We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra
Nearby Hotels
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abad Harmonia(Kovalam)
US$51
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$48
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$52
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$45
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$66
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$22
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Leela Kovalam Beach(Kovalam)
US$159
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,196)
Filter reviews
1,196 results
Traveller rating
919
190
43
23
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
919
190
43
23
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschef prakashrock gardenheritage premiumoctagon roommosque viewprivate beachthe banyan treeoutdoor showerinfinity poolfour poster bedspa treatmentsthe cottagesheaven on earthoverlooking the seaexcellent spamosquito netsound of the waves
Filter
Updating list...
1,032 - 1,037 of 1,196 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2012

My wife and I stayed here for ten days in total and we loved it! I have travelled extensively around the world for business and personal travel and I really thought that no place could really impress me anymore, but when we arrived at Surya Samudra I was immediately enchanted by the beauty of this place, its serenity, and tranquility. This is a place where you can really relax and enjoy the company of your partner in the most beautiful surroundings I can imagine. This is not a place where screaming toddlers and last-minute bargain hunters will bother you. The spa is outstanding both regarding the beauty of the space as well as the quality of the treatment. This is place is not cheap but worth every penny. In fact, our original plan was to stay only for five day but we ended up coming back and stayed for another five days. We also checked out surrounding resorts as well as very nice places in other cities but Surya Samudra will definitely be the place I will keep coming back to. Thanks again to the entire staff for making this vacation a memory of a lifetime!

Room Tip: We had different rooms and all of them were very beautiful.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank msb1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

The owner has done a superlative job in recreating the ambience of a Kerala village experience. Recreated villas with authentic furniture, private sitout, village style bathing area vehind living quarters, menu full of authentic dishes and a fabulous in house spa. All combined with thoughtful service. Waking up to the noise of the breaking waves was quite an experience. While I understood the periodic appearances of insects and disappearance of electricity, not all visitors may like it. Similarly teenage children expecting activities other than the spa or leisurely walks in the beautiful landscaped area may find themselves at wits end. I am looking forward to bringing my family back.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travel_Buff_Asia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

If you don't mind being a 20 minute tuk tuk ride from town and want somewhere beautiful this is the place to stay. We wanted to stay in the Octagon Room so prepaid top price (there is only 1 Octagon room). As another contributor wrote, this was the only place in India that actually took prepayment. We can't comment on other rooms. Ours was stunning and the views were breathtaking but there was room for improvement. The wooden floor needed attention, the terrace should be tiled and have more comfortable chairs and a table. The bathroom needed updating and general maintenance. We were expecting top class accommodation for top class Indian prices. Saying that, overall we were happy with the room. Our arrival could have been better. No cold towels after a 5 hour drive and no fruit in the room. Just little things but they all go towards making a guest feel welcome. We did get 1 plantain on our first night and 1 tangerine the second night. That was so mean it would have been better to leave nothing! The food was good and no more expensive than other similar properties, All the staff were friendly. But...this should be an outstanding place as the setting is so spectacular and the pool is amazing. It is let down by all the little things. The resort was constructing new units near the entrance. We could not understand why they were expanding instead of getting what they already had right! Despite all the little niggles we are glad we stayed here.

Room Tip: Octagon room
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GMFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We were looking for an amazing boutique hotel to end our holiday in Kovalam, and when we stumbled across Surya Sumudra, we thought it would be perfect. We could not have been more mistaken and I can say in all our years of traveling, it is the single most appauling experience we have ever had with a hotel.
To start with, you pay more than an average 5* hotel and they ask for full payment in advance - the only such hotel we cam across in our trip to India. Although we booked well in advance, we were not offered any discount. Fine, until I found deals on Expedia a month before our stay offering the same rooms at a 30% discount. After much to-ing and fro-ing the hotel agreed to honour this lower price.
We had booked a heritage classic which we were told would have sea views and 5* quality. Instead we arrived to a room which overlooked someone's laundry on one side and an 8ft ditch on the other. The room itself was dark, and narrow - nothing like the pictures showed. On compaining, we were offered an upgarde to a room for 4000INR per night - taking the total cost of the room to a whopping 20000INR per night - completely unacceptable, and absolutely not worth it given the quality of the property. The attitude of staff and particularly Gireesh was horrific and as a result we demanded a refund on our full payment. We were told this was impossible and it was only after a 30 minute battle that they finally agreed.

The hotel is also in the middle of nowhere, so you will be stuck eating at the hotel at the most extortionate prices, even by european standards let alone indian ones

6 weeks later, we still have not recieved the refund. Gireesh, the hotel manager, has not replied to our emails as to what is happening and we've consequently had to raise a dispute with our bank in the UK

I would never reccomend this hotel to anyone - it was truly a stressful and awful experience, which had the potential to ruin the end of our holiday. Luckily it didn't - we moved to the Leela, and had a spectacular time. Go there instead

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
15  Thank amynmalachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We spent our last night in Kerala here before flying to the Maldives. The first impression was fabulous! The hotel and its gardens overall are very well presented and pretty. The swimming pool with its view on to the sea is amazing and the private beach absolutely gorgeous. Everything that was immediately visible was well cared for and lovely. A real feast for the eyes! As we arrived late in the afternoon and were leaving early the next morning, we had booked a standard room rather than a deluxe room and this is where we were a little disappointed. The room in itself was very well appointed and pretty with a comfortable bed, good linen and a very nice bathroom with an outdoor shower. On closer inspection, however, a lack of attention to detail became apparent: part of the curtain was hanging off it's railings, the mini bar fridge was rusty and grubby looking, the drawers in the bathroom vanity unit would not close and hung open and saddest of all, the little garden/terrace area looked badly neglected and unkempt. At the price level of the accommodation, I found this quite unacceptable and a terrible shame that it was so needlessly lacking in TLC. Staff in general were pleasant and polite but did not give the impression of going 'the extra mile' that you would expect in an establishment such as this, the exception being the pool man who really went out of his way to make us comfortable. The brasserie style restaurant served us a perfectly nice Thali but again gave an overall impression of not caring too much and lacked authenticity and ambience, despite it's amazing view. This hotel has such enormous potential and in principle everything is in place to make it an exceptional experience for the visitor but I rather got the impression that perhaps it was run by absentee management or that maybe it was feeling a financial pinch and was therefore cutting corners. On account of all the good things it has going for it, I have found it quite difficult to rate. It has all the components for excellence but there were some distinctly average elements to our experience of it. I hope the Management take note.

Room Tip: Don't choose Room 4!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews