We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury India!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Leela Kovalam Beach
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Luxury India!”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We were upgraded to the Club section after our original bookings made by Summit Safaris, India. It was simply sensational. The room is not huge but wonderful, looking directly over the infinity pool and then the Arabian Sea where you could see the fisherman collecting the fresh seafood which we found on the menu down at the private beach each night. The staff were friendly and helpful, the Club pool was fantastic, the private beach very clean,the laundry quick and inexpensive. It is also only a short walk to the Lighthouse Beach,a more local scene with fabulous seaside restaurants which display their seafood each night and cook it to order. The hotel didn't seem like India - it was luxury plus but such a fabulous 2night stay in a beautiful part of Kerala. Thanks to all.

Room Tip: The Club Rooms are great but even more importantly the Club section is just plain wonderful - privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuppy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,585
    769
    285
    116
    96
See reviews for
886
1,091
85
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (933)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Started off a little disappointing - had to wait at least 30mins to be shown to our rooms (30 mins seems really long after a 4 hour drive!) and then another 40mins sitting in our room without any power waiting for someone to return with a new key - who then gave our key to our family next door!!!
Anyway, i headed off straight to the private beach to cool off in the Arabian sea which was one of the best beach experiences i've ever had! though the water was murky it was clean and the sea was warm!! Our room balcony looked out over the beach/ sea - such fantastic views to wake up to. There was a little buggy shuttle service to and from the beach which was great for my mum as she's not able to walk much.
We dined in the Terrace restaurant every night - the staff were friendly and the service was excellent! the food was a little expensive (about £30 per person from the a la carte menu) but worth it.
Entertainment was provided every evening - I thought the live band were superb - they were the highlight of the evenings.
The hotel decor and ambience was superb!
There were a couple more downsides - firstly, there were loads of mosquitos in the rooms, especially in the bathroom and i came away with dozens of mosquito bites!
The second and MOST disappointing was a separate charge for the wifi!!! Considering how much we paid to stay here for 4 nights, I can't believe the wifi was not FREE! who charges for wifi these days!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the block below the lobby overlooking the sea - fantastic location. There are villa'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rutu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ribblevalley
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This hotel was the perfect ending to a touring holiday of Kerela,five days of luxury.The staff so helpful nothing to much trouble.Food good but also good food and cheaper in Kovalam. Room was lovely with beach view,robes, slippers ,plenty of water everyday, enormous bathroom towels changed virtually every time used .Lovely pool area,all in all no problems .

Room Tip: if you can pay extra for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramblingsyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilaspur, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2014

it is a awesome property in kovalam I LOVE the stay in Leela the room was goood but the View: Ocean and the staff was good and the beach was awesome i stay their for two days but u can stay their for 3 days

Room Tip: Location: The Club
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kedia_gk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iceland
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I was changed to here from the Taj, not really happy with my travel agent but I really cant complain. Mostly I was happy with the stay, our room was lovely, with robes, slippers, loads of space, a private balcony tho not with a great view as we got the garden view, so just the other rooms/villas to look at but still, it was fine. Good points first, we got a wonderful welcome, thank you very much Selma at the front desk, she was wonderful the whole time and i cant thank her enough, also have to say, the rest of the staff we came in contact with were just great, no complaints there at all. The pool area is stunning, wonderful to stay there and watch the sun go down, lovely bar as well below the pool, free yoga classes every day, and the restuarant is very good and even for fussy eaters like us, they made sure we were ok, huge congrats to the staff there, they did a wonderful job. The bad points are that the place is spread out and you need buggies to a lot of it and some of the time we had to wait a long time for them and it makes one feel very dependant on them and i did not like that. I have a child and am not the fittest person around anyway so we needed one since it was all uphill from us and getting to and from the room was a bit of a hassle.I am not used to being dependent on the hotel for my movements. I also was a bit miffed at having to wait for an hour for check in even if I was there long after the check in time. But, since I was in a good mood it did not ruin my day at all. They do charge for wii fii ( my pet peeve at expensive hotels, totally out of order), they really should reconsider that. All in all, we were very happy and I would go again, no doubt. And again, huge praise for all staff, they made our stay. Thank you Leela for a great last few days.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

I've been only to the restaurant, Very Very nice location, hi level of hotel, but restaurant wise the food, compared to the price, is nothing special, poor wine card, the service is the worst part, not competent and not specially nice.. Get a real chef and a waiters manager ASAP!!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sirjoess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Our first encounter with the Leela on this holiday was our pre-arranged transfer from the airport. We arrived on an evening flight and although getting a pre-paid taxi from the airport is easy to arrange, it was well worth the cost to be met by our friendly and efficient million-dollar-smile driver and escorted to our car and whisked off the the hotel.

The Leela's location has to be one of the best in India. Apart from the amazing views, the hotel is far enough away from the maddening crowds and hawkers that plague Kovalam visitors, yet close enough that you can still easily go to one of the dozens of beach restaurants along the main beaches.
We chose a Beach View room because they have very roomy balconies and the views overlook Kovalam Beach. The hallways that lead you to the Beach View rooms are a bit gloomy.

Although the whole area including all beaches are usually referred to as Kovalam, the main tourist beaches are actually Avaduthura, and Lighthouse beach which are to the south of the Leela, Kovalam beach is the smaller beach which includes the hotel beach and lies to the north of the Leela.

If you decided to walk beyond the boundary of the hotel's private beach and into the public beach, do have some consideration for local dress norms. Skimpy clothes that are perfectly acceptable in a hotel are not ok on a public beach - not if you have any respect for the local people.
The hotel beach is a very safe place to swim during the high season months - December through to March but don't expect to be able to swim in the ocean during the monsoon months - it is just too dangerous.

Breakfast included in our room rate and the food was excellent and restaurant service just right.

Room Tip: If you're going for Beach View room, choose a room on a higher level. I noticed the balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Plashmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
0.4 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#5 of 52 in Kovalam
918 reviews
0.6 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#4 of 52 in Kovalam
551 reviews
1.0 mi away
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#23 of 52 in Kovalam
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Kovalam Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Kovalam Beach

Property: The Leela Kovalam Beach
Address: Kovalam Beach Road, Kovalam 695527, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kovalam
#3 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kovalam
#4 Family Hotel in Kovalam
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Kovalam Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leela Raviz Kovalam - Indulgence is an art you will perfect at The Leela Raviz Kovalam while staying in any of our 183 rooms and suites. With a seamless blend of modern technology and traditional grandeur, the soothing décor of each room whispers warm aesthetics. Each room opens out to a breath-taking view of either the ocean or garden. All rooms are provided with luxury amenities to cater to discerning tastes. Unwind with exquisite facilities like an HD LCD television and a broadband connection for hi-speed internet. The Club rooms offer valet services, a gourmet corner with a fine selection of spirits, softdrinks and snacks and have luxurious bathrooms with a walk-in shower and a private infinity pool. Awake to auburn sunrises in the horizon or soak in the sun under azure skies at the infinity pools. Get a taste of the vacation of your dreams at The Leela Raviz Kovalam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Leela Kovalam Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Kovalam Beach Hotel Kovalam
The Leela Kempinski Hotel Kovalam
Hotel Leela Trivandrum
The Leela Kovalam Beach Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing