We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Swagath Holiday Resorts
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

It was a great experience, staff were very attentive and good response to the needs. nice place, clean, safe, calm and stress free location. In deed a beautiful location for a ideal vacation. Clean and hygienic pool for play with kids.

Room Tip: Cooling of AC to be increased in villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haripv2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswagath, General Manager at Swagath Holiday Resorts, responded to this review, 28 November 2014
Dear Guest,

"Greetings from S H R"

Thank you very much for your appreciation and remarks on our resort and staff. We will surely try to improve more and more to serve you.

Warm Regards,


Unnikrishnann V Menon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    47
    16
    8
    12
See reviews for
41
30
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

I visited here in March 14 with my Family. The Hotel is very well located, just 5 mins of walk (very steep incline though) from Beach.

The rooms were pretty big and clean. Staff was warm and helpful, most of them did understand Hindi. If you are looking for Sea view rooms I would suggest you book king rooms (if I remember the name correctly) located on 3rd floor. We had booked Pawn rooms from where all I could see was neighborhood hotels.

The North Indian Food is just okay nothing great but quantity was very good.

They also have a Pool which is very well maintained and clean

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Prabhjeet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswagath, General Manager at Swagath Holiday Resorts, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Guest,

"Greetings from S H R"

We, the management and staff of Swagath whole heartily thank you for the kind words you have opined about our Resort and the rating you have given us. We will surely be trying to get more and more improvements in each area to provide a warm, comfortable stay to all our guest.

Your rating is a high motivation for us.

Thanking you once again and wishing you and your family a great Year Ahead..

Warm Regards,


Unnikrishnann V Menon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhilwara
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

during the month of march I have stayed for 4 days in above hotel.it was a family holiday. location of hotel is good on mailroad leading to main kovalam and hawa beach.this hotel has parking place location on main road but there is steep climb while returning from beach.though distance is short just 300 mts per this climb tires elders.hoel has no lift so one can ground rooms if can not take to stairs.it has no restourent but they can prepare on orders.Just 100 mts away there is one Patiala restirent for north indian delicaices.staff is good and co operatve and has good tie up with tour operators for sight seeing visit.its economical to stay with rates prevailing

Room Tip: ekders to choose ground floor rooms,though stare cases are not steep
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sorty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswagath, General Manager at Swagath Holiday Resorts, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Team Trip Advisor,

This posting is not at all about our hotel. We request you to remove this posting at the earliest as it may give wrong information's about our resort.

An early action in this regard will be highly appreciated.

Thanking you

Your Truly


Unnikrishnann V Menon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Booking: Directly with the hotel. Smooth process. Check-in took less than 3 minutes.

Location: Located on a hill on the Hawa beach. It is a VERY steep climb up from the beach, so if uphill climbing is not your thing and you are without a car, then think twice about this hotel. Once you climb down to the beach, shops, restaurants, and other Kovalam hotels are aligned along the Lighthouse beach towards your left. Closeby hotels: Turtle on the Beach, Rock ’n’ Beach, and The Leela not too far away.

Hotel Property: A 3–star standard hotel (and not quite a resort) which has about 50 rooms, a swimming pool (not very inviting during the off-season), a restaurant, and an Ayurvedic Centre. During my stay, the hotel was running at about 30% capacity (as it was off-season) so it was relatively quiet compared to the peak season.

Room (302): Good size, and clean although a little dusty at places, given that it is off-season (March). Furniture is old-ish, but ensures a comfortable night’s sleep. Room TV has a few English channels. The room misses a water kettle, and tea/coffee options although, it’s just a call away. No wi-fi in the room was available, so one has to use the internet from the lobby, which by the way has no A/C or ceiling fans. Room beds were just fine – not as great as hotel beds are meant to be though! Also, the worst thing about this hotel is that all rooms are interconnecting, so if you have noisy neighbours, you may hear them even whisper!!! Room has central air-conditioning (although takes a while to cool) and a ceiling fan which is a relief in the heat. The first night was a disaster as the room air-conditioning was not effective at all – I almost switched my stay to Rock ‘n’ Beach next door, which was a good hotel (I checked the rooms myself). However, the persuasion of the manager and the reception staff kept me at the hotel for the night, only to realize that next morning, the A/C plant was fixed, phew!

Bathroom: Quite small, but basic shower and hot water available. Slight leakage issue.

Food: So, breakfast was very ordinary each day, both in terms of quality and variety. This is definitely a major area of improvement for the hotel. However, room service and lunch/dinner options were of decent quality, albeit very spicy! You must give special instructions for less spicy food if your taste buds are not accustomed to the Kerala spices!

Service: Hotel staff very friendly and willing to help, especially after my first night disaster (no A/C in the room).

Overall: Decent location, service, and hotel property. I leave a somewhat happy guest, with a few hiccups during my stay.

Room Tip: The worst thing about this hotel is that all rooms are interconnecting (as primarily a family hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AchiTheTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswagath, General Manager at Swagath Holiday Resorts, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Mr Achintya,

"Greetings from S H R"

Let me thank you for putting a review about our resort. But there are certain points which i need to clarify. First of all, Our resort is not at all located in a hill, it is parallel to the main road. If you are comparing to the sea level, then of course it is located on a little high altitude, that even Leela is same.

Secondly, Our resort has only got 25 rooms and has got absolute wi fi available in all floors. Only thing is the frequency might vary due to the climatic conditions. And we were running 100% full on that day of your arrival otherwise we would have shifted you to some other room bcoz of the AC problem. I would like to point out one thing Mr. Achintya, that technical and mechanical issues are unpredictable, it can happen anytime. This same issue of AC roused up just half an hr back,before you could check in. And our technical guy was on work at the time of your check in and it was rectified in one hr.

Then One more thing Mr. Achintya, When you are pointing about the complaints and the Spread of the Breakfast buffet, you should mention the Discounted tariff which you got for your stay. All the guest needs very much discounted rate for accommodation and needs the finest quality of service and food. All hotels keep the tariff on their expense incurred, and when can't meet the expense after providing the discount, then obviously we need to think on cost controlling. I don't think cutting down the spread of the buffet is that a serious mistake. And our breakfast buffet is one of the best, when compared to all the other hotels of our category. We have a mix of Conti, Indian and South Indian.

Thank you for appreciating about our staff and the resort in general.

We look forward for your stay with us once more, very soon.

Wishing you a great year ahead...........!!!!!!!!

Thanks & Regards


Unnikrishnann V Menon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We were very pleased with this hotel, which offered us a good rate. It is clean, well organised, with smiling and helpful staff. It is up a steep hill from the beach but autorickshaws are always available. This makes it a more peaceful situation and it has a nice garden and clean swimming pool. Our only disappointment was the food, as the vegetarian options were uninspired and the breakfast menu was limited (fruit, juice, omelette and Indian options available). It may not be convenient if you want to spend all your time on the beach, but we enjoyed going down the hill in the evenings to visit the many shops and restaurants. The roof top restaurant was not used when we were there. There is a Visa ATM at the gate.
We can also recommend the Punarjani ayurvedic Centre at the hotel. This is a government approved facility with a doctor available. The staff were very kind and professional with us (2 older British ladies).

Room Tip: You should ask if you want a view of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswagath, General Manager at Swagath Holiday Resorts, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest,

"Greetings from S H R"

We, the management and staff of Swagath whole heartily thank you for the kind words you have opined about our Resort and the rating you have given us. We will surely be trying to get more and more improvements in each area to provide a warm, comfortable stay to all our guest.

Your rating is a high motivation for us.

Thanking you once again and wishing you and your family a great Year Ahead..

Warm Regards,


Unnikrishnann V Menon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Having stayed at about a dozen hotels in the region, this was the most expensive and least satisfactory. It appears to be falsely trading on it's previous status as a Best Western Hotel. Swimming pool was full of green mould, restaurant was unused by majority of guests due to poor quality. Cleanliness of rooms was poor. Location isolated at the top of a steep hill. Wifi in rooms too weak to be of use, and lobby wifi infested with mosquitoes. No tea/coffee tray in room. Soma Palmshore is cheaper and much higher standard.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswagath, General Manager at Swagath Holiday Resorts, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Mr. Albert,

"Greetings from S H R"

Thanks for putting your review. It took us with a surprise that we are too expensive, infact we are the most low priced resort in this region. For your information, We have almost 8 to 10 rooms of Russian guests staying thru charter from last couple of months and all of them have food from our restaurant daily. We guess, it was a mistook at your side.

Our swimming pool is cleaned on a daily basis and 12 hrs filtration is carried out every night without fail. Our wifi connectivity is also proper in rooms as well as in lobby area. May be sometime the frequency would have gone less.

But comparing another resort in the review posted in our account is not justifiable.

Any how , we thank you for your feed back and assure you that we will look into all the areas which you have pointed out.

Have a great year ahead....

Warm Regards,


Unnikrishnann V Menon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kovalam hotels

Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This hotel was a last minute find. Great location if u r not into the beach & the board walk as it is a long, steep hike from the beach. Great service, good rooms. GM is a super guy. Breakfast could be better but served with a smile. Extra beds need to be refurbished.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BLRbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswagath, General Manager at Swagath Holiday Resorts, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Guest,

"Greetings from S H R"

We, the management and staff of Swagath whole heartily thank you for the kind words you have opined about our Resort and the rating you have given us. We assure you that, we will certainly improve in the areas where you felt uncomfortable during your stay.

We will surely be trying to get more and more comfort levels in each area to provide a warm, comfortable stay to all our guest.

Your rating is a high motivation for us and we look forward to have your next stay with us soon.

Thanking you once again and wishing you and your family a great Year Ahead..

Warm Regards,


Unnikrishnann V Menon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.6 mi away
Searock Beach Resort
Searock Beach Resort
#27 of 52 in Kovalam
91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#21 of 52 in Kovalam
215 reviews
0.6 mi away
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Thushara Hotel
Thushara Hotel
#19 of 52 in Kovalam
87 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sea View Palace
Hotel Sea View Palace
#22 of 52 in Kovalam
89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jeevan Beach Resort
Jeevan Beach Resort
#40 of 52 in Kovalam
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swagath Holiday Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swagath Holiday Resorts

Property: Swagath Holiday Resorts
Address: Near Eves Beach, Kovalam 695527, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Swagath Holiday Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine an intimate resort that lets you get away from it all, where you are pampered with only the finest indulgences. Whatever your ideal - a secluded honeymoon, total rejuvenation, a feast of traditional cuisine, incredible entertainment, or simply the lure of our warm Kerala hospitality. Savor nature's beauty at its soothing best... at Kovalam, the internationally acclaimed beach resort on India's exotic south - western coast; the fascinating ‘emerald paradise’ situated very near the capital city of Kerala state. You can have everything here.. dreamy, lazy days, basking in the soothing gentleness of nature, under the shade of swaying palm trees...perhaps a spot of wind surfing, or speedboat racing, or an exhilarating ride on the choppy sea with a traditional fisherman in his catamaran ...even an absolutely relaxing, rejuvenating Ayurvedic massage, using natural herbal oils.... reach out to a never before, total holiday experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Swagath Holiday Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swagath Holiday Hotel Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Swagath Holiday Resorts Kovalam, Kerala
Best Western Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum) Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing