We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“endless oceans view and a relaxing place ( Truely Amazing)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Leela Kovalam Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Leela Kovalam Beach
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Kovalam
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“endless oceans view and a relaxing place ( Truely Amazing)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

The hotel is located at a cliff top and has a breath taking view of the ocean, the Hotel also has their own private beach. I would recommend the ocean view room as it has an amazing view and is close to the restaurant and swimming pool. The swimming pool is located close to the restaurant and has an amazing view. The buffet has a good spread of veg and non veg meals. The drinks and food is expensive so i recommend that one should take a package which includes the buffet meals. Kids will love the place , lots that they can do. The staff is excellent , very warm and friendly. The house keeping staff is attentive and they themselves check with you every evening if you require anything. Heaven on earth would be my submission.

Room Tip: Go for an ocean view room. Carry your drinks as alchol is expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rakshakmalhotra05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words.

As an organization the Leela Palaces, Hotels & Resorts aims to delight and dazzle our guests and send them back with wonderful memories and we are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay.

We look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again.

Warm Regards,
N.C. Somaiah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,504
    737
    271
    112
    91
See reviews for
838
1,052
80
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (899)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
TravelPrix
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed at The Club room with ocean view.There is the sound of the waves and you can see boats from a distance.

Room service is amazing.I think every time we went out they attended to our rooms sometimes thrice in a day .Since we were coming and going to the pool or beach that was just great ! All the towels ,toiletries ,food and water were always stocked. I personally did not like the quality of toiletries provided so I would recommend using your own conditioners and shampoos .

The best thing to do is to lounge around the Infinity Pools or the Beach restaurant.We were looking to unwind so it was definitely a great place as there is plenty happening in the hotel to keep you interested.

There is a very high tax on alcohol in Kerala! But I think they have factored it in the menu prices.The bill does get a little confusing but be aware of it.

Used the gym everyday.It is state of the art. I absolutely loved doing my workouts there !
WiFi is paid which is a disappointment in this day and age.I have never understood why hotel can't provide this for free when smaller hotels can .

The property is huge but they provide you caddy to go wherever you want to.

Evenings they have cultural performances and food festivals going on at both the terrace and the beach.

What was truly fantastic was the service of staff at the Terrace Restaurant.Extremely friendly and very attentive .

The hotel needs to tightly regulate the type of people coming from outside to Skybar .I had an incident but the hotel staff handled it promptly when I told them.

Breakfast buffet and food definitely needs a lot of improvement .It is good but not as per the standard of this hotel or the prices.

There is a beautiful spa there with meditation room.I did not use them but it was booked out most of the time I went there !


I highly recommend it for couples and for anyone looking forward to relax !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelPrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words. We are happy to know that you had a memorable stay.

We have made a note of your feedback in all seriousness and endeavor to improve on them.
I want to sincerely thank you for affording us the opportunity to learn of this situation and it is sometimes through feedbacks like these, that an organization only grows stronger.

We look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again.

Warm Regards,

N.C. Somaiah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed in the property for 2 days. Property is very beautiful with the most courteous staff. Property constructed on a cliff, making it one of its kind. It has a private beach, which is highly maintained. Leela has helped me and my friends to enjoy our kovalam experience at its best .

Room Tip: Beach view room is the most suitable having a balcony facing the beach giving best of view yet pocke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maaza Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable feedback on your recent stay with us.
We were really happy to hear that you have enjoyed staying with us.

It was a pleasure looking after you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Warm regards,

N.C. Somaiah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Leela Hotel at Kovalam is located on a cliff top right next to the beach,overlooking the Arabian sea.The hotel was that it was immaculately maintained and the service staff was very attentive to our needs and we needed a lot of extra towels,glasses,toiletries and the list goes on,as we were travelling with kids.What we loved most about the property was the view from any part of the property was breathtaking.The property is huge and there are chauffeur driven buggies to take you to and froth,but we preferred to walk as the walk was laden with beautiful views and serenity.Our accommodation was in Superior sea view villa.The doors to which used to open into the view of the sea.It had a step down bath tub(which my kids absolutely loved) and an open shower area.Also our porch had two garden chairs and a table ,giving us a beautiful sit out option.My only hitch was that the room was a bit small for a family of four and if we kept the doors open ,people walking by could easily peek into our room without even trying to pry,as the bed faces the door.The property has two pools ,an area dedicated to kids(with all books,toys,games) and a state-of-the-art spa.When we booked the room,they gave us an all inclusive package with meals,and at 12k per night(including taxes)It was reasonably priced.If you are staying in the club rooms ,you have access to the best views,services and a private infinity pool and deck.This is an option I would definitely consider the next time we stay with them.

Room Tip: You should definitely choose a sea facing room and if you get one on the ground floor ,you will get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prernasinha2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable feedback on your recent stay with us.
We were really happy to hear that you have enjoyed staying with us.

It was a pleasure looking after you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

N.C. Somaiah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We weren't sure where to stay in Kovalam but through reviews decided on the Leela. We had booked a standard room at the hotel and were shown to our room. It was very nice with a large bathroom and a big balcony but it didn't have the privacy we were looking for. We asked the front desk agent if there was any availability at the Leela Club and if we could pay to upgrade. Fortunately the Club had a great room for us and we shifted. It was the best decision we made. The Club felt like a boutique hotel with an exclusive infinity pool and sun deck...but you still have access to all of the main resort amenities.

The property has two spas one traditional with ayurvedic treatments (and a yoga deck) and one modern spa. I loved the traditional spa and booked the 90 minute combination treatment of Abhyanga Snana with Shriodhara (full body massage with medicated oils streaming onto your forehead and onto your scalp while you get the massage). To be honest the modern spa, while lovely looking, didn't offer the same level of massage as the traditional but I guess it really depends upon what you like?

Hardly left the property but if you want to walk to the local beach it is possible. You can also take a quick tuk tuk ride which I would suggest. We had some shirts made at a little tailor shop just to the left of the Germany Bakery. Very cool as you got to select your own fabrics. We actually had shirts made at two tailor shops and they were both excellent.

Dining choices at the Leela isn't just the buffet. Yes, they have a great breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet at their main restaurant (although a little repetitive). That said, we enjoyed lunch and dinner at the Club restaurant. The resort also offers a seafood grill on the beach. My favorite meal of the stay was an absolutely delicious dish of a poached white fish served with light noodles in a simple broth. With the wine, sunny weather, and the view over the ocean it had a bit of a Mediterranean feel. (Note this lunch was the first meal of our whole trip where we didn't eat Indian.)

My only reason for the four star rating is that they butler staff at the Club was a bit off when it came to delivering top service. Too many inconsistencies most of which I feel were communication related. We also ordered room service one morning and when it arrived many breakfast items were missing. It would have been easier simply going to the buffet which I think most guests do.

Overall a great experience and I would certainly return to stay in the Club.

Room Tip: Rooms are large, but we enjoyed the quietness of rooms in The Club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DRMBinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for acknowledging so many positive elements of your stay in such a detailed way, as it is from your feedback that we will be able to uphold our commitment to excellence. I am sure that a lot of travelers will benefit from your review.

We look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again.

Warm regards,

N.C. Somaiah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

The views were awesome. Service quiet friendly and responsive. Professional drivers and airport transfers. Delicious food with a choice of cafe and restaurants all with ocean views. One of the finest in the area and best for value. Would pay over $500 per night in US for such amenities.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TeshN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with The Leela Kovalam and for sharing your appreciation with us.

We are delighted to read that you had an overall pleasant stay with us and particularly value our hotel.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we look forward to welcoming you again soon to the The Leela Kovalam.

Warm regards,
N.C. Somaiah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

The room and staff were very good. The hospitality was excellent. Staff members were not malayalis and did not know the local info. The only complaint is that the breakfast variety is not as broad as some of the other hotels that we stayed. Overall, it is a great place to stay and would recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank pitchmonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable feedback on your recent stay with us.

We were really happy to hear that you have enjoyed staying with us. We have noted your comments about breakfast variety - I will definitely take this up with our Food & Beverage Manager/ Executive Chef.

It was a pleasure looking after you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

N.C. Somaiah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
0.4 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#5 of 51 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.6 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#6 of 51 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
1.0 mi away
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Sagara Beach Resort
Sagara Beach Resort
#12 of 51 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Kovalam Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Kovalam Beach

Property: The Leela Kovalam Beach
Address: Kovalam Beach Road, Kovalam 695527, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kovalam
#3 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kovalam
#4 Family Hotel in Kovalam
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Kovalam Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leela Raviz Kovalam - Indulgence is an art you will perfect at The Leela Raviz Kovalam while staying in any of our 183 rooms and suites. With a seamless blend of modern technology and traditional grandeur, the soothing décor of each room whispers warm aesthetics. Each room opens out to a breath-taking view of either the ocean or garden. All rooms are provided with luxury amenities to cater to discerning tastes. Unwind with exquisite facilities like an HD LCD television and a broadband connection for hi-speed internet. The Club rooms offer valet services, a gourmet corner with a fine selection of spirits, softdrinks and snacks and have luxurious bathrooms with a walk-in shower and a private infinity pool. Awake to auburn sunrises in the horizon or soak in the sun under azure skies at the infinity pools. Get a taste of the vacation of your dreams at The Leela Raviz Kovalam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your The Leela Kovalam Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Kovalam Beach Hotel Kovalam
The Leela Kempinski Hotel Kovalam
Hotel Leela Trivandrum
The Leela Kovalam Beach Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing