We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Kovalam
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Spent four nights at this hotel with my young son, was excellent. Great location, good friendly service wonderful food.

Dropped one star because they tried to put me up in a sister hotel in town on arrival. I had to dig my heel and insisted they make a room available else I would camp in the lobby area with 12 year old son. We had to camp some three hours in lobby before they eventually gave us a room.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P1ar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathew T, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj – Kovalam!!

Thank you for your review about Vivanta by Taj- Kovalam.

Apologies for the inconvenience caused on arrival at the hotel. The same has been taken up seriously with the concerned department so as to ensure that all our guests receive a faultless experience at Vivanta by Taj Kovalam.

We are delighted to learn that the rest of the stay was a wonderful experience in our resort and found the staff and services outstanding. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Taj tradition, which the Vivanta by Taj-Kovalam is committed to delivering to all our guests.

Warm Regards

Mathew Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,157
    400
    77
    30
    30
See reviews for
608
680
62
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

After the long ( time, not distance) road trip on some of the worst roads in India arriving at the Taj was dreamlike - the greeting , efficient staff and beautiful calm surrounds cannot be faulted. however the room we were first shown was near to the back of the hotel and the noise from the AC generators was appalling - when we requested change the staff were very helpful and we got another room which was quiet and lovely. We loved the gardens pool, the spa and yoga classes, and the fantastic food in the main restaurant. the buffet breakfast was simply fantastic with a range of superb Indian dishes as well as the usual western. However we were a little disappointed by the unavailability of items listed on their menus when we were ordering meals - no Bombay sapphire gin; not the beer we asked for; no ras malai : a hotel of this quality should either adjust their menus or have things available when ordered! The beach is nice enough but we didn't swim - was too rough. We loved that you could walk to everything including the little village on the beach.

Room Tip: ask to be away from the noisy ACs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimeeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathew T, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj – Kovalam!!

Thank you for your review about Vivanta by Taj- Kovalam.

We are most delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful experience in our Resort and found the staff and services outstanding. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Taj tradition, which the Vivanta by Taj-Kovalam is committed to delivering to all our guests.

Warm Regards

Mathew Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This has to be one of the most beautiful hotels in Kerala! This is our go to place in Kovalam and we have never been disappointed.I personally love the steak offered at the restaurant and don't get me started on the lobster at the beautiful seafood restaurant by the beach! This place has it all!! If you're in Trivandrum, its worth it to stay here and just drive to the city when you need to.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PriyankaB1286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathew T, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj – Kovalam!!

Thank you for your review about Vivanta by Taj- Kovalam.

We are most delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful experience in our Resort and found the staff and services outstanding. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Taj tradition, which the Vivanta by Taj-Kovalam is committed to delivering to all our guests.

Warm Regards

Mathew Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Even though we have been to the restaurants here several times,we hadnt stayed here before
The room is quite well maitained unlike what i had read in some of the reviews here.
The property is simply amazing.All the staff here are very friendly,pleasant and helpful.They gave us a pleasant surpise upon learning the reason behind our visit:D.The food here is pretty good.Loved the breakfast buffet.The service was outstanding .Looking forward to our next visit

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XVoyagerX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathew T, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj – Kovalam!!

Thank you for your review about Vivanta by Taj- Kovalam.

We are most delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful experience in our Resort and found the staff and services outstanding. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Taj tradition, which the Vivanta by Taj-Kovalam is committed to delivering to all our guests.

Warm Regards

Mathew Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stay in Taj kovalam was best part of our 6 days trip in kerala.. we stayed for 3 days in Taj Kovalam... From rooms to swimming pool, Restaurant to beach to lagoon... everything is breath taking... View from pool is breathtaking... pool, then lagoon and then beach.. all in same line of view... Buffet Breakfast and dinner were very good.. staff was very helpful .. we were travelling with kids but staff took care of them well...Evening tea at beach side was an experience... they served tea and snacks on beachside... beachside garden had hammocks and swings surrounded by coconut trees... Rooms are nestled in trees.. they have thatch roofs giving a rustic feeling... there are fountains and waterfalls all over the resort..
Overall the best stay

Room Tip: Take any room.. all are special
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanvi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathew T, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj – Kovalam!!

Thank you for your review about Vivanta by Taj- Kovalam.

We are most delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful experience in our Resort and found the staff and services outstanding. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Taj tradition, which the Vivanta by Taj-Kovalam is committed to delivering to all our guests.

Warm Regards

Mathew Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Vivanta on Taj in Kovalam,Trivandrum, the southern-most tip of South India stands on acres of pristine water-front. It's self-contained exquisite villas are set like gemstones into a superbly manicured landscape. Each restaurant offers an exclusive fare and none that disappoint. Our group of four chose the BAIT restaurant, their beachside wonder, where we ate in awe of Executive Chef Rishekesh's culinary three-course masterpiece and in affinity with the roar of the waves washing its salt tipped fingers along its beckoning shoreline. Bliss!
The huge foyer in resplendent timber and stone is welcoming and comforting. It's state-of-the-art bar caters to all palettes, the always-courteous ever-attentive attendants-in-tow tease the senses with intermittent and succulent morsels to keep hunger pangs at bay. All the in-house staff are exceptional and keen to make your stay memorable and your needs met, but within reason! Fair enough. If it's value for money your looking for, this is the place to be. Fabulous and fastidious - that's Vivanta by Taj, Kovalam and I can't wait to swim in your infinity pool of blissfulness soon enough! Hurricane Cruz aka Erica Luiz Author / Earth traveller.

Room Tip: Chose a secluded villa/cottage away from the humdrum of life's fast pace and become one with nat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathew T, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj – Kovalam!!

Thank you for your review about Vivanta by Taj- Kovalam.

We are most delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful experience in our Resort and found the staff and services outstanding. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Taj tradition, which the Vivanta by Taj-Kovalam is committed to delivering to all our guests.

Warm Regards

Mathew Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Firstly I would like to back up my 4 star rating. I feel when you stay in a 5 star hotel you read into any slight flaws you come across. Having been blown away by the Shangri La Rasi Ria last year I have since found myself comparing hotels to the exceptional standard that they set.

There was quite a lot of dust around our room for the whole 10 nights we were there and the shower and bath suffered quite badly from mold around the seals. Although the bathroom was clean I felt that this could make it appear unclean. This is not what I expect to receive from a 5 star hotel.

Throughout our stay we ate at all the restaurants, our favorite for views and ambiance was Bait however we cannot fault the staff at Jasmine Bay who always remembered ours names, our drinks and arranged a specially decorated table on our last night.

We came on this holiday for some R&R and we certainly came back very refreshed and due to the excellent staff, amazing views and food. Overall we had a fab time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo_d1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathew T, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj – Kovalam!!

Thank you for your review about Vivanta by Taj- Kovalam.

We are most delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful experience in our Resort and found the staff and services outstanding. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Taj tradition, which the Vivanta by Taj-Kovalam is committed to delivering to all our guests.

Warm Regards

Mathew Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kovalam
0.7 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
1.0 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#6 of 50 in Kovalam
892 reviews
0.2 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#5 of 50 in Kovalam
532 reviews
6.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum
Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum
#3 of 90 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
864 reviews
1.6 mi away
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
Address: G V Raja Vattappara Road | Trivandrum, Kovalam 695527, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kovalam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kovalam
#2 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
#2 Family Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove, Kovalam, is delightful in many ways. While to some it is one of the finest beach resorts in Kerala, to others it is an amazing backwater retreat. And there are those that love it for its hill resort layout. Now it's all that and more. There's a nice new buzz all over. In the renewed cottages and villas, the nouvelle restaurants, the high energy bar, and the spa where you'll go Ah! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, DerbySoftTaj, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Kovalam Hotel Kovalam
Taj Green Cove Hotel
Taj Green Cove Kovalam
Taj Green Cove Resort
Vivanta By Taj - Green Cove Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing