We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vedanta Wake Up! Kovalam
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic place!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

One of the best places I've stayed in so far. Very clean neat and close to the beach. Very friendly staff and an awesome value for money. Clean toilets, wifi and little garden to sit around. Tip-Book in advance for availability. Highly recommended for a backpacking trip.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sunil V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    30
    15
    4
    12
See reviews for
25
20
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Vedanta Wakeup provided a very nice experience. The rooms are very clean. Staff are very friendly. Most importantly they have a WiFi zone. But you have to be there at the lounge area to access WiFi. Since it is surrounded by lot of coconut trees and other vegetation, lots of bugs are there when you are in the lounge area. Mosquito repellent is a must. Every evening they arrange meetings with fellow residents. Terrace is spell bounding with good views to the sea. I liked the Vedanta idea.

Room Tip: Avoid opening the sit-out windows during night. Lot of bugs will come in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SridharanRaghavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

I love the vedanta idea - hotels/hostels for backpackers. I loved the atmosphere. They really arrange oppurtunites to meet other travellers. Unfortunatley we visited at low season so there weren't many other guest but at peak season it must be amazing! The staff we're really helpful and nice, they arranged activities and booked taxis. They even cooked for us in the pitch black evening when there was no power! They don't have proper foods but good enough snacks like grilled sandwiches and fries. It's really quiet, our room was huge with comfortable beds and a nice balcony. It's located close to the beach but you still have to walk for a bit which can be hard with large bags. The way there also got very dark at night and felt a bit scary so we stayed inside after dark.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank paperflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The hotel is nice and clean we stayed in an Air con room it has hot water between certain times of day and cable tv. The beds are quite comfortable and also had a balcony nice to watch the sun rise.
The hotel itself is rather nice and we had a look around the rest of the town and saw what the other hotels are like and although a couple of them have swimming pools I would say that would be the only good difference.
The wifi only works in the reception area.
The location is good, about 5 mins from the beach/shops/restaurants. I wouldn't come back here however as the beach is awful, there is litter everywhere and we are yet to find somewhere half decent to eat.
One member of staff got a bit funny about the price of the room- he said we could have it for 1300 rupees per room but then said the first night we stayed we had to pay 1500 rupees, this annoyed me not because of the amount of money but just the principle, it seemed very petty...
Also there is a mosque or something down the road that constantly plays music/has people singing, it will start very early in the morning and sometimes wake you up in the night. Its ok if you have the TV volume turned right up.

Room Tip: 201 and 202 were very spacious- 201 has a bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sbhl4090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Vedanta was my favourite stay in India, I actually prolonged it twice there. A convenient short walk to the beach, not too close or far from the road, the best price I've had all over India for an air conditioned and clean dorm. However, what makes a place truly great is the staff and how welcome you feel! And welcome i felt thanks to Sameer and Andi who helped me with organising my trips or just wasted time with me when I had nothing to do and kept me entertained 24/7.
They knew what to do in the surroundings andhelped me get discounts everywhere and their company alone made kovalam my favourite stop in india
Ben

Room Tip: say you saw a cheap price on hostelworld
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenT-Ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We good a nice stay in Kovalam at Vedanta. The staff was very helpful, a special thank you to Sameer who helped us out at the trainstation, without you we would have been totally lost! He also helped us getting a room at Vedanta in Varkala when we arrived there.
Forever grateful to you Sameer!

Vedanta is well worth staying at!
Clean, good beds, friendly staff and good locations!

We'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schodin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Vedanta is the best hostel we stayed in India. The rooms are immaculate, modern and allow you to adjust the air conditioning to your liking. The toilets are western, are stocked with toilet paper, and the bathroom even has a bathtub!

The men working the front desk were also very nice and accommodating. This was clear throughout our stay but especially evident when I was injured in a surfing accident and was sent to the hospital. When we spoke with the manager over the phone, he offered to come meet us - we refused the offer but later learned that he called the hospital multiple times to check in on us. Not many people (and especially hostels) would care enough to do this but I think it demonstrates the type of people who work at Vedanta.

The location is also great but a little difficult to find. There are no roads leading to the hotel, so you have to walk a minute to get to it but this also means there are no beeping horns or lunatic drivers. It is a very short walk to the beach/restaurants (1-2min).

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ckj813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.9 mi away
Park International Kovalam
Park International Kovalam
#35 of 52 in Kovalam
47 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sagara Beach Resort
Sagara Beach Resort
#13 of 52 in Kovalam
554 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sea View Palace
Hotel Sea View Palace
#22 of 52 in Kovalam
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#21 of 52 in Kovalam
215 reviews
0.5 mi away
Thushara Hotel
Thushara Hotel
#19 of 52 in Kovalam
87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Beach Florra Inn
Hotel Beach Florra Inn
#10 of 85 in Kovalam
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vedanta Wake Up! Kovalam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vedanta Wake Up! Kovalam

Property: Vedanta Wake Up! Kovalam
Address: Temple Road | Near Avaduthura Devi Temple, Hawa Beach, Kovalam 695521, India (Formerly Vedanta Wake up! by Lighthouse Beach, Kovalam)
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 50 Speciality Lodging in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Vedanta Wake Up! Kovalam 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vedanta, the highest state of consciousness and self realization can be achieved only while traveling.Vedanta Wake up! India’s finest chain of backpacking hostels, was conceived to address the primary concerns of backpackers and budget travelers.Vedanta Wake up! by Lighthouse Beach, Kovalam is located less than a minute’s walk to Lighthouse Beach. The hostel is walking distance to all shops, restaurants and bars in Kovalam.Our rooms are designed keeping comfort and cleanliness in mind. We offer shared rooms with ensuite bathrooms as well as superior private rooms. At Vedanta Wake up!, we offer you an environment to meet fellow travelers in our lounges which are fully equipped with computers, free Wi-Fi, television sets, DVD players, movies, book exchange libraries, guitars, board games, maps and eateries. We encourage our guests to socialize and get to know each other through local bar crawls, sight-seeing trips, dinner outings, movie nights, karaoke nights and other fun activities almost every night (and there’s no curfew!)We provide assistance in arranging local tours and visits to nearby tourist attractions so that our guests can soak in the sights and sounds and have a memorable holiday experience. We also organize classes such as cooking, yoga, Indian classical music and ayurvedic spa treatments. You can check in any time of the day. Our young and energetic team will provide you with every comfort possible to make your stay fun and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Vedanta Wake Up! Kovalam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vedanta Wake Up! Kovalam Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing