We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and Cozy...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thapovan Heritage Home
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Me and my husband stayed in Thapovan from 21st March till 24th March and the place is simply beautiful... The weather is a little hot compared to Jan - Feb and not all the rooms are AC. They have two properties - Hill view property and the beach view. Our pick was the beach view because we love the sea. Our room wasn't ac but we could hardly feel the heat since it would become pretty cool in the nights. During the day, we would laze around on the hammock under the coconut trees. There is no television in any of the room, I guess they have purposely done that so that one is able to enjoy the beauty of nature without sitting in the room glaring at the TV. I think it is a perfect idea not to have a TV and network in your phone while you are here. This place has a lot to offering eras of scenic beauty. The sea is wild and clear. It is absolutely green. The staff is friendly and helpful. I would recommend this place only if you are a nature lover and not looking for a luxurious stay. The stay here however will be very comfortable.

Room Tip: Choose an AC room at the hill property if it is must for you. The resort has non ac rooms at the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saumya3006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed in the lower part of the resort in a very nice bungalow in a coconut garden. All clean and wellkept. The food is mostly lokal and very tasty. The staff are friendly, and all speak some english. The reception spoke very good english. The beach has a lifeguard that will guide you to where to go swimming and look after you all the time. There are free wifi in the upper part of the resort.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This was so relaxing. We stayed for 3 nights in a beachside cottage with a fantastic view of the beach from the verandah. It was so peaceful and the noise of the waves on the beach through the night was an aid to sleep. The staff were very friendly and helpful, food good without being spectacular, no bar but beer and wine available in the restaurant. Shuttle ran on demand to the top restaurant which was open air and cool in the evenings. A lovely place to stay!

Room Tip: Beachside cottage in the lower location, by the beach and sun loungers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mango676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Thapoven is real home for me, loving dearly all the staff. They are the best people you could ever meet , honest, warm, loving, devoted. Absolutely the best!
They do their best to make you happy, in all way possible.
The location, the treatments, the yoga teacher, all couldn't be better.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YSpada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

its perfectly located between kovalam and poovar island. Beach cottages make it perfect relaxing holiday...the place has its own private beach which is makes it more beautiful. its well known for its ayurvedic massage...that's excellent. All the staffs are really friendly and service oriented. The restaurant has a beautiful view. the cottage was huge with a small room for luggage etc. The restaurant also was good and the food was of the local cuisine.
Would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramamurti75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Andreas Heitmann, the German owner, is keen to ensure that each guest feels special. He greets each new arrival personally and ensures that everything runs smoothly.

We stayed in the Teak House on the upper level and it was wonderful to have breakfast on the terrace, overlooking the bay. The rooms are great (if a little dark inside) and the grounds are filled with a vast variety of flowers, including the host’s collection of orchids.

We went down to the lower level and enjoyed a full-body massage in the Ayurvedic Centre, one of the best in the area.

We were there for New Year and the entertainment that Andreas put on – classical dancing and a music concert – was very professional and was followed by a wonderful meal and fireworks on the beach.

A few warnings:

The undertow in the bay is the strongest that I have ever seen. I am a strong swimmer and thought I would be OK but, as I made my way back to shore, I was knocked over and winded.

In the week after Christmas, the local Catholic Church has a festival and blasts canned services/music out at a vast number of decibels from about 05.00 until 08.00 and again in the evening. On New Year’s night this went on until 02.00.

The tranquillity of the area will be destroyed by the building of a huge container port a few miles away. Despite protests, it seems likely that this will go ahead. Visit the place while you can and enjoy the benefits while you can.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank PETRA001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

A complete serene place with a mix of Coconut Forest and Beautiful View of Arabian Sea. Authentic Ayurvedic massage aiming at a complete breakaway from the routine hectic life. Beach cottages make it perfect relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anirudh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
2.2 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#4 of 52 in Kovalam
988 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
2.0 mi away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#21 of 52 in Kovalam
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Abad Harmonia
Abad Harmonia
#8 of 52 in Kovalam
351 reviews
3.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
1.6 mi away
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thapovan Heritage Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thapovan Heritage Home

Address: Nellikunnu, Mulloor P.O | Thiruvananthapuram District, Kovalam 695521, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range: £74 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thapovan Heritage Home 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Thapovan Heritage Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thapovan Heritage Home Hotel Kovalam
Thapovan Heritage Home Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing