We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restaurant lets it down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Surya Hotel Kediri
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Kediri
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Restaurant lets it down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

I had an ok time here, but have taken the time to review it in detail as it is a hotel with a lot more potential if the staff and management really wanted to, so I my observations can contribute to this.

Front Desk very cluttered, boxes in sight, un-engaging associates. Did not feel welcome at all, no acknowledgement or welcome, just a check-in with loud communication with housekeeping on the status of the room. Same at check-out though, were they went through great lengths to verify if there was any consumption from the minibar. Hotel lobby does look nice though, clean and nice ramadan decoration.

Room comfort was ok but poor build quality. Rooms have individual aircon-compressors build outside, but in an alcove so that it is actually under the desk in the room, only separated by a thin gypsum wall, with even daylight coming through - so not properly sealed too. Complicated but it comes down to a lot of aircon noise in the room.

Bed I felt was comfortable and bathroom ok, however water temperature in evening was too low (morning good) and the water had a sewage smell, an issue I am familiar with (due to idle water in pipes) but it was gone after we flushed the room - no issue.

The worst thing in my opinion was how the restaurant was managed. During the day the main restaurant is quite dim but they did not switch on the lights or even play music so the atmosphere was dark and uninviting (even on corridors the lights are off - money saving?). A La carte lunch quality was ok for the indonesian food, but the arabic promo was effortless and not close to authentic. During the 1 hour lunch the outdoor area was quite windy, so napkins, cutlery - the like - was all over the floor and a table was left uncleared during the entire time. Staff was too busy making preparations for the evening buffet to look after our table or to be bothered to clear outside (only us in the restaurant at the time). No management visibility to rectify any of this. When we engaged with the staff they were very pleasant though, but they missed a hospitality mindset.

Evening buffet was really extremely poor. Concept was indonesian and the price very low (55k nett), but no effort really was made. Limited selection, quality lower than the local restaurants and setup really uninspiring. Every effort was made to save costs. I suggest to raise the price a bit and at least put something out to be proud of.

Breakfast in that respect was much better in selection, but again the staff lacked attentiveness. Not a lot of staff around though either, except at the cashier. They really made sure the billing was accurate.

The restaurant experience was extremely poor, this hotel should really consider to increase the spending on staff, training and food (switch on some lights and music). It could make the place so much better.

We had a look at the spa as well, weird layout where the couple room is entered from the male and female locker (to separate gender), but at the same time it is next to the fitness showers, so you are treated on noise from this during the treatment if you choose too.

Unfortunately the pool is located on the shaded and windy side of the hotel (Kediri is a bit cooler than other areas of Indonesia) so the experience here is not too good either and there were swimming classes for local kids at the time. So noisy experience as well.

Overall it looks like that savings are done in a way it effects the guests and revenue is driving, conflicting with resident guests. Until this is more successfully managed the hotel won't satisfy more picky travellers.

It didn't spoil my trip as I didn't stay here to be impressed, so still 3 stars, but please find your expectations managed before booking - something "The best of Kediri" might do in a wrong way.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eboht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    71
    43
    8
    5
See reviews for
53
24
8
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
968 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Most reviews state that the Grand Surya hotel is the best in Kediri - this may well be the case, however 1 night is enough (we stayed for two!!) . On the positive side the front office staff are helpful and the hotel provides tours of the local cigarette factory every other day which was impressive.
Rooms are average, beds are uncomfortable and hurt our backs and breakfasts leave a lot to be desired!
If you are on the way to Mount Bromo this hotel is popular for a stop to break up the journey, one night is enough!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AvidTraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

It's a nice hotel and very friendly staff and clean rooms.
I only stayed one night. Very quiet and spacious rooms. The breakfast is ok with good service.
I didn't like the fact, that the bathrooms have shower curtains.
I'd recommend this any time and will say again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jekoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

Hotel Grand surya is perfect for 2-3 nights stay.
room is clean and furniture are ok, need to upgrade the bed and tv.
Didnt get a chance to try its breakfast coz we had to leave very early in the morning.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faa05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

We were travelling through to mount Bromo and stopped for the evening at the grand Surya. Service was good, but the room was nothing special and the airco pump was in the room and in our case it kept making a lot of noise (though less after someone came over to fix it). Also, when we got back from dinner and the taxi driver tried to scam us, no support from the hotel staff who did nothing more than translate the amount we had to pay.
Breakfast was nice and the bar is good for a quick smoke (if you fancy one) and a beer, but service is a bit slow.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank DJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

During my stay at the GSH the hotel staff organised a BBQ Party at Karang Gongso beach for "long stay guests".. Really, really enjoyable day. Everything well planned. Lots of food, soft drinks, fruit. Towels and beach mats all provided. All laid out under a shady tree. A heartfelt "thank you" to all who worked so hard to make sure the day went so well.

Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank OffoxeyFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palu, Indonesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012 via mobile

I stayed in grand surya hotel for 14 days, i felt like never want to go out the room, so clean with nice interior and good facilities as swimming pool and massage, every friday night we can enjoy live music in their lobby cafe.

Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dhani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kediri hotels
1.3 mi away
Viva Hotel Kediri by Frontone
3.1 mi away
Bukit Daun Hotel
Bukit Daun Hotel
#4 of 11 in Kediri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lotus Garden Hotel
Lotus Garden Hotel
#3 of 11 in Kediri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Merdeka
Hotel Merdeka
#5 of 11 in Kediri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
1.0 mi away
Insumo Palace Hotels & Resorts
0.4 mi away
Citihub Hotel @ Kediri
Citihub Hotel @ Kediri
#6 of 11 in Kediri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Surya Hotel Kediri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Surya Hotel Kediri

Property: Grand Surya Hotel Kediri
Address: Jln. Dhoho 95, Kediri 64123, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Kediri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Kediri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Surya Hotel Kediri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Surya Hotel Kediri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing