa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Wonderful hotel nestled on the Samudra beach. Courteous staff. Very reasonable rates. But most importantly the hotel with the best location in the place. Food is good for non-veg esp sea food. But veg food variety is a bit poor. Despite Being a govt hotel the infrastructure is in almost if not completely in good shape. Good place for families... But the problem... Too many families. To stay in Kovalam, the best location

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Arjun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel in April 2014 for one week, and found it excellent. The location, landscaped gardens, and view from our room (209) was superb.To see the waves breaking on to the beach every morning was idyllic. The staff were excellent and eating the evening meal on the lawns was great. The pool is lovely and although there aren't too many other amenities it is ideal for those seeking a quiet relaxing break. All in all we had a very good time and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anybody.

Room Tip: Rooms 205 -210 have the best sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coljen1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stay at the hotel was lovely , a beautiful experience cz of the sea facing rooms,waking up with the sounds of the waves, sleeping on the hammock(it needs to be replaced though!)...and the beach is so close that one can watch the waves from the balcony and ......i just visited , visited, visited the beach again and again.The beach is kinda private as less crowded....felt very relaxing....nice place to go back again....and we are planning to visit again cz of the beautiful location.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the 1st floor to enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank madhubarwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed here in Mid April, with couple of kids. Overall this is a a good property, which would have been really good under a better owner / management.

The positives include the great location and excellent landscaped area leading up to the beach. Pool is also good. Most rooms have sea view, the new building would be more quite and so would be better. You can walk up to an *almost* private beach, which even though not suitable for swimming, is a relief considering how crowded the Kovalam beaches are. There is amazing views of the sea from all parts of the property, which is the best thing about the hotel.

But what lets you down is the poor service and food. The staff actually are quite friendly, but not the most efficient. We had to wait for 30 minutes for someone to pick up the luggage while checking out and in the restaurant, part of our order was forgotten even though it was written down. Right from the reception to restaurant, staff are friendly but need to be trained better.

Food is simply poor, and overpriced for the quality you get. Buffet breakfast lacks variety as well as quality. Almost everything we tried turned out to be tasteless.

Building also needs some renovation. Walking down the corridors, we get the feeling of a cheaper hotel, not a 3 star property.

This hotel could be a lot better with better training, some renovation and some quality addition to the food. Under a better management, this would have been a great hotel, but you can't really expect much from KTDC.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Augy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

It is a very nice hotel and a beautiful view from my room to the sea.breakfast was very nice there were many fruits and fresh kerala's food .the pool was too big and deep a very nice THE HOTEL WAS TOO NICE

Room Tip: Upper rooms have good sea vew
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kharanshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.2 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#5 of 52 in Kovalam
1,040 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
0.9 mi away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#23 of 52 in Kovalam
241 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sagara Beach Resort
Sagara Beach Resort
#12 of 52 in Kovalam
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Samudra KTDC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Samudra KTDC

Address: GV Raja Road, Kovalam 695527, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
#5 Family Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range: £61 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Samudra KTDC 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The name of this beach resort itself means "the ocean" and it is an ideal place to enjoy the fullness of the beauty of Kovalam, the enchanting beach destination. Set in inspiring environs, every room of the hotel overlooks the sea and the sprawling lawn stretches up to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Samudra KTDC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Samudra KTDC Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing