We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our daughter's wedding in Bali staying at The Shore”
Review of The Shore Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canggu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Shore Villa
Ranked #73 of 302 Speciality Lodging in Canggu
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We are from the New Jersey area and traveled all the way to Bali for our daughter's wedding (she lives in Tokyo, a bit closer for her) Anyway, when we arrived at The Shore Villa it was above any of our expectations. My husband and I and six children ranging from 30 to 26 were all in awe as we went through each of the rooms to see who would be staying in what room. The quite picky kids were quick to say what a good job I had done in choosing this villa. They loved the living room with the pool underneath and we spent many nights there having our game nights.

Michael, the manager, Dewa, our driver, thank you and all the staff for meeting all of our needs. The dinners that we ate at the villa were delicious, as were the breakfasts. The kids loved the Meigorang and Nusi Gorang (not sure of the spelling). They also loved their neatly folded and ironed laundry that came every day. The staff was so friendly and accommodating but made sure not to intrude on your privacy. Dewa, a special thank you from the kids, they felt like you were one of their buds!

I would definitely recommend this villa. It was right on the ocean, the views were fantastic and loved the interesting Bali ceremonies that took place right out on the beach in front of us! The pools were great with the padded lounge chairs and fresh new towels placed on them every day. We loved the smell of the laundry detergent, by the way. Just had to add that because all six kids mentioned it.

Canggu is also one of the best areas to stay at with the beautiful rice fields that you pass on your way to the villa and is much more quiet than some of the areas of Bali that we visited. If Bali was not so far away, we would definitely return to The Shore. We miss it already.

LuAnn, Frank Cofone & family

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank luann c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2012

This was the second villa we stayed in in Bali. We loved the design of the house and it's situation looking out over the ocean. It has everything you need. The area is lovely and tranquil - away from the rush of the touristy areas but accessible enough if you want to go there. Set near a small traditional village as well as close to many rice paddies - it's authentically Balinese. The staff were really great and cooked us fantastic food. No need to go through the schlep of going to restaurants! Thanks to them all - a great stay had by the whole family

Room Tip: All the rooms have lovely aspects - even the ones at the back of the property which don't have g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

This was my first trip to Bali and I had no idea what to expect. I am afraid I may have been spoilt for all future visits. Our experience of The Shore Villa was just fantastic. We were a group of 10 - 3 couples and our (almost) adult children 16, 19, 21 and 21. It was just perfect for us. The "kids" had their own rooms out the front and the adults had great rooms in a separate building.
I do agree this house is not suitable for young children as there is the most fantastic pool that runs through the front yard and right under the house! There are no fences around the pool so it is idyllic but if you had young children you would be a nervous wreck worrying they might fall in.
We loved being outside of a tourist area and right on the beach. There was always something interesting happening on the beach - a funeral ceremony to scatter ashes in the sea with traditional musicians woke us one morning and we were able to watch the whole ceremony from our balcony! The beach was clean and the house was very secure. We did not swim in the sea- the first few day the sea was quite rough and the pool was definitely a more appealing option.

The staff was exceptional with a great cook and plenty of variety in what you could order - although we did not order any non Indonesian food. However the driver Dewa was probably the person who made our trip . Nothing was too much bother. As there were 10 of us and the bus only takes 7 we sometimes had to get another vehicle and Dewa arranged a second driver - Dewa Two for those trips. Dewa was really helpful tracking down things we wanted to see and do. Dewa was also very good at keeping track of the younger members of our party which was also appreciated.
We found Michael very approachable and although we did not see him often we did not need to! We did lose our water on two evenings late at night but is was not a drama and was back on by the morning.
I have recommended this villa this friends and would love to go back one day.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I have stayed at numerous villas in bali and this is one of the worst. The villa is quite old and there were quite a number of things that did not work. Some of the air conditioning was not cold enough, we did not have water in our rooms in one day...these were fixed quite quickly though. The villa manager was very unhelpful. He only comes in the afternoon and hides in his office with his computer. He has no idea on what is happening. There was one day when we had no bathroom towels. On our last day, we were told that we had to pay cash. In all our other villas, we were able to pay by credit card. We just did not have enough local currency and left a bad 'taste' on the last day. The only saving grace is that there is a good team of staff who tried to make up for his inadequacies. The chef was great though we were not told in advance to get our own groceries on the first day so we were left starving that afternoon. Luckily, there was some canned tuna and baked beans left from the last visitors.

Given the large number of options in bali, I would recommend that you look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank junnie20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShoreBali, Manager at The Shore Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Dear Junnie20,

Thank you for submitting your review. We are regretful that on this occasion we fell short of your expectations. We sincerely care for all our guests and take all feedback seriously.

On the occasion you experienced shortage of water, our pool man was doing some work which resulted in low water pressure. This was an oversight on our part and we can assure you that it won’t happen again. Our towels are laundered daily and we are sorry that an unfortunate sequence of events that day caused some delay. As you are now aware, the air condition’s remote control was not set on ‘cool’ mode, resulting in less than cool air. We apologise for all the inconveniences and are glad to know that they were all rectified immediately.

We are extremely sorry that there was a miscommunication about food and that was our fault. We usually never have a problem communicating with guests and preparing groceries in advance of arrival. Unfortunately it is not always possible as in this case when the booking comes from a travel agent, as Bali agents prefer not to reveal guests’ contact details. Thank you for your constructive feedback and valuable suggestion on how we can improve this process.

On the contrary we are delighted that you think we have a great cook and that our staff work cohesively as a team.

We deeply apologise if you felt you were not given enough attention. To allow our guests to enjoy peace and privacy we try to be as unobtrusive as possible though we are always on the property. Nevertheless, your valuable feedback has given us a reason to improve the way we interact with our guests in future.

Lastly, we assure you that upgrading and refurbishment works are carried out throughout the year as being beachfront, we are constantly subject to the elements. More renovation work is being carried out this month following an annual review with our architect.

Should we ever have a chance to welcome you back at the Shore, we hope to prove that your comments and feedback have been taken seriously.

Michael Siagian
Villa Manager
The Shore Villa, Bali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Definitely recommend this villa. We stayed here with 10 friends & two kids. Not the most kid friendly place, however, just ask for Putu Nanny Service & she'll put your mind at ease & ur kids will love her!
The villa itself is stunning & look after every need. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neeks21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Our stay at The Shore Villa was very relaxing in an idyllic setting, the villa is located close to the beach and has magnificent ocean views from the main house. Each of the 5 King size bedrooms have their own luxurious ensuite bathroom and very comfortable king-sized beds.

The Villa is set in beautifully maintained gardens and has two swimming pools, a large infinity pool at the front of the house and a lap pool through the raised living area. It is an ideal setting for anyone who wants to experience Bali without the crowds of some of the main tourist areas.

The staff at the villa are most helpful and provide top rate service for the guests, this includes access to a driver who will take you to wherever you would like to go in Bali. The food was always excellent and the Villa is kept exceptionally clean at all times. Nothing was ever too much trouble for the friendly efficient staff.

It was difficult to leave such a beautiful and idyllic location.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

For 8 days we were spoilt in many different ways. The Shore Villa itself is the Perfect accommodation in a fantastic location. Close enough to the airport and the action of Kuta, but far enough away to make you feel like you have the Island of Bali to yourself. The Villa has 5 double bedrooms with complete bathrooms and three have magnificent ocean views while the other two catch an ocean glimpse. With its magnificent infinity pool and 25m lap pool, the Villa commands a magnificent elevated position virtually on the waterfront. When you step onto the beach you have the choice of walking to Echo beach one way or to a beautiful ocean front temple the other. You are located in a typical Balinese Village that is amongst a sea of rice paddies and waterfront boat sheds. The Village is also home to many local fishermen and the beach is home to a small number of outrigger style fishing boats that venture in and out throughout the day.
The staff at the Villa were absolutely fabulous and nothing was ever too much trouble. The house/kitchen staff were always there to provide whatever we had pre-ordered on each day and our driver Dewa provided exceptional service and advice when sourcing tours or local products. He was so punctual and always arrived prior to our appointed times. The grounds and gardens at the Villa are kept in pristine condition and with a towel place on your lounge by the pool what more could you ask for.
We had the most relaxing time and experienced the true local Balinese flavour and hospitality. We hope to one day return to The Shore to experience again all that it has to offer.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeffrey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canggu hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Tugu Bali
Hotel Tugu Bali
#2 of 40 in Canggu
841 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lv8 Resort Hotel
Lv8 Resort Hotel
#16 of 40 in Canggu
275 reviews
1.2 mi away
FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Villa Berawa
Villa Berawa
#4 of 40 in Canggu
330 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ngeluwungan Boutique Villa
2.2 mi away
Legong Keraton Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shore Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shore Villa

Address: JL Pantai Seseh | Desa Cemagi, Canggu 80351, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > North Kuta > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 302 Speciality Lodging in Canggu
Price Range: £637 - £1,011 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shore is probably the most unique private beachfront villa in Bali. The property is located in a colourful village less than 25 km from the International Airport of Bali and 12 km from the nightlife of Seminyak. Our five-suite luxury villa offers full services and facilities and unobstructed 180-degree view on the surfs of the Indian Ocean. Welcome ! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Shore Villa Hotel Canggu
The Shore Villa Bali/Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing