We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CLOSED for the season and not informed!!!!”
Review of Molly's Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kovalam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Molly's Retreat
Ranked #11 of 87 Kovalam B&B and Inns
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“CLOSED for the season and not informed!!!!”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Booked via agent, received confirmation, arrived on right day, place CLOSED for the season. None of the phone numbers work and the kitchen which was still open was disgusting!!! Had emailed owner two weeks before with questions, sent reminder - NO replies ! How rude can you be?. Went to another hotel locally where we were made so welcome. Needless to say will not give this place a second chance!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VTgirlKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    26
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
21
63
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We spent 5 nights at Molly's at the end of a two week tour of Kerala. We chose it because of the reviews on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. Our room was large with great air con plus a ceiling fan and a lovely balcony overlooking the pool. It also had a fridge, which was stocked daily with bottled water. Heather and her staff were all extremely friendly and laid back and you were made to feel that nothing was too much trouble. The restaurant was very good with a lovely holiday atmosphere and it was actually really nice to have the option of an English breakfast in the morning with a real mug of tea or coffee. The freshly squeezed pineapple juice was also out of this world ! The location of Molly's was maybe a little bit disappointing, being situated on a dusty road leading to tiny Samudra beach, which basically consisted of a sea wall with a few nice restaurants and not much else. So, we preferred to hop in a Tuk Tuk every morning and take the 5 minute drive to Lighthouse Beach, the main beach in Kovalam. In defence of the location, there was an excellent 'green leaf' Ayurveda centre directly opposite Molly's and I treated myself to an excellent massage there. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We had a first floor room and think this is the best option if you can request one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bclubleyprima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Best place we stayed while in India. Fantastic value and only eight rooms so personalised service, very private and secure. Great rooms with private balconies, air conditioned, huge bathroom, breakfast included.
Heather and Dharma are fantastic hosts and did I mention the restaurant. Kovalam is wall to wall restaurants but we didn't bother to go anywhere else the food was that good and brilliantly priced. The tandoor chef is a gifted man, the tandoori chicken and the paneer tika are the best I have ever eaten. Try the Kerala Chilli Chicken, divine.
Can't say enough good things about the place really. If you do stay when you walk to the beach turn left and climb the steps over the hill the next beach is a real stand out

Room Tip: Try the leather handbag shop next door, fantastic quality, top names
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark_Albany_Aust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Just had a wonderful, relaxing 4 days at the beautiful Molly's. Was feeling rather jaded after 3 wks travelling around but our stay at Molly's was a wonderful end to the trip. Nice and quiet with very friendly, helpful staff. Nice big , clean rooms and the breakfast was the best we had in India. In fact all the food we ate at Mollys was great! Heather and Dharma were very accommodating of all our requests, eg computer use, late check out, taxi bookings etc. We also prefered Samudra beach to the nearby Lighthouse beach- but its only a 5 min taxi ride if you do want to go there. Would definately recommemnd Molly's to anybody wanting to stay in Kovalam.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayk_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Just got back from another fantastic three weeks. Would whole heartedly agree with what DoverSunseeker have commented. Pool has now been sorted with a new pump water very clear. Staff as usual nothing too much trouble, same with Dharma and Heather all of whom make you feel part of the family. Again the rooms are brilliant, spacious and clean. Hot showers and air con all working. Have been Mollys for a number of years and againg waiting to book for the end of this year. Having stayed a many of the hotels in Kovalam this one is the best. We had many hits on our review last year and the experience has not lessened.
If you get a chance please try this hotel. It is well worth it and value for money. Pam and Brian Mitchell

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madmitchLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Loved it at molly's, stayed for 12 nights. Great location, 1 minute walk to Samudra beach or 15 mins walk to the busier Lighthouse beach. Really well run by the friendly/helpful/knowledgable Dharma and Heather who do what they can to make your stay the most comfortable. All the staff were brilliant and the restaurant serves ace indian and continental food. Clean, spacious rooms all with a large balcony overlooking the pool. what more can i say? Can't wait to go back...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Not a lot to add to other positive reviews.
Having stayed at the supposedly 4 star Uday Samudra Hotel across the road, Molly's is definitely superior in terms of rooms and service. Good little team, good food, good value, good location.

Room Tip: 8 north facing (ie cooler) rooms and 2 cottages available. 4 rooms ground floor, 4 rooms on first f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ContessaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.2 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
0.9 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#4 of 52 in Kovalam
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
0.3 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#5 of 52 in Kovalam
557 reviews
0.7 mi away
Thushara Hotel
Thushara Hotel
#19 of 52 in Kovalam
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Molly's Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Molly's Retreat

Property: Molly's Retreat
Address: Samudra Beach G V Raja Road, Kovalam 695527, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Molly`s Retreat Hotel Kovalam
Molly's Retreat Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing