We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect, quiet, comfortable, close to beaches...”
other travellers have booked this property
Alarek villa, quiet road, great location
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Alarek villa, quiet road, great location
Beautiful Alarek Lounge, bright & airy, flat T.V, wall lights,
 WI-FI, side & coffee tables. ,settee & two armchairs
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Alarek villa, quiet road, great location
Beautiful Alarek
Lounge, bright & airy, flat T.V, wall lights,
 WI-FI, side & coffee tables. ,settee & two armchairs
Spacious lounge, cable TV,WI-FI, coffee table, side tables, celing fan, table & wall lights.
Dinning area looking onto lounge
Part of the dinning area
En-suite d/bedroom, wardrobe ,chest of drawers, side table, reading lights--,light & bright.,fan
newly decorated bathroom, with hot & cold water
Fully equipped Kitchen, fridge /freezer ,oven,
toaster, sandwich maker, gas hob,door leading 2 garde
Newly decorated beautiful wet room ,hot water, W.C,2 entrances
Roof garden for you to enjoy, relax, read a book,or just sunbathe
Yoga lessons on our roof,for the young ,not so young,beginners & the more eperenced !
Roof terrace for you to relax, have a drink, read a book, celling fans
Grow cove beach, a 10 minute walk through a coconut grove from the villa or cottage-beautiful !!
Poova back waters-20 mins ride away ,rent your own boat for 1-2 hours, bird watching ,and wild life
Bath time at the elephant sanctuary-1 hour 15 mins away,wash & feed these magnificent creatures
Kingfisher just caught his supper.(Valani lake)
Vailani Lake, very peaceful, full of lotus flowers.10 minutes  ride away.
Samudra beach, very quiet ,a short rickshaw ride away, or a 15 min walk from Alarek
Light House beach-Watch the local fishermen-everyday,chanting,as they pull their catch in
Somatherum Beach,20 mins away in a rickshaw,fabulous beach !
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kovalam, Thiruvananthapuram District, Kerala

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jeanclaud...
Coimbatore, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect, quiet, comfortable, close to beaches, good starting point to visit Kerala”
Reviewed 27 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect, quiet, comfortable, close to beaches, good starting point to visit Kerala. Angie perfect hostess, very helpful to organise trips and visits.

Date of stay: February 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2018
Thank you so much Jean-Claude for the nice review,what excellent guests you were,,you would always be most welcome back,hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.
Kind Wishes Angie Den & Staff.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: December 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Feb 2018
So nice to have meet you both, & even better to know you enjoyed your stay with us,hope it's not too cold in "Blighty" ,
Always welcome back,thanks for the great review.
Angie Den Kuinny & staff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jay21T
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing, safe, convenient”
Reviewed 8 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Angie and Den provided a perfect base for our holiday in Kovalam and were very helpful in organising day tours and car hire. The 2 bedroom apartment is beautifully maintained, is very quiet and private, yet just some few minutes rickshaw ride from the beachfront and restaurants. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Les H
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 7 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What a great time we had!Three weeks of bliss.With lots of interesting and enjoyable trips out with" Kuinny" or driver looking after all our needs.35 degrees every day ,close and easy access to the sea/beach ,many wonderful bars and restaurants we hardly had time to do all the things we did.Angela and Den were the perfect Hosts, always available to give advice and help.Also enjoyed the beautiful /close scenery.We 've brought back many Photos to record our stay.Sea food to die for.Must do.Thanks a million Angi andDen.

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2017
Thank you for your review,so nice to have met you both your son & his partner,its so rewarding when guests enjoy their stay with us,
You will always be welcome back, ,take care Angie Den & the gang .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escape283...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
Reviewed 11 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Angie and Den were great and there to help you with anything. The villa was very clean and roomy. Kuinny , well what can we say, his driving was amazing, felt really safe. Great location, lovely walk to the beach.if we go again we will certainly think of stopping here again.

Date of stay: January 2017
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theweelad...
Crieff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Back for a third time!”
Reviewed 24 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

This is the third time my husband and I have stayed at Alarek Villa. The greeting we get on our arrival always makes us feel so welcome. The villa is beautifully decorated and very clean and comfortable, kept so by Fassenda, the maid. Laundry is looked after by Shagondela a d Kuinny makes sure we have everything we need. Close to the beaches, but not too close. The only sounds you hear are the birds and insects (with the odd cat squeal!) Angle and Den are the perfect hosts, offering help and guidance when asked, but not intruding on our holiday. India at its best.

Date of stay: November 2016
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2016
Thank you so much for your most welcome feedback, much appreciated, it was so nice to see you both again,you will always be welcome at "alarek".
Maybe pop in to see us when you are visiting you daughter in sevenoaks .kindest of thoughts,Angie Den & the gang.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlobalVag...
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“A real taste of Kerala”
Reviewed 29 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Our family of 4 stayed here for a month and had a great time; it's a good place to explore the best that Kovalam and Kerala have to offer.

The accommodation is on the lower ground floor of the property and is quite basic, but is clean and functional. The owners occupy the ground floor, but were not there when we stayed, and the property also includes a small cottage to the rear, which is also rented out as holiday accommodation. Being on the lower ground floor means it doesn't get a huge amount of natural light, but this helps keep the temperature down. There is a breezy shared roof terrace, which is a great place to chill out.

The property is well located, on a quiet side street about 10 mins walk down the hill to the main beaches (you can get a cheap rickshaw back up the hill). There is a small supermarket that is about 10 mins walk in the other direction at Kovalam junction.

The property manager is very helpful with a wealth of local knowledge and a car so is on hand to work as a driver / guide as well if you require.

The local beach is a fun place to absorb some local culture with lots of good restaurants, other highlights from our trip:

- private yoga lessons on the roof terrace
- the beautiful and deserted Chowara beach (about 20 mins drive in rickshaw)
- boat trip on local backwaters near Poovar
- day trip to Varkala
- houseboat trip on waterways near Alleppey

Would recommend this as a place to stay; it's good value and you are in safe hands.

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2016
Thank you Paul & family for your review,So sorry we missed you,but I know Kuinny would have looked after you.you would be more than welcome back if you are ever this way,with discount of course.
Thank you for choosing us to stay with.
Kindest of regards
Angie & Den
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing