We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A resort with an almost private beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Kovalam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This resort is located 8kms south of Kovalam and is probably one of the few resorts which offer a private beach experience in Kovalam. My wife had booked a Heritage Premium room, which was a luxurious and set in a traditional Kerala wooden houses. Our room enjoyed panoramic views of the sea and had a sit out with planter's chairs from where we drank in the views of the sea.
One of the highlights of our stay was the spa. They offer traditional Ayurvedic therapies as well as international therapies. Even the restaurant - Cafe Samsara takes care of your wellness diet, which can be congruent to the therapies you opt for! The chef at Cafe Samsara, Chef Prakash is really good and interacts with guests, which felt really nice. The restaurant is located at the edge of the cliff and hence offers splendid views.
The resort also has an infinity pool, again overlooking the sea. We also enjoyed the private beach, which needs a little effort climbing down, but was worth it. The beach is skirted by rocky outcrops and palm groves which actually make it quite private. One of the most unique thing I found here was the yoga pavilion at the edge of the cliff. One can opt for yoga lessons, but I was just happy to meditate on the pavilion with the sound of waves splashing on the rocks below me.
The service is absolutely wonderful and the staff is warm and very friendly

Room Tip: The rooms, restaurant and spa are scattered and built on uneven landscape, thus may not be suitable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheTravElite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rejeeshkumar, General Manager at Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Namaskaram from Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra, Kovalam!!!

We thank you for your excellent feedback on your stay with us in December. We are glad that Team Niraamaya could provide you a wonderful experience during your stay.

We are absolutely overwhelmed by the praises you showered on us for our facilities and service.

We are sure that your feedback would encourage our team to ensure a seamless service to all our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Niraamaya for another memorable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

773 - 779 of 1,159 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for five nights in this beautiful hotel overlooking two beaches. For the room rate there are few hotels that can surpass the setting and ambience of the hotel. If you are looking for a getting away from it all break I would highly recommend this hotel. The spa treatments are extremely good value and you could go through your yoga moves to the sound of crashing waves whilst positioned on the top of a small cliff. There were a few things that weren't quite right such as a bit of a hit and miss room service, and limited attention to guests food and beverage needs around the pool but I wouldn't want to detract from an excellent hotel.
The staff deserve a special mention for the absolute sincerity and consistency of their service. Personally I don't think it's the best place to go to with a very going family as you really don't want to break the ambience with noisy children also there are lots of steps and hazards that are not suitable for young children. But if you are a couple or travelling solo the place is ideal. Fare from airport is around INR 1500 and takes about 30mins.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Gadstrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rejeeshkumar, General Manager at Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Namaskaram from Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra, Kovalam!!!

We thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are overwhelmed by your praises about our property and service.

Your constructive feedback on room service and service near the pool will be proactively addressed.

Your positive feedback will enhance the confidence level of our team members to provide personalised service to all our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable Niraamaya experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is a beautiful place and all the people that work there are so nice. The restaurants are great and the service is top notch. The entire property is covered in beautiful green trees and grass. The views are great and the private beach is serene. The only thing that took away from the serenity of the beach were the vendors on the beach that constantly asked us to buy something. I hate being rude but if I could do the weekend over again, I would have not been friendly to begin with and that would have saved me a lot of time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank WarnerHWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rejeeshkumar, General Manager at Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Namaskaram from Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra, Kovalam!!!

We thank you for rating our property very high on your recent stay with us. We feel overwhelmed by your appreciation of our all round service and settings and it would definitely motivate us to switch on to provide high level of service to our guests.

Your concern on vendors on beach will be addressed with appropriate government authorities as we cannot regulate the entry of local vendors to the beach through small inroads near to the beach. However we assure of appropriate action in this regard.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable Niraamaya experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed at the Niraamaya for 3 days at the end of our tour of Kerala. Great hotel friendly staff plenty of sun beds round the pool. Food excellent . We stayed in a garden cottage, might have preferred sea view but the room was excellent, lots of space nice outside shower. The beach is pristine, but very choppy so we unable to swim . Take a cab you can get a tuk tuk or taxi outside the gate or get one from reception to Lighthouse beach , lots of restaurants and a few shops for pashminas etc.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolJohnsonxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rejeeshkumar, General Manager at Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Namaskaram from Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra, Kovalam!!!

We thank you for your excellent feedback on your recent stay with us. We feel delighted with your appreciation of our facilities and service.

Your feedback will motivate us to strive for higher level of service excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable Niraamaya experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We recently stayed at Niraamaya for the last few days of our honeymoon. The staff went out of their way to arrange a houseboat for us in Kollam, their attention to detail throughout our stay was superb. The landscaping in the grounds of the hotel is beautifully tranquil, the swimming pool is one of the best pools I've ever been in and the views out to sea are breathtaking. The beach is a little piece of paradise, but the hotel are correct when they say the sea is rough! We were very lucky to be upgraded to Octagon suite for a night, which we loved. The spa was beautiful and the yoga sessions were very good.
It was the perfect end to our honeymoon, I only wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusiSalavati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rejeeshkumar, General Manager at Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Namaskaram from Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra, Kovalam!!!

We thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are overwhelmed by your highly positive feedback on our facilities and service.

Your feedback will really motivate us in our quest to provide exemplary services to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable Niraamaya experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

It was my best travel experience, we got many surprises from resort staff, Welcomed at Airport and it followed at the time of resort entry, staff is great, you can know the staff by name with in very small of time and they make you feel special at every moment and always ready to make every moment a memorable moment, Prakash met us at the reception and then at lunch of first asked food preference and we got our food specially prepared by him, felt so special different from others, GRE Anitha was just a call away, we got Mobile to get connected with staff, she was really very communicative, talkative never let us feel away from home, Spa is great, this was our first spa experience, first doc will come and ask your problems if there is any part need more concentration, Manju who was therapist made is life time experience, Vijay who was our escort to pre dawn tea on second day is real great guy, Director met us multiple time throughout our journey asked our feedback.

Location is great, Resort owns 2 beaches, 1 personal, 1 shared, Resort is surrounded by Lush green coconut trees, it has 1 infinite pool opening toward sea, all restaurants perfectly located at the sea view.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SatyandraBabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rejeeshkumar, General Manager at Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Namaskaram from Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra, Kovalam!!!

We thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to know that our efforts to provide a memorable stay to you are widely appreciated by you.

Your appreciation of our team members by name will highly motivate them and make them proud to be part of Niraamaya family.

Your feedback will enhance our confidence to provide world class personalized service to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable Niraamaya experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This is a very nice place. We stayed here during 23-26 November 2013. The cottage is very good; it is very comfortable. All around the place there is excellent landscaping. The spa was very good; though a bit expensive. The staff were very good; whenever we wanted a buggy it was there immediately. The private beach is kept clean with sand and rocks. The hotel arranged for nice backwaters tour and Sri Padmanabhasawamy Temple darshan. The food needs improvement; there are no local fish dishes like Karimeenu, etc. The taste too needs improvement. Overall we had a very good experience and will go back there if time permits.

Room Tip: Stay in the cottages close to the meditation platform..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BKDRaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rejeeshkumar, General Manager at Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Namaskaram from Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra, Kovalam!!!

We thank you for sharing your feedback on your stay with us in November. We are delighted to know that our facilities and service have left a highly favorable impression with you.

We have noted your feedback on our food. The fish, Karimeen (Pearlspot), is normally seen in backwaters as it is a lake fish.

Your positive feedback will enhance our confidence level to provide exemplary service to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable Niraamaya experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
3.7 mi away
Taj Green Cove Resort & Spa Kovalam
3.3 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
2.9 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#5 of 53 in Kovalam
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#27 of 53 in Kovalam
254 reviews
2.8 mi away
Searock Beach Resort
Searock Beach Resort
#28 of 53 in Kovalam
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra

Address: Pulinkudi | Mullur, South of Kovalam, Kovalam 695521, India (Formerly Surya Samudra Private Retreats)
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kovalam
#1 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#3 Business Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range: £115 - £357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Submerged in the luxury of secluded beaches, wellness immersions and epicurean delights, the Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra - a Relais & Chateaux property is a sanctuary for your senses. Nestled in a verdant cliff-top coconut grove, the retreat is dotted with traditional cottages that celebrate Kerala’s heritage and culture. Life by the coast with breathtaking views of the Arabian sea, the infinity pool for your indulgence, private sit-outs to watch glorious sunsets, the charm of swaying palms and the sound of crashing waves . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surya Samudra Private Retreats Hotel Kovalam
Surya Samudra Beach Garden Hotel
Surya Samudra Beach Garden Spa
Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing