We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disabled use”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Marine Palace
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I am temporarily in a wheelchair and room 102 was excellent.Access to bathroom and even shower was superb could not fault it, even had security spy hole at wheelchair level.Service also excellent even down to the reception staff opening the bedroom door,switching on light..

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValPhillips1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2014

It's well located and clean. Service is average. You cannot use wifi in room,it's only available in the reception and lobby area. The tea/coffee maker mentioned on MMT is not present. If you claim the 100% money back guarantee MMT will never respond. I have suffered from it. The swimming pool is never cleaned,you cannot use it. Called MMT tons of times,it fell on deaf ears.Avoiding this hotel would be better.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ratna506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I have stayed here in December 2010, Although I have given rating 3 but I want to give it more than 3 and less than 4. Only because of the location of this hotel.
I will say if you are going with friends and don't invest much time in hotel then its a descent pick. But if you going with your family it will not a good choice as service is very poor. I remember when I am checking out of the hotel and I want some helping hands to take my lagauge and I waited for more than 15 min and no one came atlast I myself all my belongings. so I guess if I am travelling again to Kovalam I will choose any other destination to enjoy my holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnshuAcharaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

2 days were travel-hotel terrible not worth the money maximum of 800 to 1000 rupeesdirty pool not working restaurant awful room in general is normal ifExcept dirty sheets, the hotel location is normal.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Pavel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The rooms are ok and spacious but the beds are rock hard. The toilets are clean and pretty good, probably the best ive stayed in India. The worst thing about this place is the horrible horrible service. I asked multiple times (5+) for our 3rd bed and only when I got obviously angry did something happen. Only our last night I called the kitchen to order food well before closing but got told they will call back. I had to call back again and got the same response but by this time it was about 30 minutes before closing. I went out to get food but everything was closed. What the hell, just tell me you're busy or can't provide anything. The swimming pool was just dirty.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amaraziz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Budget hotel in a great position by the beach.Rooms were adequate and cleaned daily by 3 happy smiling ladies so long as you left your key at reception-not a problem.however beds were hard. If you wanted hot water for a shower you had to phone reception for them to switch it on!That was`nt much of a problem so long reception was manned by a gentleman called Ashraf.He was thorough and good at his job, dedicated to please his guests, unlike the rest of the staff.The manager too was willing to please his guests and a most friendly chap.Perhaps if the manager could replace most of his staff with employees like Ashraf it would be a better hotel.And don't take an alarm clock with you, the temple opposite will ensure you are never late.However a pleasing 2 weeks were spent here despite some problems.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caterinamm57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

If your are looking for a value for money option without any luxurious options, this one probably offers the best in terms of place, room, food and service.

Location: 100 meters from the beach. Can have a view of some portion of the kovalam hawa beach from some rooms.

Rooms: Basic facilities with a touch of professionalism. Nothing special but everything you need was there. A mini fridge, cleaned toilet with hot and cold water, TV with cable connection, A mini fridge, AC, intercom, A good and large basic wardrobe, Two bedside tables (one small, one big) and the best - an attached balcony with a sea view.

Service: Truly professional - on time telephonic confirmation (i had an online booking), nicely arranged baggage pick up to in-room delivery (even though we had a very light luggage), booking was confirmed not the room - so they show us available options and allowed us to choose, always on help on whatever you need - ATMs, money exchange options, little query about best options to avoid being cheated on different things whenever you are out. FINALLY they easily managed to arrange a cab at very reasonable price to get to the airport to catch a 6am flight. Cleaning service personals was duly doing their duties regularly.

Food: Room service always. Nice and clean kitchen. reasonable price and amount. always served on time.

Personally I could not ask anything more for the price i paid. In fact I have booked one hotel with a complete sea-view options at a higher price and cancelled later for this one. And I was happy that it was a wise choice. If you really don't die without the view of the sea and have a reasonable expectations from the price you pay, I am sure this place wont ask you to regret.

It was a nice stay for 3 days.

Room Tip: Ask the front desk to show you the room (especially for online or previously booked parties) before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 13it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.8 mi away
Searock Beach Resort
Searock Beach Resort
#25 of 52 in Kovalam
107 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#23 of 52 in Kovalam
241 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hill & Sea View Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Sea View Palace
Hotel Sea View Palace
#22 of 52 in Kovalam
101 reviews
0.8 mi away
Thushara Hotel
Thushara Hotel
#19 of 52 in Kovalam
90 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jeevan Beach Resort
Jeevan Beach Resort
#43 of 52 in Kovalam
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marine Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marine Palace

Address: NUP Beach Road, Kovalam 695527, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Kovalam
Price Range: £22 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marine Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Marine Palace is situated very close to the beach and offers a host of facilities for the most discerning tourist. Multi cuisine restaurant, deluxe AC and Non AC rooms with telephone, CCTV and refrigerator, 24 hour room service travel assistance, car hire, herbal oil massage, doctor on call etc. It is an ideal place for those seeking to chill out on the beach or lazy under the shade of palm trees, dotted around the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Marine Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marine Palace Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing