We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bethsaida Hermitage
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights, We were welcomed warmly on arrival. The property is having good ayurveda too, Nice food. The location was excellent with a private beach. Good Service really a perfect holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anurajsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

The Bethsaida Hermitage resort is in Kovalam which is about 45 minutes from Trivandum. It is a gorgeous place that is about 20 years old with 90 rooms and bungalows where we stayed for two nights. The staff couldn't have been better. There are teak furnishings in the rooms and tile floors. The bungalows are rather sparse inside, but they are clean, air conditioned and have refrigerators that provides you with water. But it doesn't matter, because the Arabian Sea with sand beach is outside with lush gardens everywhere and sofas to lounge on outside the rooms which are nicely separated from each other. The focus of the resort is on Ayurveda treatments, diet, massage, etc and many of the people at the resort art there for two weeks or more. There are two dining rooms. One serves only Ayurveda diets. Since this was not our focus, we chose the other restaurant. Tables were set up outside on the lawn overlooking the beach and ocean and was very pleasant in the cool evening. Food was so-so, but the service was professional and convivial. We had a good sleep and enjoyed the breakfast in the morning. We enjoyed the surroundings so much that we ate dinner at the resort the next night while being entertained with a mediocre dance performance in a lovely setting. We found out that the hotel is connected with a Carmalite Mission and contributes money from the resort to support an orphanage for boys that adjoins the hotel grounds. That in itself would be a good reason for staying at this resort.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KUFBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

... the Bethsaida Hermitage is not only outstanding in every respect but is also a charitable institution which supports an orphanage. It is not in Kovalam, actually a few miles south, though none the worse for that, and there are rickshaws on call to whisk you there for a pittance if you really must; or anywhere else for that matter.

The resort is a health retreat as well as a hotel. We were not there for the treatments, diets nor the detoxification, but were so relaxed in the exclusive surroundings it was unbelievable. No booze sort of makes detox compulsory, but though spiritually Christian - religion is not.

We did not go for all inclusive and were glad we didn't, because whilst you have the choice of that principally vegetarian buffet, the a la carte option is fabulous, carnivorous, and not too pricey.

The place has it's own excellent private beach, though being aware of the rip currents all along that coast we still had the choice of two pools.

Most of the accommodation is traditional Keralan architecture and very comfortable - choose air conditioning if you're going mid -February to September 1st. The grounds are green, pleasant and perfectly tended.

The service is the best I have found anywhere .. nothing is too much trouble and they find ways of exceeding even that.

All round the perfect get away. There are cheaper places, but I know of none that put their profit to such good use. It is well worth the extra.

Room Tip: Go air conditioned for the best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nofinfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This resort is on poovar road, basically a Ayurveda resort for foreigners. rarely you will find any Indian their, rooms are very big...with big store rooms and big bathrooms. if your are staying thing this hotel then should stay their only as its a hotel to relax and rejuvenate ur self. take Ayurveda therapies also. please note that being and Ayurveda resort you will get Ayurveda food only. room service is not available, only in emergency case its provided.
Resort have a private beach so you can enjoy the sea also but waves are bit strong then other beaches. will not suggest kovalam beaches like light house etc. as they are too crowded. you can just go to kovalam beaches to see. they have 2 swimming pool also. overall i really like this resort the most, one of the best properties i have seen with natural beauty.

Room Tip: first floor rooms are best as you gets garden and swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RajendraTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

We booked an a/c seaview room (new wing) months ago. Intended to stay from 3/5 to 13/5. Was given a ground floor old wing room on first night and promised new wing room from 6/5 onwards. Had a petrifying first night - huge cockcroaches were crawling all over the wash basins and power outage left me in pitch darkness in the shower for a good 5 mins. Second day - changed to a third floor room (old wing). Air conditioning broke down and so had to spend the night in another room. Despite the bad start, we decided to stay because we love the polite and friendly staff as well as the stunning view from the room and sprawling grounds. We also like the yoga lessons and yoga hall. However, the first frequent power outages (at least 10 times a day) is way too annoying and inconvenient for us. So we decided to check out on 5/5. We will not recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dorothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Duration of a week at this place was a very pleasant experience and we did not know how quickly the time passed, wish could stay even longer.

Suggestion: need to improve in menu preparation and buffet spread.

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Took our request during check in time even it was not placed during reservation. Thankful to the staff.



Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank harinathpulluru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

A fabulous setting on top of a small cliff looking along the coast, with access to a beautiful beach, and two swimming pools. A very peaceful place to stay as most people are on ayurvedic treatments (which we were not) and go to bed early. Staff are very friendly. Breakfast buffet was excellent value, and good choice of a la carte in the evening if you don't want the vegetarian buffet. No alcohol but you can bring your own from outside (there is a bottle shop in nearby Kovalam - a taxi ride away), to drink discreetly at your room. Staff are happy to store beers in their fridge to keep cold. There is a 5-star resort next door who are happy to host you for dinner if you email in advance, to make a change of scenery, or Kovalam is also good for evening meals and drinks at sunset. Yoga, meditation, massages, facials etc are available, all of which we tried and enjoyed.
If there was a downside it was probably the miserable Russians who made up about half of the clientele - they were quiet and no trouble really, but seemed unable to smile, cope with the idea of queuing at the buffet, or use only the sunbeds that they needed. But their antics, including blatant rudeness to each other, at least made for some entertaining stories! Also it was a little too warm for comfort at night, but it's the tropics so to be expected.
The Bethsaida clifftop setting is just perfect and this is why we chose it from the photos. It was as good as expected, if not better. We also met the manager on the last day and he very kindly offered for us to have his driver show us the sights Trivandrum before we went home.
Outstanding, and I'd love to return which I normally would not say!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHUK2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
3.4 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
3.0 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#4 of 52 in Kovalam
988 reviews
3.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Abad Harmonia
Abad Harmonia
#8 of 52 in Kovalam
351 reviews
2.8 mi away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#21 of 52 in Kovalam
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bethsaida Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethsaida Hermitage

Address: | Pulinkudi, Mulloor. P.O, Kovalam 695521, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kovalam
#3 Family Hotel in Kovalam
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
#6 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range: £53 - £424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bethsaida Hermitage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ayurveda Resort. 5 Residential Doctors 24 x 7, 25 Treatment rooms, 105 guest rooms, Private beach, 2 ocean view restaurants, 2 swimming pools, shop, theater, spa, gym, etc ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bethsaida Hermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bethsaida Hermitage Hotel Kovalam
Bethsaida Hermitage Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing