We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Greenshore Apartments
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent little hotel”
Reviewed 16 December 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Greenshore apartments for 2 weeks from 20th November 2009. From day one, the personal pick from the airport arranged by the owner, the service we received was second to none. Nothing was too much trouble for the attentive and friendly staff and we were given lots of valuable and useful information considering it was our first trip to India.

The hotel is in our opinion ideally situated, close enough to a lovely beach (we preferred the small beach to the left of the hotel which was more private and prettier), restaurants and shops, but far enough away to aford peaceful surroundings. The rooms were of a good size and immaculately clean with a good size balcony, just perfect for that late night gin and tonic!

Overall we would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a quiet and hassel free visit to Kovalam and would like to thank Ian, Lynn and all the staff for a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dudley4602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    48
    7
    9
    6
See reviews for
33
106
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2009

Having stayed at Greenshore for 5 nights, we were pleased with our stay. The service offered by all the staff was efficient and friendly.
Ian and Lynn were great hosts and we enjoyed a few drinks with them. As it was our wedding anniversary they were kind enough to upgrade us to a room with a better view.
Greenshore is situated approx a 3-4 min walk down the hill to the beach,away from the noise and hustle bustle.
Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Thanks to all the lovely staff

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dhasap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2009

I was in Kovalam in early November and it was my first time in India. I did not know what to expect. The hotel fully met my expectations: the room was spacious, very clean with a sea view (302) and AC. The staff was helpful and very friendly. The airport transfer service is a great addition, especially when you arrive at 5 a.m. The hotel is slightly away from the beach but, at least, it can guaranty some peace from the noise created by the sea. Overall, I am very happy with my experience with Greenshore apartments and would like to come back next year.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoraNik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rkid121
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2009

This was the second stay of the holiday and was brilliant Ian Lynn and the rest of the team couldn`t do enough for us to make our stay bliss.

The rooms were immaculate as was the rest of the appartments, even had cable on the tv to watch a bit of footy ( i know bit sad ) after the nightmare of the Jeevan house (see review ) this was sooo good.

The owner Ian even bought us desert on the last night when we went to our favourite resturant Sea Bee go and see flash for a good meal and service.

Would recommend this place to stay with such good value for money.

Hope to see you all again kids said to say hello to Nassa.

simon.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rkid121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2009

Ian, Lynn, Kannan, Nazir, Naushad, Sindhu and Missy together make your stay at this truly well appointed hotel in Kovalam a memorable and repeatable experience. Having stayed in other hotels around the place in the past, we must say this was a pleasantly different act altogether. It is not bang on the beach, but then, if you (like us) are not looking for such a hotel, we do not see why you should not stay at the Greenshore Apartments. It is tucked away up, a 2-3 minute walk from the Lighthouse beach.

We and our two kids (aged 7 and 3) stayed at Greenshore for four days and really liked everything about it. In addition to it being really clean and tidy like some international hotels the folks running the show (named above) make it very comfortable and easy for you. You do not miss the in-house restaurant in the hotel, as Kovalam has more than a few choices of food - for the international visitor as well as for Indians. However there is breakfast served on the terrace, which seems to be good. Since we were on a Kerala-style-food-only drive this visit, we could not try any breakfast. However we must highlight, that on our request and as a special case, we got to taste some fantastic Kerala-style fried fish and curry from the local catch that we got one day and which the staff happily agreed to prepare for us. We had bought butterfish (locally called "paara"), which was plentiful that day.

What sets apart Greenshore from the rest, are the small things, the bells and whistles kind of tuning that the people running it have perfected. We most likely will go there next time we are in Kovalam.

As Malayalees ourselves, but based in Mumbai, we surely have an advantageous perspective while passing judgement on a hotel in the native place. And the verdict without doubt is a thumbs-up for Greenshore. Highly, highly recommended!

Suchita and Nitin Sahadevan

Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank voyages4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2009

My partner and I stayed at the Greenshore in September 09.

We had the top floor apartment with A/C and large balcony, with great views of the lighthouse and sea below.

The room was very clean, the staff helpful and kind, and the location for the beach, shops, bars and restaurants is great. All within a five minute stroll.

Recommended

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NottinghamTrundler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tommy-32137
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2009

We stayed at Greenshore Apartment for a couple of weeks. They staff there are very friendly and always helpful. The rooms are tidy, cleaned daily to a good standard and very presentable. I felt it was a little expensive for what you got and we didn't receive a discount for a longer stay as advertised, the electricity went out for a few nights when ever it rained which was a bit frustrating. However the rooms are very comfortable and the staff really try their best for you and are very genuine.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tommy_32137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IMK24, Owner/MD at Greenshore Apartments, responded to this review, 10 August 2009
I am glad that your stay with us was enjoyable and our staff are up to their usual very high standard.

The electricity problem was area wide so not under our control, a generator would prove to be to noisy in the quite surroundings we are in.

The discount applies to stays of one month or more.

Regards

Ian Knox MD Greenshore apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.4 mi away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#21 of 52 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
1.3 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#4 of 52 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Sea View Palace
Hotel Sea View Palace
#22 of 52 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sagara Beach Resort
Sagara Beach Resort
#14 of 52 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.8 mi away
Thushara Hotel
Thushara Hotel
#18 of 52 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenshore Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenshore Apartments

Property: Greenshore Apartments
Address: Lighthouse Road, Kovalam 695521, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kovalam
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family-run hotel near to two of India's world-renowned beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Greenshore Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenshore Apartments Kovalam, Kerala
Greenshore Apartments Hotel Kovalam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing