We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best beach resort of my life so far..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sagara Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 53 Hotels in Kovalam
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I visited kovalam for the first time.The moment i entered the hotel, we were surprised to see this beautiful resort.excellent view,good room ,well behaved front staff,good ambince ....every thing perfect..I had thorough discussion with Mr.shibu Director about the history of this resort....EXCELLENT PROPERTY.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautifully designed.however upper floors provides beautiful view of swimming pool,kov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parbat-Rathore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (603)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 603 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

Having stayed in both the Sagara Hotel and their Winter House Apartments(WHA) Complex for the last 15 years I can assure guests that both management teams work extremely hard to ensure that all their guests needs are met during their stay. As with most of the small tourist accommodation in Kovalam the WHA are set back from the beach front surrounded by coconut groves which attracts local wild life. Upon arrival WHA guests are met at the airport by taxi and set down at the Temple in Lighthouse Road were they will be greeted by one or two headloaders who will carry their luggage along the path leading to the WHA. Unfortunately, travellers from the UK land early morning which means that they have to negotiate a three munite walk along the pathway which can be uneven in places in the dark, the headloaders will light the way by torch. (Timed by my husband who uses a walking stick). Guests will find that the WHA studio rooms exceptionally clean with all necessary amenities.

The beach front is less than a five minute walk down hill from WHA (again timed by my husband)

I highly recommend the WHA and love staying there. You will too. Happy Holiday!

Room Tip: All three studio rooms in the Winterhouse Apartments are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanj872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We visited the Place in December 2011...We have taken the Pool View Room and stayed there for almost 2 days.It was our Most memorable stay..The Staff was friendly, The Place was neat,Clean and well maintained. Its at walking distance from Kovalam Beach...Food is good...So the Place is awesome and one should stay In this Hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Charan_Ravleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I stayed in this hotel in this July and wanted to enjoy the rains of Kerala. Kerala is excellent in rainy season with lush green plants, trees all around with excellent sea view. The peculiarity of this hotel is you can enjoy sea view even from your balconies being at a good height. Well laid down planing with local architecture,with 2 swimming pools, excellent exposure to the surrounding with fresh air all around. This is a budget hotel with excellent service. The staff is very courteous and ready to help anytime. There are many seat outs so that within the hotel campus one can enjoy the sea. The sea was little rough being the rainy season yet one can go close safely as much as possible. The rooms are large and well planed with all modern amenities. The place is worth staying for a day. But Kovalam beach has been completely spoiled due to various commercial activities with many shops and small hotels. The light house spreads the light in the night is an enjoyable view with darkness of night.The restaurant is nicely located allowing you to view sea and there is also seat outs in the restaurant so one can enjoy dinner in open air in the night.

Room Tip: The wifi is only in lobby rooms facing sea are more enjoyable particularly on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JayantSathe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Probably a plush hotel by local standards but it has seen better days. Being open to the elements, public areas were very slippery as it was approaching monsoon season. There was a lot of condensation on the floor of the room as huge gaps were evident around the door leading to the outside balcony. Caution with the gaps between the glass panes on the balcony if you have toddlers. Older kids need watching as chairs on the balcony are easy access to climb on and reach the top of the guard railings. The pool was freezing cold although it was off season. The restaurant was of a very good standard for food quality although the buffet breakfast was a little disappointing with Western variety. The restaurant floor was dangerous with some sort of silicone covering the steps and dining area. Banging doors to treacherous shafts were a night nuisance and a great danger to kids should they investigate further. These doors are on every landing and need locking as the shafts run from the top floor to the bottom as pipes are located inside. An accident waiting to happen.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms to watch soaring Kites (birds) and Eagles
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jag w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I am not total satisfactory about this hotel. We can stay on it but hotel doesnt have private beach, but its closer to beach. Overall its goood & Decent Hotel.

Food is good but not tasty. I Had Peaceful & happy Stay..

Nice Place But not given Extraordinary experience.

Room Tip: Try Beach View Rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SHIVAPRABHU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night with my family in the suite room
Room was very spacious with excellent panoramic view of the beach and horizon
The room had a sit out where you can enjoy the sea breeze

The food was also great with all fresh fish items for a very reasonable prize
The buffet spread was average, may be because of the off season time I visited and less number of guest at that time

Had two good swimming pools which was in the shade so we could swim till almost noon
The staff were friendly and very helpful
Parking space is adequate and safe
Wifi available only in the lobby
There is some erosion to the wooden doors because of the salty wind

The light house beach and marine aquarium are at walkable distance from the hotel

To sum up a very enjoyable destination

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Madhu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.3 mi away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#27 of 53 in Kovalam
254 reviews
1.4 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Searock Beach Resort
Searock Beach Resort
#29 of 53 in Kovalam
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#5 of 53 in Kovalam
1,079 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#6 of 53 in Kovalam
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagara Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagara Beach Resort

Address: Light House Road | Vizhinjam P.O., Thrivandrum, Kovalam 695 521, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range: £31 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sagara Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sagara Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagara Beach Hotel Kovalam
Sagara Beach Resort Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing