We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a perfect weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Kovalam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Want a break from the busy hectic life?? Niraamaya is the place for you. Its beautiful,serene,cool. The breeze itself is rejuvenating. One of the best sea facing resorts. And rooms are just so neat and cozy. I would recommend the Heritage Classic room. The staffs are cordial and warm. Food is something I would suggest could be better.

Room Tip: Go for Heritage Classic room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marypips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

725 - 731 of 1,132 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

I had the privilege of visiting this property with my partner for work. My only regret is not having been able to spend more time here. The staff was wonderful- they took great care of us. Special mention to the Chef at cafe Samsaara as well as Anitha who helped us out with tours, sightseeing and our room requests.

I visited The Leela at Kovalam but I have to admit that the Niraamaya Resorts were clear winners with their impeccable service, friendly staff, breathtaking views and amazing food. Cafe Samsara is a cute all day dining restaurant managed by a wonderful team and an incredibly talented chef. We tried all the local kerala dishes during the duration of our stay and loved the focus on local, seasonal, organic and free range food. They use a lot of healthy ingredients
and stay away from added flavouring, colouring, salt and processed foods.

I can't believe I'm leaving this gorgeous property. Will be making a trip to Niraamaya again very very soon.

Thank you for showing us such a good time! We will remember this experience for a long time to come.

P.S- I'm still salivating over the beef with coconut and crab masala. You have to try the Niraamaya special cinnamon coffee with jaggery. You can thank me later:)

Room Tip: Choose the sea facing rooms- they are spectacular. Please eat at Samsaara Cafe we love the thalis an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

this is a little slice of heaven, amazing food and service. top notch management ! way better than leela and much better location .
please eat the thali and the stir fried beef.
the rooms are very comfy and the spa is exceptional

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Aviraj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My stay at Niraamaya Retreat (NR) was comfortable, pleasant and enjoyable. The staff were very helpful and courteous. NR is a highly successful venture where leisure and professional service meet. The intricate pathways, the semi forest like surroundings, the chirping of birds, the brisk sea breeze and the waves thudding on to the rocks are some of the memories I will take back with me. The private beach is really nice unlike the kovalam beach which seems to have fallen prey to commercialization. The restaurant served a variety of food all of high quality and has a very gracious staff ever willing to tender their service. The buggy or the wagon was a thrill for my son and of comfort to my mother. The tourist car service was also comfortable as we were able to visit many places in and around kovalam. A word of appreciation for Satheesh who made our trips very enjoyable. Two things that I feel can be improved. One, the lighting system at night is far too dim and the administration can probably make arrangements for more low level lights to illuminate the pathways better. Two, the wifi was not working properly. I was carrying a mobile and could not get any sort of connection. I guess a 24 hour computer engineer can be hired to address such problems. Though it is written that a doctor is on a 24 hour notice but that must be assured. I wish the NR and its staff the very best of luck for the future.

Room Tip: rooms on the south side are quitter....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jayabrata S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

What a perfect break with my wife. The Resort is definitely five stars, the service, the maintenance, the staff, the environment, and the food. The reception staff was excellent, from the time we arrived (4 am), until we left. Organizing tours and my return flight booking, which I scheduled for the wrong day!
We found the restaurant service, the presentation, the quality and taste of the food perfect; accommodating local dishes to the foreign palate well, with plenty of variety. The accent on healthy choices without fanaticism was appreciated.
The room service was top notch with whimsical towel sculptures on the bed, and flowers placed here and there as well as the turn down service. All the rooms have exhilarating views, and are comfortable. In addition the traditional architecture, the outdoor bath and shower, the waves pounding in the back ground, all made the stay unique, pleasant, relaxing, a true retreat.
I cannot adequately express here how relaxed these 12 days were. Thank you to all the Niraamaya Retreat staff. We will make an effort to return.
Note: when booking a room, check all the rooms available. The Heritage Premium Rooms are all different. The Polygon was perfect for us.

Room Tip: Recommend the Polygon Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My partner and I stayed at Niraamaya for 7 nights and we totally fell in love with it.

We had initially booked the garden room and half way through our trip we were upgraded to the beach front room. You can really hear the sounds of the waves crashing when the tide is in...it's very surreal.

The hotel has it's own private beach so it's great for a lovely sunset walk.

The pool is amazing...at first it looked green as it's all natural but once you're in you don't feel like getting out.

The food was excellent and it was great to try different cuisines each day as the chef would personally make something different for us. Within a few days the waiters knew us and it felt like such a personal service.

We miss it so much and keep hoping we have a chance to go back!

Room Tip: If you like the sound of the ocean book the ocean view room as its very loud at night....if you pref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kumi9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

we stayed at Niraamaya in the month of April to celebrate our wedding anniversary. needless to say we enjoyed every bit of it. Amazing ambience, great food, excellent service... all in all we had an awesome experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queenliza10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
3.7 mi away
Taj Green Cove Resort & Spa Kovalam
3.3 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
2.9 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#5 of 53 in Kovalam
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#23 of 53 in Kovalam
246 reviews
2.8 mi away
Searock Beach Resort
Searock Beach Resort
#26 of 53 in Kovalam
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra

Address: Pulinkudi | Mullur, South of Kovalam, Kovalam 695521, India (Formerly Surya Samudra Private Retreats)
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kovalam
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
#1 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#3 Business Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range: £173 - £408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Submerged in the luxury of secluded beaches, wellness immersions and epicurean delights, the Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra - a Relais & Chateaux property is a sanctuary for your senses. Nestled in a verdant cliff-top coconut grove, the retreat is dotted with traditional cottages that celebrate Kerala’s heritage and culture. Life by the coast with breathtaking views of the Arabian sea, the infinity pool for your indulgence, private sit-outs to watch glorious sunsets, the charm of swaying palms and the sound of crashing waves . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surya Samudra Private Retreats Hotel Kovalam
Surya Samudra Beach Garden Hotel
Surya Samudra Beach Garden Spa
Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing