We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm and restful with good food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thapovan Heritage Home
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
Reviewed 18 April 2013

The Thapovan is divided between two sites, one on the hill with a view over the bay and the second (150 metres away) by the sea. We stayed at the site by the sea. The welcome was genuinely warm and our room (in a traditional bungalow) was large, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. A bonus is the private terrace with comfortable outside seating. The food in the restaurant was very good (especially the vegetarian food) and the service prompt and polite.

The staff were helpful and always smiling. Future guests should be aware that the beach just in front of the hotel is accessed via rocks and is often inaccessible due to the tide. The true sand beach is 200 or so metres from the hotel. Being an ayurvedic resort, many guests are there for "cures": as "normal" tourists, we found the other guests rather cold and the atmosphere rather serious. This is however a minor point.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gruntled30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
There are newer reviews for Thapovan Heritage Home
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2013

Whether you are unwinding from a long journey through India or just seeking the benefits of Ayurvedic Medicine, this is an oasis. The hotel is in two parts, located on the side of a hillside on a tiny lane away from any major towns and crowds. The upper part has beautiful wooden buildings with traditional carved reliefs, exquisite gardens and an outdoor terrace restaurant with stunning views to the Arabian Sea.The lower part, a short walk down the hill, has spacious "cabins" amongst palm trees by the beach. Although the beach area also had a restaurant, we stayed by the beach and ate at the top. The rooms were large and comfortable but there was no airconditioning. This was fine in February but might be an issue in hotter months. We thought the food was very good but not as exciting as one might expect from the rest of the ambience. Staff were very friendly and helpful and accompained us to the airport at the end of our stay.
We were very lucky to arrive when it was festival time at the local temple. We had the privilege of watching the rice cooking festival, where 100s of ladies were cooking rice in pots over wood fires in woodland around the temple. We then joined in a procession behind drummers, horn players and elephant walking through the village. Our over-riding impression was of how welcome we strange foreigners were made to feel by the local people.
Another recommendation is a tuk-tuk ride to the harbour at Kovalam with its colourful fishing boats and fish market. We would happily stay again and many guests do.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBeagleUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

After reading reviews/pics on Tripadvisor and Thapovan site..we decided to book our 1st 2 days stay of our honeymoon in Thapovan in month of Dec'12.
Resort is near to beach, you can hear the sea waves@night & its very pleasent.
As its rightly named its a Heritage cottage. So dont expect AC rooms or luxury ambience.
They have table fan in rooms,completely woooden furniture, nice garden view outside your room where pigeons,some colorfull turkeys and few other birds are chipping aroung.
Service is very good and staff ppls are very helpfull and kind to you.
Ideal place for family.
You would love this place :)

Limitation
- Kovalam beach is bit away from this place.10-15km
- No AC or luxury rooms but this shouldn't be a problem.
- Food bit overpriced and overall food taste is ok.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AviZalaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed at Thapovan after reading reviews on tripadvisor and Lonely planet. Our stayed for only two nights out of eight planned from Jan 26-28th 2013.
The pick up at the Trivendrum airport was very efficient in spite of 24 hr flight delay.
We were accommodated in an inferior room and transferred to the another hillside property room.

We initialy requested beach property as none was available and we were insured the hillside is as good as the beach properties and the treatment area is very close by. We were also assured that they have good ayurvedic food as we are vegeterians.

1. The breakfast and meals is extensive but very basic nutritious food was missing from the menu and service was very poor.
2.The beaches as advertised and reviewed are not pristine there is lot of sore eye development along the beach and the former streams flowing to the beach had a lot of waste products like plastic bottles and garbage bags its any thing but Gods own country scene.
3.We had to walk through the village with the massage outfits on although we were offered a transport.
4. We decided to check out and we were offered refund for rest of the stay which we have received.
5. The staff was very helpful end polite in particular Mr Sunil and Srikant
Suggestions:
1.Resources need to be invested in the restaurant and training of the personal
2.Higher level of cleansing in the hillside rooms.
3. The massage treatment rooms need major upgrading
4. Thapovan should invest in the ecological restoration of the beach.

Room Tip: I will not pick so called hillside property rooms.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rakesh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Thapovan was our first stop of 9 days Kerala Trip. We stayed there 2 days at Beach Cottage. Away from noise and crowd of city, this hotel provide complete isolation. Stunning location and very well maintained property. Staff is very friendly. We were welcomed by Shrikanth who is really a nice guy. After noticing we were on our honeymoon, had arranged floral decoration of our cottage which really made our stay special. Speaking of cottage, it was clean, spacious and provide stunning view of the beach. Beach too was very clean, clear water and without any crowd to provide complete seclusion. They have their own lifeguard Pushpan who is nice guy. Food is good. Overall very satisfying experience and highly recommended for anyone who wants a complete isolation from crowd, wants to relax in nature's lap...
Thanks to Thapovan team to make our stay and trip memorable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmitCharkha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We had a lovely stay at Thapovan. The staff are absolutely fantastic. The facilities great, the yoga each morning really opens up your lungs - the yoga teacher "santosh" is excellent. Food was great and they even made a cake for Jane's birthday making the occasion very special. The beach has its own lifeguard "pushpan" who is a legend - he guides you (with broken English and hand signals) to the safer parts of the ocean to swim. The ayurdervic massages were ok, if a little pricey, but they are best done in the monsoon season apparently.

All in all highly recommended if you are looking to relax, switch off and get yourself healthy and fitter. The only 'gripe' would be the loud music very early in the morning (5am) from the temples next door but we got used to it, was quite calming some mornings however remember to pack ear plugs.

Many thanks to Herr Andreas and his brilliant team !!

Jane & Peter, London

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InkySporran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Thapovan was our first stop for our 18 day trip to Kerala. We had 3 days here and it was just what the (Ayurvedic) doctor ordered. Set in a stunningly natural location at the end of a beach the coconut grove is a shady paradise close to the busy beach town of Kovalam but well enough away from the centre to be perfectly relaxing. We had Ayurvedic massage and treatments every day which put us on the Indian pace of life immediately. If you haven't had this type of massage before then this is the place to try it.
We booked rather last minute and being over Christmas and Boxing Day we didn't get the best rate possible but we still felt it was good value. The food was good overall (though not nearly as good as we found elsewhere) and the staff were very pleasant, helpful and good natured. The icing on the cake was the free violin concert by some amazing classical Indian musicians on Christmas Day. We weren't sure what to expect but we were totally blown away! At 90 minutes it was a full on concert and the standard was extremely high, this was no hotel band.....I just need to find out what their names are!
Great memories, we will be back.

Room Tip: Thapovan has 2 locations, a few minutes apart, make sure you stay at the beach resort.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spencer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
2.2 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#4 of 52 in Kovalam
969 reviews
1.6 mi away
Abad Harmonia
Abad Harmonia
#8 of 52 in Kovalam
348 reviews
2.0 mi away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#22 of 52 in Kovalam
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
3.0 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thapovan Heritage Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thapovan Heritage Home

Address: Nellikunnu, Mulloor P.O | Thiruvananthapuram District, Kovalam 695521, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range: £25 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thapovan Heritage Home 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Thapovan Heritage Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thapovan Heritage Home Hotel Kovalam
Thapovan Heritage Home Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing