We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pam & Geoff, The Best Hosts in the World”
Review of Pammae Palace

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kovalam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pammae Palace
Ranked #29 of 87 Kovalam B&B and Inns
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pam & Geoff, The Best Hosts in the World”
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Just want to start by saying that India can be a bit of a culture shock if you've never been to a third world country before. This was our first time and thankfully/fortunately we had randomly booked Pammae Palace after reading reviews on PA. The owners are Pam & Geoff and two of the nicest and most welcoming people you will ever meet. They helped enormously with our settling in, giving us a tour of the local area, telling us the best places to go, even lending us a local mobile phone for the duration of our stay. They also have a taxi (tuk-tuk) driver, Aji, who is polite and trustworthy and will take you anywhere you wish. The house is to European standards, which is rare in India unless you want to pay European prices. But the most important part of this place is the hosts themselves, so helpful. For example, we required train tickets for the next leg of our journey and rather than let us face the chaos and long waits at Trivandrum station, Geoff went there in our place at 4am to get us our tickets! He even did the same thing again after we had left Pammae Palace for somewhere else! Truly above and beyond. We were also invited for an xmas party at one of their friends house, where the local church came and sang carols, which was an excellent experience. I'd like to think we found good friends in Pam and Geoff. We hope you're keeping well, Greig & Cat x

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gtay7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pammae, Owner at Pammae Palace, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Wonderful to hear from you both. Thanks for your comments and taking the time to leave a review.
It was our pleasure to help you enjoy not only your stay with us, but also your visit ti India. We are well, thank you, and hope you are likewise. Busy again this year but would never be too busy to welcome you back. Will try to keep in touch. It's lovely to think we make new friends as well as new customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    2
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Upon arrival no one was there to meet us & we waited 15 minutes until Dorothy turned up. Geoff & Pam were back in the uk (unbeknown to us) & their friend Dorothy was looking after us. We were shown to our room but unfortunately there was no AC working or running water. The house wasn't really prepared for our arrival - the pool was full of leaves & filter not turned on, Dorothy said everything would be explained by another person staying at the house but she was unsure what time he'd be turning up. We felt abandoned and had to leave. To be fair Dorothy said she couldn't accommodate us as she wasn't aware of the water problem & she arranged for us to stay at Sagara hotel on lighthouse beach. It was going to cost us 2500 p/n rather than 2100 at pammae palace but we felt we had no alternative not knowing the area. The driver returned to take us to the new hotel. We were looking forward to spending our last 2 days in india relaxing at a comfortable homestay with the personal service that comes with it, instead we were dumped in a big run down impersonal hotel next to lighthouse beach (worst part of Kovalam)

2 hours of our time were wasted on this and It has totally ruined our last few days in India. It would have been far easier for all concerned if the booking was cancelled prior to the owners returning to the UK.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Recently stayed in Pammae Palace in Kovalam, It was our first trip to India and Pam and Geoff organised for us to be picked up and taken straight to their home. After our over night flight all we needed to was some sleep.
Full of helpful ideas and suggestions, it is a nice place to ease into India. Also it was about 20 minutes walk from the beach so you get a taste of India walking down the road . Just be careful at the cross roads. And they had a friendly Tuk Tuk driver who would pick us up from the beach and bring us back at a discounted rate. When we came to leave they helped organise our onward trip .
A great welcome to India.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niconhistravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pammae, Owner at Pammae Palace, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. It was our pleasure to help you on your first visit.
We hope you took back some wonderful memories and that you will return one day .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fraserburgh
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Just spent an absolute great 14 days at Pammae Palace with. owners Geoff and Pam. Spacious, clean rooms. It is situated in a quiet street with lovely views from the top balcony. The beach is only a short tuc tuc drive away (75fps) or a ten minute walk. Geoff and Pam were excellent hosts. There was a religious festival on with quite loud music during the day and they offered to find us other accommodation during this time at their expense, but to be honest they were such nice people we stayed where we were. Geoff was very helpful with making arrangements for trips and Pam helped my wife with the best places to shop. I cannot praise them enough. I would highly recommend Pammae Palace as a place to stay. Thanks for all your help and for making our stay that bit more special.

Room Tip: The top room is large with easy access to the larger balcony which has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grant79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pammae, Owner at Pammae Palace, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave such a good review, know how busy your life must be at times.
We hope you went home refreshed and ready to plan your next holiday, hopefully back to India.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

This guesthouse is highly recommended You have the best of both worlds - it is only 3km from
the beach (a short rickshaw ride) and yet in a peaceful location.

The house is large and airy with 2 available lounges for relaxing and a splash pool. We had a downstairs rear corner bedroom facing the pool area. It was spacious, lovely and cool (we did not use the a/c) and the ensuite bathroom was excellent. Free wi fi, lending you an Indian mobile phone, negotiating discount rates with local rickshaws and taxis as well as providing all the info you need for sightseeing and shopping are just a few examples of what is provided as a matter of course.

Pam and Geoff the owners go out of their way to ensure you have a great stay and treat you as one of the family. Nothing is too much trouble for these very kind and generous people.

Thanks once again - we will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same high standardard
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaysfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pammae, Owner at Pammae Palace, responded to this review, 2 March 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and posted a review.
We hope to see you back here next year when we can show you more trips to go on and the wonders of Kerala, Tamil Nadu and other states each with their varying charm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yes
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We were so very happy to stay with Pam and Geoff. The stay was a real home from home experience. Geoff was kind enough to arrange visits for us to local sights which we probably would have missed otherwise. Pam was always on hand to offer drinks. The rooms were very comfortable and with the house being in a quiet street this ensured an excellent nights sleep.

Room Tip: Book now and dont miss out
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pammae, Owner at Pammae Palace, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Thank you for your comments.
If you are ever in this neck of the woods again, please call in, even if you cannot stay.
You were both a pleasure to meet and look after.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

A large, beautiful, well equipped house which was a pleasure to stay in for 5 nights.

Geoff and Pam did their utmost to make us feel at home and were so helpful with lots of local knowledge........which we really appreciated. We had a large airy room on the top floor, with beautiful views over the countryside.
Yes, it's a short walk to the beach, but only a cheap taxi ride back.
This was our first visit to India and would love to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roseKirkcaldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pammae, Owner at Pammae Palace, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
You were only with us for a short time, but hope you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for your comments and hope you will come back to Kovalam soon now you have experience some of what India has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
1.1 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
0.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
3.5 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats
Niraamaya Retreats
#1 of 52 in Kovalam
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#4 of 52 in Kovalam
950 reviews
4.1 mi away
Manaltheeram Ayurveda Beach Village
0.7 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pammae Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pammae Palace

Property: Pammae Palace
Address: K.S. Road, Kovalam 695527, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at "Pammae Palace", our aim is to provide clients with top class hotel facilities - but with the privacy, feel and security of a home stay. The English owners will be occupying one bedroom of the 3 story house, in order to provide constant supervision of the staff and amenities, and to give helpful advice. Keralan hospitals, dentistry and optical services are world class, at half the cost of their European and American counterparts. Any medically referred clients may stay a their leisure for convalescence purposes. Within easy distance are a fabulous diversion of places of interest for the traveller, including cool lakes, mountains, beaches and historical monuments and temples. We can arrange trips at the local rate and supply local transport, all at a reasonable rate. Children are welcomed and supervised if required. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pammae Palace Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing