We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, awesome people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vedanta Wake Up! Kovalam
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay, awesome people”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Vedanta was my favourite stay in India, I actually prolonged it twice there. A convenient short walk to the beach, not too close or far from the road, the best price I've had all over India for an air conditioned and clean dorm. However, what makes a place truly great is the staff and how welcome you feel! And welcome i felt thanks to Sameer and Andi who helped me with organising my trips or just wasted time with me when I had nothing to do and kept me entertained 24/7.
They knew what to do in the surroundings andhelped me get discounts everywhere and their company alone made kovalam my favourite stop in india
Ben

Room Tip: say you saw a cheap price on hostelworld
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenT-Ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    30
    15
    4
    12
See reviews for
25
20
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We good a nice stay in Kovalam at Vedanta. The staff was very helpful, a special thank you to Sameer who helped us out at the trainstation, without you we would have been totally lost! He also helped us getting a room at Vedanta in Varkala when we arrived there.
Forever grateful to you Sameer!

Vedanta is well worth staying at!
Clean, good beds, friendly staff and good locations!

We'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schodin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Vedanta is the best hostel we stayed in India. The rooms are immaculate, modern and allow you to adjust the air conditioning to your liking. The toilets are western, are stocked with toilet paper, and the bathroom even has a bathtub!

The men working the front desk were also very nice and accommodating. This was clear throughout our stay but especially evident when I was injured in a surfing accident and was sent to the hospital. When we spoke with the manager over the phone, he offered to come meet us - we refused the offer but later learned that he called the hospital multiple times to check in on us. Not many people (and especially hostels) would care enough to do this but I think it demonstrates the type of people who work at Vedanta.

The location is also great but a little difficult to find. There are no roads leading to the hotel, so you have to walk a minute to get to it but this also means there are no beeping horns or lunatic drivers. It is a very short walk to the beach/restaurants (1-2min).

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ckj813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed here for 7 days and the rooms were spacious, clean, well maintained and staff very friendly & helpful. Walking distance to the beach.Hotel is located in a quiet area, rooms overlooking paddy fields and palm trees. Anil Kumar was very helpful and informative and made our stay wonderful.Thanks Anil !! we will be definitely back

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

If, like us you have never had a back pack strapped to your back, don’t let their marketing slogan –‘ finest back packing hostel’ put your off – this is a great hotel to stay in. The room was large and clean, the bed comfortable, the air-con and fan efficient and silent. Our bathroom was a good size, plenty of hot water and we even had a bath as well as a separate shower – a real treat. Breakfast was the usual, eggs, juice ect but well cooked and served with a smile – the staff are friendly, helpful and speak good English. The hotel is just a five minute walk from the beach and restaurants – plenty of them to choose from.
Upon arrival you do not have to hike along the beach front (we had to as our driver dumped us at the beach) there is a back route but you do have to walk a short distance along a pathway through a ‘flat green area’, vehicles cannot get direct access to the hotel – there are plenty of people willing to help and carry your bag.
Wi-fi is available in reception and the breakfast room. It was efficient.
We enjoyed our eight nights at the Vedanta Wake Up and would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

We brought a group of very well behaved children here in February for a holiday. I can't tell you how wonderful the staff are here. The manager is so sweet and kind and Laurie, well where do you find such a character? How helpful, how loving and nothing too much trouble. There is no vehicular access to Lighthouse beach and everything has to come down a footpath where you find the Vedanta. It's only about another 200 metres from there to the beach but that distance means you are not troubled by noise at night and can enjoy the wildlife of the coconut groves. Filled with egrets, kingfishers and many species of eagles. And surprisingly few mosquitoes.

The rooms are spacious, clean and have a/c, fans and TVs. Plenty of water and lovely balconies. The beach is two minutes away and very beautiful. But watch that ocean there are powerful rip tides.

The hotel organised outside caterers for us for breakfast, lunch and dinner and helped organise outings. Nothing was too much trouble. In fact they sent their CEO down from Mumbai to make sure everything went well for us. Very impressive. The children had the time of their life and I hope we can bring them back again next year.

Thank you so much Vedanta for making this trip so beautiful for all of us.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank orange108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I stayed here for 10 days and the staff could not be more friendlier or helpful. The spacious rooms (all with a balcony) were clean and cleaned whenever you needed it. It is 3 minutes from the beach. Quiet, overlooking paddy fields and palm trees. Breakfast was amazing esp. the Indian dishes. If something did not work, the staff attended to it immediately. They also arranged for me to stay at their Varkala property which was wonderful too - with great helpful staff. The internet is only available in the lobby area and sometimes if you have a room on the first floor close to the router. Loved my stay here and recommend it highly! This is what budget accommodation should be! Wish someone would take this model and duplicate it all over India .

Room Tip: Room 101 is one of the only rooms that has WiFi sometimes. Stayed in two rooms - both clean, spaciou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torontosouza44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.1 mi away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#22 of 52 in Kovalam
212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sagara Beach Resort
Sagara Beach Resort
#14 of 52 in Kovalam
550 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#4 of 52 in Kovalam
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sea View Palace
Hotel Sea View Palace
#23 of 52 in Kovalam
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vedanta Wake Up! Kovalam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vedanta Wake Up! Kovalam

Property: Vedanta Wake Up! Kovalam
Address: Temple Road | Near Avaduthura Devi Temple, Hawa Beach, Kovalam 695521, India (Formerly Vedanta Wake up! by Lighthouse Beach, Kovalam)
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Vedanta Wake Up! Kovalam 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vedanta, the highest state of consciousness and self realization can be achieved only while traveling.Vedanta Wake up! India’s finest chain of backpacking hostels, was conceived to address the primary concerns of backpackers and budget travelers.Vedanta Wake up! by Lighthouse Beach, Kovalam is located less than a minute’s walk to Lighthouse Beach. The hostel is walking distance to all shops, restaurants and bars in Kovalam.Our rooms are designed keeping comfort and cleanliness in mind. We offer shared rooms with ensuite bathrooms as well as superior private rooms. At Vedanta Wake up!, we offer you an environment to meet fellow travelers in our lounges which are fully equipped with computers, free Wi-Fi, television sets, DVD players, movies, book exchange libraries, guitars, board games, maps and eateries. We encourage our guests to socialize and get to know each other through local bar crawls, sight-seeing trips, dinner outings, movie nights, karaoke nights and other fun activities almost every night (and there’s no curfew!)We provide assistance in arranging local tours and visits to nearby tourist attractions so that our guests can soak in the sights and sounds and have a memorable holiday experience. We also organize classes such as cooking, yoga, Indian classical music and ayurvedic spa treatments. You can check in any time of the day. Our young and energetic team will provide you with every comfort possible to make your stay fun and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Vedanta Wake Up! Kovalam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vedanta Wake Up! Kovalam Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing