We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Watch out - Bed Bugs” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Jasmine Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Jasmine Palace
Ranked #27 of 51 Hotels in Kovalam
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Watch out - Bed Bugs”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Traveling in a large group?

You cant reach the hotel in your large vehicle. Which means a down hill hike to the hotel and a steep up hill climb to your vehicle. Cars and autos can be used in the narrow lane to the hotel.

Food - Average

Pool - Dirty

Location - OK

When we complained that there were bed bugs, these guys refused to accept the problem and offered to change the sheets saying they were full and no rooms were available.

My opinion - skip it. Look somewhere else

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    81
    45
    30
    23
See reviews for
93
87
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

It is very close to the best beach in kovalam! Staff are very friendly and take great care of you. The food was very good - we tried the Kerala food and their fish speciality was very tasty! Breakfast would change every day and was tasty. A la carte menu was very tasty too.

The massage centre nearby was great - please ask the reception staff to recommend.

Our rooms were very spacious and clean. Air condition worked fine. Balcony was very spacious and tranquil to enjoy your morning tea. Yes, you did have to climb stairs but it kept the Mosquitos at bay:-) seriously though, the stairs were not steep and no problem to climb at the end of the day.

Room service is fine as well.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here and we're sad to leave. Would stay here again.

Visited kanyakumari as a day trip. Also, shopped for Kerala sarees from a well known shop not too far (15-20mins) drive. They seemed to be wholesellers. Please ask hotel for reference.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VLqvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mawdesley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed at the Jasmine Palace, Kovalam, from 17th to 31st March 2014. We had read some of the reviews on this page prior to booking but overall the good ones outweighed the bad.
On our arrival we were pleasantly surprised. We were given the room called "the cottage" which was as stated earlier on its own, overlooking the pool one flight of stairs up, with a large balcony. The room is of a decent size with a good sized shower room. There are a TV, fridge, air-con unit and a fan which all worked perfectly. The room was kept beautifully clean by the team of lovely ladies - clean towels every day - very necessary as it was very hot and humid. Breakfast was a mixture of European and Indian, but it was heavenly sitting looking out over the garden. The location is very good - a few minutes walk from the beaches either along the front or through the maze of little paths. Lots of good places to eat. Lonely Planet and Suprabhatim for lunch. Santana and Fusion in the evening, also a little gem called Sea Shore with the most wonderful ambiance, thanks to Mr. Khan and Ali. All in all a wonderful experience for our first visit to India.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SheilaPaul2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We were booked in here for three days at the end of a tour of Kerala.We were given a room on the top floor.There are no lifts so each time we had four flights of stairs to go up and down.The restaurant is down in the garden past the swimming pool.It is mainly buffet style and we found the food was very poor.Not much choice and when you leave your table to look again at the buffet the crows sit on your table and peck at your food.
One good point though,the balcony was very spacious and the chairs and table very nice.A very handy airer for your washing was very useful.But the air con unit on the balcony was very noisy.

Room Tip: Only have a high room if you want plenty of exercise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank essexwifey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kovalam hotels

Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel prior to arriving in Kovalam. Our room was ready in a few minutes after we arrived (early morning). Staff friendly and helpful. Expensive considering the pool out of use, though we were given a small discount upon checkout (after asking!). Breakfast nice enough. Good location very close to Kovalam beach, restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LJChantl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
321 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Easy to reach both the beaches in Kovalam as this hotel lies in the middle of them. Just around the corner you can then walk along the front which is full of bars and restaurants and shops. The food is buffet style and varied and changes each day. very good value. There is a swimming pool which is handy for children to have a swim and play whilst parents relax on the sunbeds as the sea is very rough with strong currents. All the rooms have a TV and a fridge and in the foyer you can sit on the comfy sofas and get wi-fi. there is also an extensive array of books to swop.

Room Tip: Try and get the room called The Cottage as you have no neighbours and a great balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonNefertiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed here for three nights at the end of a Kerala tour. The first room we were allocated was distinctly shabby and not very clean. The balcony had a lovely (!) view of the roofs of the neighbouring properties. We immediately asked for a change to another room. Unfortunately, this could not happen until the following night but to their credit, the staff moved all our belongings to a room overlooking the pool. Much better although I could never get the TV to work and this despite the staff having 3 tries themselves. Anyway, not a major problem. The location is excellent, a two minute walk to the beach where there are lots of shops and restaurants. The food in the hotel's restaurant (both dinner and breakfast) is OK with a fair degree of choice. Be warned however, no alcohol in the restaurant. The two young waiters are very pleasant and helpful. However, the hotel and it's grounds need money spent on it as it whole place has a very shabby feel. Personally, I wouldn't stay here again until money is spent on upgrading the whole place.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, make sure it is in a pool view room otherwise go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Artair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.6 mi away
Sagara Beach Resort
Sagara Beach Resort
#12 of 51 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#20 of 51 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sea Face
Hotel Sea Face
#24 of 51 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pappukutty Beach Resort
Pappukutty Beach Resort
#38 of 51 in Kovalam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thushara Hotel
Thushara Hotel
#19 of 51 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hill & Sea View Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jasmine Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jasmine Palace

Property: Hotel Jasmine Palace
Address: Temple Road | Trivandrum, Kovalam 695521, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kovalam
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 51 Hotels in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jasmine Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Jasmine Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jasmine Palace Hotel
Jasmine Palace Kovalam
Hotel Jasmine Palace Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing