We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good... but value for money?”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Oazia Spa Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oazia Spa Villas
Ranked #85 of 255 Speciality Lodging in Canggu
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good... but value for money?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights recently as part of our honeymoon. I enjoyed the 1 bed villa, but I'd offer some advice as my new Mrs wasn't as impressed.

It's very expensive compared to other accommodation in Bali. We also stayed at the Mulia (Nusa Dua) - very good, Kamandalu (Ubud) - awesome!, Villa Balquisse (jimbaran) - good.

It's not really close to anything so you have to use the driver to take you places. It was a nice surprise when they said they'd take us to Ubud to the next location on our trip :-). They are also really happy to take you and pick you up from Kuta etc. They supply a local phone for you to call them when you want a pick up which was unexpected and really good.

Coming from the Mulia it was a bit of an anti-climax, and what was meant to be a highlight wasn't really as great as we expected. Spa prices where quite high (as we had come to expect) compared to the more local venues. If you really want a villa and are going to spent a lot of time in the villa then this is good but if you are going to explore then you'll be using the driver a lot and won't get value for money.

Basically, it was good, but for 2 days here we paid a similar price for 4 days at Kamadalu in Ubud. No contest.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jfstephe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    5
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
44
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

My husband and I were here for a long weekend without the kids to celebrate our birthdays and wedding anniversary. This was our first trip ever without the kids (aged 3 and 5) so we wanted a place that was private, peaceful, free of screaming children and with a good variety of spa treatments on offer. Oazia fit the bill perfectly.

I had booked the Orchid Villa (1br) but was kindly upgraded to Villa Aqua (2 bdr). We only used the downstairs bedroom - I am not sure how much use would one would get out of the second bedroom as the stairs up to it are quite steep and the room itself is hot.

LOCATION .SETTING. VILLA DESIGN.

Positives
-Wonderful and tranquil location at the end of a "gang" but only a short drive to Seminyak or Canggu.
- Beautifully and thoughfully designed (I believe the owner is an ID and this is reflected in her choice of furnishings) in what I would label as "shabby chic European" style which makes a refreshing change to the dark teak often found in many of the traditional Balinese villas.
- Huge, great use of space, bright and breezy (note there is no ac or ceiling fans in the pavilions but we found them to be unnecessary), lovely garden and pool with lots of interesting design pieces.

Not so positive
- Aqua villa is starting to show its age (but not the common parts which were wonderfully maintained), particularly in the master bedroom where there stains on the wall under the ac unit and the wardrobes looked old and smelled musky.
- I personally am not a fan of open air bathrooms but I appreciate that this is Bali and this is part of the attraction for many. The bathroom needed more surface space to put toiletries. Towels on the first days were tattered and had a small hole.
- I found the bed to be very uncomfortable. Not sure why but everytime my husband moved just a fraction the whole bed moved. Neither of us slept well but this could simply be because we are used to our very firm bed at home. So not really a negative.. ?
- Cleanliness of the bedroom could be improved. I noticed marks on the walls (I think lizard droppings), the floor felt a bit sticky under foot and the big one - when we left I opened the bedside tables to check I had not left anything behind only to find six boxes of condoms lying around. Some boxes were opened but thankfully there were no used condoms in the batch! Either these were a welcome gift from Oazia (!) or the bedroom had not been properly cleaned between guests!!!

SPA
Amazing, amazing, amazing. I think this is what Oazia is all about. Hubby and I had a treatment for each day of our stay (so total 6 treatments ) and they were all excellent. Miss Ayu and her colleague were excellent therapists and the spa pavilion itself is just lovely - imagine having a massage with the wind blowing, the river trickling in the background and birds singing. It was really like out of a movie.

FOOD
Breakfast was included but apart from that we didn't eat at Oazia so I can not really comment. Breakfast was simple and good: eggs, fruit and yoghurt. We also had rice paper rolls and zucchini pancakes as a snack one day and they were good. Note there is no meat on the menu at all. this was not an issue for us but meat eaters might be disappointed.

SERVICE
Excellent. From Miss Ayu who handled my reservations swiftly and efficiently (and who is an equally excellent spa therapist) to Ketut the friendly and knowledgable driver to the smiling pool man.... All the OAZIA staff really deserve a mention.

HOW TO IMPROVE?
All in all we had a really enjoyable and relaxing short stay at Oazia but I believe there are a few minor things that could be improved to really elevate Oazia to excellent:
- general cleaning of the bedroom (see my comment above)
-attention to detail (I noticed that the fresh flowers were dying) also it was my hubby's and my birthdays and our anniversary and I mentioned this at the time of booking. Of course, we were not expecting any rose petals on the bed, champagne in the bath etc but in my experience most hotels would bring a small cake or a bottle of wine or something without you having to ask. Not a deal breakerbut, again, it's the little touches (like making sure flowers are fresh) that go a long way.

I would recommend Oazia to spa going couples looking for a peaceful and private break or honeymooners. I do not think Oazia is suitable for families with young children or those with mobility issues because of the layout of the villas and the steps.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank c00kiemonsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

What an amazing week myself, my wife and our 4 kids spent in this tropical paradise .
Our luxurious 4 bedroom villa had everything we could dream of and more.
Our youngest 2 boys enjoyed the beautiful pool and my wife and 2 girls became addicted to the sumptuous treatments in Oazias award winning spa.
The staff included our own private chef, housekeeper and chauffeur, all of whom made this the holiday of a lifetime !
Thank you so much everyone,
We will be back

David

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davewelsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

very nice villa, silence place, with friendly service from the staff, they have very nice spa with river view, really feel like in heaven. free stransport service around seminyak, canggu and kuta area. complimentary a bottle of wine during arrival. i was stay here for 5 days, i really enjoyed my holiday. The place is very clean, the room is fantastic set up, with beautiful garden and big swimming pool.

Room Tip: for family is better take aqua villa, with 2 bed room, up and down stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KetutNik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denpasar
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Unforgetable spot ! From we enter the villas we are wondering how this will look like, as it is located in the end of village road. But soon, we amazed for the beauty of every spot it is designed. After spending some time and through the night, we are realize that the villas has unique atmosphere and the nature river which is flowing in the middle of villa bring more exotic.
All staff gave us excellent service and simplicity during our holiday.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

After traveling for 4 weeks, we ended our vacation at Oazia for a few nights. We were blown away by the beauty of this resort. The minute you arrive onto the grounds, you are transported to a different world filled with peace and harmony. I've never experiences such a relaxing atmosphere before. I've stayed at many 5 star resorts, but this one is the most unique experience and most enjoyable experience I've ever had. We were upgraded to Villa White from Villa Aqua. The breath-taking, chic design was a true Balinese experience. We craved the delicious food after we left the resort, and the fresh juices were amazing. The staff was so calm and caring for you every need that we felt like royalty. Because there are only 3 villas on the property, you are given true service at any moment. Overall, this hotel is such a great value for everything you get - private car service, cell phone, breakfast, and massage treatment! Our personal assistant, Ketut, was so kind and always available to drive us to where we needed. The entire staff made our experience unforgettable, and I was so sad to leave this resort. If only I could live here...

Room Tip: Bring bug spray. Don't be afraid of nature's creatures as you will find them throughout the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricci P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

My partner and I really needed a place where we could leave the world behind. Both executives in stressful jobs, we left all decision making to the most wonderful caring and divine staff. Set in old Bali, down a little street off a bustling local road, Oazia Spa Villas is like a parallel universe. Our 5 night stay wasn't long enough. We ventured out on a couple of day trips but really just wanted a retreat from the world. Spa sessions daily in our own beautiful and expansive villa. We felt like we were a world away. Beautifully and artfully decorated, Villa Aqua just breathes escapism and tranquillity. It took us a few days back at home to snap out of our reverie.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maree S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canggu
1.2 mi away
Theanna Eco Villa and Spa
1.3 mi away
Aradhana Villas
Aradhana Villas
#4 of 35 in Canggu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
1.8 mi away
THE HAVEN SUITES Bali Berawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Soori Bali
Soori Bali
#1 of 13 in Tabanan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kalapa Boutique Resort and Spa
1.9 mi away
Villas Canggu
Villas Canggu
#127 of 255 in Canggu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oazia Spa Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oazia Spa Villas

Property: Oazia Spa Villas
Address: Jl. Sahadewa Br. Anyar, Canggu 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 255 Speciality Lodging in Canggu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oazia Spa Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At OAZIA, we advocate holistic lifestyle, and no detail is unimportant to us – from the interiors to the spa cuisine to designing the guests’ itineraries - everything is tailored to offer the best of Bali. White fabrics, limestone and crystal chandeliers, combined with the garden full of scents of frangipani and gardenia, create an atmosphere of peace and tranquillity with a touch of luxury. Three individually designed villas, which themselves are masterpieces, are completed with works of contemporary Indonesian art and antiquities. Each villa boasts an array of luxury amenities, including a large swimming pool, a fully equipped kitchen, a spacious semi-outdoor living-room and the plentiful lounge areas – all that topped off with complete privacy. Pleasant extras include a private car with driver and a mobile phone with a local SIM-card – both are complimentary and remain at guests’ disposal throughout their stay. What truly differentiates OAZIA from the myriad of other retreats is that anyone staying here is treated like the owners’ personal guest. The guests are welcomed on arrival, encouraged to call directly with any questions or issues, and are welcome to join for lunch, dinner or party, should they feel like exploring the social side of life in Seminyak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oazia Spa Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oazia Spa Villas Hotel Canggu
Oazia Spa Villas Bali/Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing