We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Kovalam
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

we booked tickets through online. it was fine. the reception lobby is very good. the restaurent is fine. but the rooms r not that great. the passage to the rooms are also not that good. the room service is also not that great, very slow. felt costly for the serviceses experienced.

the good things are,
nice location
good view from the rooms
nice swimming pools

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SureshBabuknv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    581
    252
    109
    103
See reviews for
537
597
41
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kochi
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

I stayed at Uday Samudra last year, and i had booked to stay at the Presidential suite.
Pros
-The room was very specious, offering a living and bedroom and a big bathroom.
-I enjoyed the perfect view of the beach the room offered
-Easy access to the pool and the beach is a great plus point
-A very warm welcome by the Hotel Manager and the staff
-Enjoyed the spa
-Kids enjoyed the pool and the open garden to play

Cons
- Hotels seems run down in many areas, need to maintain them by painting and replacing broken sils etc..
- Food was not the best, seems to be more of a conference hotel since big groups of people running all over the hotel.
- And so really lack of personalised service can be seen due to all these big groups.
- Can have more kids activities - if they are focusing in familes

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajit_mathew19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed at UDS on 22nd and 23rd November 2013.

Positives –
- Check in process was smooth and front desk staff was really courteous.
- We were very well explained about the resort while on our way to the room
- The location is simply amazing.. almost a private beach.
- 3 swimming pools which assured that no place was too crowded.
- The ayur shala ( ayurvedic spa) was simply an amazing experience.
- The food was really nice. The Hyderabadi biryani at courtyard restaurant was one amongst the best I have ever had.
- Candle light dinner at the wave restaurant made the evening a perfect one.
- Small evening programs like, classical / fusion music, classical dance or karaoke night gives a nice experience.

Negatives of the stay –
- When we entered the room was slightly disappointed. the room was small.
- The tv was a very old model and above all not working and moreover it took 20 mins for the housekeeping staff to realize that there were no cell in the remote.
- There were no towels in the room and yet the staff took half an hour to arrange for them.
- The kettle in room was not working which took some 2 hours and 4 phone calls to be replaced.
- After the housekeeping staff did the cleaning ( which was not good), the ac also stopped working. The battery part of problem was resolved but not the cooling one.
- The bathroom is abruptly designed. No provision to hang hand towel and tissue holder was in batching area.

Overall a good option to stay as the location otherwise gave a positive feeling..

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seemu1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed here last week. Got a really good welcome by the hotel staff. But our opinion was that all the services are all a little partial towards Foreigners (Majority of the guests here are foreigners). Though we believe in 'Atithi Daivobhav', we also expect equal favours for everyone.

Vegetarian fare is just average. Can definitely improve on this.

Also, tried taking an appointment for Ayurveda massage. Didnt get one. The least a hotel can do is make arrangements for all its guests to avail of the services that they so proudly advertise.

The value of food for money - a total disappointment. We had to order 'Dal' thrice for a single portion of Steamed rice. Veg pasta was bland & the desserts on the dinner buffet were sad too.Ginger burnt fried rice & Kung pao vegetables was excellent.

The door locks are too complicated & the rooms can be better equipped. Bathtub should be added atleast.

The hotel has taken up a part of the beach as their private area but the reclining chairs that are put up here are separately chargeable too. They could have atleast kept it free for the guests who are anyways shelling out so much from their pockets.

Customer service - Just average. Had to call up thrice for room towels & then they ended up giving us beach towels.

Room cleaning takes an unusually looooong time. Also, music during dinner time can be a little less loud. The music is all that u can hear. You can just give up hopes of a dinnertime conversation

Overall, i would give it just a 3 outta 5. Wont want to stay here again!

Room Tip: They have seperate 'Sea View' & 'Sea Facing' rooms. The 'Sea facing' roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderer3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

A warm and hospitable welcome by Udai Samudra team. Stayed for 2 nights days in Oct 2013. Nice stay comfortable. Took a Suite on the beach, enjoyed the stay. Good service, clean, taste food. A very specious room with balcony opening on the beach.
One of the best place if you really wanna relax and enjoy the beach. A Beautiful views for sunset.

Room Tip: Rooms on teh beach are really good. i would love to stay again there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandeep_Bawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

we stayed the first two weeks November 13 the hotel is wonderful the staff could not do enough for us the food was good The pools are clean an the grounds are well kept it was so spacious an well cared for there was some updating going on but this did not spoil a thing if you want the true feel of India then head for this hotel an Kovalam we loved it it was a trip of a life time when we left some of staff came to see us off we want to go back soon

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cherryd714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurdaspur District, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

When we reached Kovalam the warm and hospitable welcome by Udai Samudra is unforgettable. it is located just next to the beach one must be looking for during his kerela trip. The hotel priovides one can imagine for and it includes the variety of food or the facilities and entertainment.
I will remeber the beach side walk and dinner just outside the hotel in the most romantic weather.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjubhanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.6 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
0.8 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#5 of 51 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#6 of 51 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
1.3 mi away
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Sagara Beach Resort
Sagara Beach Resort
#14 of 51 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa

Property: Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Address: Samudra Beach G V Raja Road | Samudra Beach, Kovalam 695527, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kovalam
#5 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
#8 Family Hotel in Kovalam
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UDS located at the famed beaches of Kovalam, just 15 meters from the sea, is an exclusive 4 Star leisure beach hotel& Spa - a destination by itself. The setting, facilities, people, spa, cuisine and its whole philosophy is dedicated to your personal wellness in a luxurious environment. Just by being at UDS-one of the finest hotels in kovalam, your stresses start to flutter away; the landscaping has its own serenity, a harmony of a defined architecture, spacious lawns, blue water pools and soaring coconut grooves all set in four tranquil acres by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Uday Samudra Beach
Uday Samudra Beach Hotel
Uday Samudra Beach Thiruvananthapuram Trivandrum
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing