We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Hotel Sea Breeze

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kovalam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Sea Breeze
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This is a good value for money hotel. It is located very near to the lighthouse beach but away from the chaos of beachfront. Rooms are big and very clean. There is a long balcony in front of the room, you can sit and relax in this calm and quiet place. There is also lots of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tukai903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    4
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
10
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here as part of a package we booked through Padma Nair at Yogashala yoga retreat (two minute walk away from the hotel). We were met at the airport by Suresh, the owner. We later learned that Suresh has a great reputation in town and he seems to know everyone! He was immediately warm and helpful to us. He made sure we had everything we needed, but never rushed any business on us when we first arrived. His manager took us to the Ayur restaurant (not to be missed!) about a one minute walk away from the hotel. Our room on the second floor seemed to be brand new. Everything worked perfectly. The room was immaculate. Laundry service is available at a small charge, and you can request extra pillows, sheets, and any other necessities if you need them. We spent most nights on the breezy veranda reading or talking with our neighbors. They even have a library on the second floor. This property is especially relaxing if you appreciate nature sounds- there are a lot of bird calls!

The staff are extremely helpful, and so kind. They always have smiles on their faces and check in with you to make sure all of your needs are met. They were in the process of renovating some of the rooms and garden space when we were there. The property looks nice and in a few months I imagine it will be even nicer.

I think this is a great option for people who intend to stay in Kovalam long term. It sits right behind the main strip. It's perfectly convenient to go to the beach (3-4 minute walk) or if you want to get away from the noise, it feels secluded, too. It's got a neighborhood feeling about it which we really appreciated. Every day we bought coconuts at Babu's house, had an ayurvedic breakfast at Ayur, and took yoga at Yogashala. We even took a nightly stroll to visit our friends at the convenient store (2 min. walk) to get water. There are many restaurants just a couple minutes walking distance away from the hotel. The shops and tailors away from the beach and close to the hotel are better quality, cheaper, and a bit more unique (in my personal opinion). There is also a fresh fruit and vegetable stand near the hotel.

Theres's a great Ayurveda spa at the hotel called Gayathri. I got three treatments- shirodhara, head massage, and a full body massage. Every treatment was very professional and relaxing.

Another great find relatively close to the hotel is Saraswathy Arts Center, a store owned by an artist. He does original works on silk an cotton at insanely good prices- a real gem and some of our favorite treasures that we bought in India. Take a left at the end of the beach (closest to the lighthouse) and walk about halfway up. Stop when you see a store that displays lots of traditional Hindu themed paintings on the left. The owner is super nice.

We had a lovely experience at Treat Yourself Seabreeze Hotel. If we came back to Kovalam, we would definitely stay here again, even if we had the opportunity to be beach front. A+ for us!

Room Tip: The 2nd floor feels more private and is more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pitselehkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armidale, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Sea Breeze is an excellent guest house. It is a budget place, so don’t expect any fancy treats in the rooms, but they are very comfortable with plenty of space. The large verandahs are a pleasure to sit on and gaze out at the greenery of the the garden. The best things about Sea Breeze, aside from having that old-style Indian accommodation feel, is the silence, greenery and bird calls, especially in the early morning.

You may prefer to stay on the beach side, but know it is noisier, busier and hotter at the beach front, whereas back a little in Sea Breeze, you have a pleasant respite from the resort scene of Kovalam. For eating, just next door is the fabulous Ayur Restaurant, which serves excellent food in an equally relaxed and green setting.

Sea Breeze is best for those staying longer at Kovalam, or those who dislike the crowded tourist crush at the beach front. It is only a short walk to the beach, so you are not significantly disadvantaged that way. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Upstairs does seem more pleasant - more chance of a breeze also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael1052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as 3 19yr old female backpackers for 1 night in March '13. We paid 550Rs (£6.80)  for the night for a double room with an extra bed, non AC. Breakfast not  included. No wifi.

Room - we had room 4 on the first floor. It was of a good size, clean and the beds were firm. Mosquito net was droopy but clean and did the job. Good locks on the door. Strong fan kept us cool. Large bathroom but no loo paper or bin. Shower was lukewarm but of a good strength. 

Food - No restaurant, but lots nearby. 

Service - Vivin is such a great guy. He helpfully got us a spare bed, sourced us mosquito nets and gave us good advice on where to go/eat. Really friendly and professional. The owner - Lynn - lives in London? She got our booking wrong but Vivin sorted it out in no time. Only thing is you have to bring or go and get your own scans of passports and visas - bit of a pain. 

Location - Lighthouse beach is a 5 min walk through tiny backstreets. Torch needed at night. 

A great place. Highly recommended if you can't afford beachfront prices. 

Tip. Eat at Ayurvedic Garden next door, cheap veggie food in a lovely setting. 

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LMG921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

It's is minute or so walk from the beach front (very close but infinitely cheaper than beachfront resort places)..and frankly I found it nice to get away from the beach hotel. it so calm and lovely to sit out side balcony. I was in,also to get away from the promenade /concrete and more fancy stalls and touts and to be nearer nicer stall holders,/tailors and some greenery,coconut trees,even the...

Room Tip: choose rooms on first floor..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Eva P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kovalam
0.4 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#5 of 52 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#22 of 52 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Orion Beach Resort
Orion Beach Resort
#41 of 93 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sagara Beach Resort
Sagara Beach Resort
#14 of 52 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.6 mi away
Thushara Hotel
Thushara Hotel
#18 of 52 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sea View Palace
Hotel Sea View Palace
#21 of 52 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sea Breeze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sea Breeze

Property: Hotel Sea Breeze
Address: Lighthouse Beach | Kovalam, Kerala, Kovalam 695 521, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sea Breeze near Lighthouse Beach, Kovalam, Kerala, South India. A favourite with tourists seeking peace and tranquility away from the bustle of the sea front restaurants and gift shops. Jungle sounds from wild life in our mature trees is very comforting. Ayurveda Centre on site. Yoga and instruction in Kalaripayattu (Kerala Martial Arts) can be arranged. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Sea Breeze Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing