We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel and people” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Kovalam
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel and people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed here in October 2013. I have to admit that when looking at the pictures on the internet, I was a bit worried about staying here. But on arrival, all worries and fears were eliminated and it was like arriving in paradise.
Only one problem during our stay and that was the building work going on - it led to a mouse entering our room and as soon as I contacted reception/house-keeping, they straight away came up and moved us out of the room.
The next day after arriving back from our excursion, the manager was waiting at reception and straight away advised me that they were moving us to rooms with a sea view which was a pleasant surprise. The manager was apologetic but these things happen.
The breakfast each morning was superb and overall we really enjoyed our 4 days here.
I would advise management to update their website as the pictures do not do it justice.
If I ever go back to Kovalam, I would happily stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dipesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    583
    253
    110
    104
See reviews for
540
599
41
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hissar District, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We have stayed there for three days in February 2013.
We were on honeymoon. Memories of udai samudra comes first in our mind. Three wonderfull swimmingpool, very good room service and breakfast in buffet. Very good thing is any event in every evening. Nice sea view but cant take bath on its beach.you have no need to go outside the hotel to enjoy.you can enjoy your day in hotel itself.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manibaniya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trivandrum
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Uday Samudra is a nice place to be in. I feel there is a value in the property.
Rooms: average to good. AC not the best as you have to juggle to get the temperature right and humidity is beyond control. Then you realise that you are not in a five star resort and the feeling goes of. Better humidity control is required near the seaside
Food: Great breakfast for the price. Ala Carte seafood at Courtyard is fine. Service is quite good.
Check in and check out was smooth.
Room service by house keeping: average. Need for better house keeping especially the cleaning boys
Valet parking and staff by the pool: very good
Excellent kids pool.
Activity zone : pathetic. Plastic balls were provided to play table tennis.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mathew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

It is true that " First Impression is the best impression" and UDS delivers it right from its ambience , Hospitality, food and last but not the least its private beach...we went on honeymoon and I would surely recommend UDS to everyone visiting Kovalam....and it should top the list among the resorts in Kovalam.....

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rahulfun6787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is a long pending review that I wanted to write. It's been six months now since I visited this place in January 2014.

Me and my wife chose Kerala as our honeymoon spot and Kovalam was one of the places we decided to stay. Our stay at Kovalam was longest of the three places we chose to stay in Kerala.

Me and wife were amazed by the great hospitality we were greeted with when we reached UDS in the evening after a tiring journey from Munnar, Kerala.

Room was clean and tidy. Initial settling down experience was perfect.

UDS has its private beach which is pretty awesome. It's beautiful place to hangout. Most balconies have a view of this beautiful beach.

We were disappointed only by the food department. In the breakfast, these guys had same menu for breakfast for Jain tourists. We literally had idli-chatni as the only option for breakfast. And that not for one day but for three days at a stretch! Dinner was pretty good. We had a chef from Gujarat (probably named Ganesh) who specifically made sure to take care of our Jain food requirement for dinner. No complaints on dinner part.

It was quite surprising to see the staff giving high priority to the foreign tourists. Whereas, Indian tourists were not being paid as much attention in my opinion. Me and my wife both observed the same.

Overall, UDS should be on the top of list of hotels to choose from if one is visiting Kovalam. It's best one can get if travelling as a couple. They have awesome amenities for people who are in mood of relaxing.

If you are a budget traveler, UDS is not for you. Look for some other option..

Room Tip: Choose a room on level 1 or 2 for better view of beach. For easy access to pool, choose level 0.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dharmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke Poges, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

l know this hotel very well, and each time l have made a visit l have found the grounds and public areas to be clean and tidy. As far as the beach outside of the hotel or lack of one, depends on the time of the year, the beach seems to come and go with the tides, one week you have a huge beach, and the next very little to sit on. l must admit that the sun beds have seen better times, but these are run by the locals who will charge for their use and cleaning them is not one of their priorities. Beds inside of the hotel grounds are free and look clean. this is an area of India that sees a lot of tourist, but you will need to watch what you eat if you are prone to tummy problems, we have been visiting the area for more than ten years, and except for the early visits have absolutely no problem with the food, always make sure that the food is well cooked and piping hot, and not only drink bottled water brush your teeth in it. Indian tourist areas are a little of what you see is what you get, and you would certainly not get any more. We love it some don't. Have fun.

Room Tip: There are some very nice sea views from some of the rooms. l am only commenting on the hotel grounds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank derekcox66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Level Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

UdaySamdra, Nice property, very good staff, beach is not that good, pool is excellent, rooms are great, SPA and Ayurveda treatments are excellent, Food not great as I had dinner only, reachability and parking again not so good, I remember the Ayurveda doctor and one of the senior staff Uma Shankar for excellent hospitality, i think it can be more clean and maintained well all the common areas overall its a good hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saanms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.6 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
0.8 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#5 of 51 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#6 of 51 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
1.3 mi away
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Sagara Beach Resort
Sagara Beach Resort
#12 of 51 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa

Property: Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Address: Samudra Beach G V Raja Road | Samudra Beach, Kovalam 695527, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kovalam
#5 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
#8 Family Hotel in Kovalam
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UDS located at the famed beaches of Kovalam, just 15 meters from the sea, is an exclusive 4 Star leisure beach hotel& Spa - a destination by itself. The setting, facilities, people, spa, cuisine and its whole philosophy is dedicated to your personal wellness in a luxurious environment. Just by being at UDS-one of the finest hotels in kovalam, your stresses start to flutter away; the landscaping has its own serenity, a harmony of a defined architecture, spacious lawns, blue water pools and soaring coconut grooves all set in four tranquil acres by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Uday Samudra Beach
Uday Samudra Beach Hotel
Uday Samudra Beach Thiruvananthapuram Trivandrum
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing