We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay in a quieter part of Bali”
Review of Villa Echo Beach

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canggu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Echo Beach
Ranked #53 of 267 Speciality Lodging in Canggu
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay in a quieter part of Bali”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We stayed as a group over the Easter weekend and had the three bedroom villa at the bottom of the driveway. The villa had a lovely open plan kitchen, dining and living area. The bedrooms were quite spacious, clean, beds comfortable and clean, straightforward bathrooms. Everything worked well (aircon was great!) and the staff were fantastic! So helpful and friendly at all hours. Our driver was also fantastic - probably the best I've ever had in Bali and he recommended some delicious warungs to visit.

The Echo Beach Villas are great to stay at if you're looking for a quiet and relaxed holiday away from the bustling Seminyak area or you're a keen surfer. Echo beach was only a 5 min walk away. The location probably didn't work for our group as we wanted to spend most of our time shopping and partying in Seminyak so the 30-45min travel time to get to these areas started to become pretty tiresome. But this was purely our choice.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mishka_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    31
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
84
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geraldton, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

What a lovely part of Bali to experience. Away from the "crowds" but near enough to go and visit for shopping. If you are into surfing; the beach at Canggu is great and the restaurants along the beachfront are just wonderful. Exciting food and wonderful ambience especially when watching the sunsets and all the time you can be very casual in your attire.
We will definitely be recommending Villa Echo Beach to our friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dianne r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We have stayed here twice now and absolutely love it. I cannot speak highly enough of this place, the location is perfect, it is away from the hustle and bustle and Canggu is gorgeous. Echo beach pub is down the road and the food there is fantastic along with the unforgettable sunsets.
The villas are clean and well maintained. Caroline is the Aussie owner and the staff speak very kindly of her. Caroline has always answered my emails promptly and Ketut, the manager, is a lovely funny guy who still remembered me after 2 years. The staff are always lovely and helpful and we have even made friends with our driver. Each villa gets a driver for 8 hours a day and then any extra hours are only $5 an hour which is great.
My fiancé caught a tuna on our last trip and the staff cooked it up for us which was delicious.
Breakfast arrives every morning at the exact time it is ordered.
We are getting married in November and will staying at the villas again.
I cannot speak highly enough of Villa Echo Beach - we love it!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Velle27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Our group of four stayed in early December. Overall, we were somewhat disappointed – but agree, that we should have done more research re the large amount of development underway at Echo Beach. However, this did not stop us from enjoying our stay in southern Bali – we just got out and about and spent minimal time at the villa.

Whilst the villa was cleaned everyday, including the pool, it seemed to be a fairly quick job and the little things were overlooked. There is light algal growth accumulating on the sides and floor of the pool; one of the underwater lights isn’t working – I note in the guests’ comments this was brought to the attention back in November 2011; the second light has an ‘interesting’ wiring system visible on one of the sides as the unit is not flush against the pool wall.

Bat or bird droppings remained uncleaned on one of the kitchen columns and on a few tiles near the pool lounges – this is not simply not good enough. The empty water dispenser in our room remained unchanged during the 4 days we were staying there – sure, I could have brought it to the attention of the house lads, but they equally should be looking for these things on a daily basis.

Breakfasts were uninspiring compared with what we had been experiencing at other accommodation houses we had stayed at in Lovina and Ubud – there is a kitchen with all facilities at the villa, yet breakfast is brought in from elsewhere – and is fairly cold by the time it arrives. Why it isn’t cooked on site in your villa is quite strange. Whilst we were not expecting an a la carte menu, we had hoped for a better choice than say either watermelon or pineapple juice, giving the enormous array of tropical fruits available in the markets.

Two of the three rooms had serious noise issues with the ceiling fans – these were fixed immediately when it was brought to the attention of staff. The solar hot water service is significantly undersized – for a maximum of 6 people it just does not cope; it did not cope with 4 of us, with one couple having cold showers.

On the positive side, the beds were very comfortable with nice firm pillows. Each room had a flat screen TV with a significant DVD collection for use – this is a great touch, even though we were too busy to use it! The downstairs lounge area similarly had a flat screen TV and DVD collection, and the furniture was very comfortable.

Staff were all very pleasant, polite and helpful – they just need some guidance with a few things, as mentioned above. The standout was our driver, Gede, a very pleasant, gentle, obliging man with the patience of Job! Nothing was ever too much trouble for him. The 8-hour free driving service is a great offering, but with the villas so far from anywhere – Seminyak, Legian etc, it is an essential ‘freeby’ to be able to offer guests.

We were very lucky to secure an amazing price for this accommodation on Wotif.com - if we hadn't got this, we would not have stayed here I don't believe.

Thank you for the opportunity to comment on our stay – I have tried to offer constructive comments on things that can be easily remedied.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Macbris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiveCanggu, Owner at Villa Echo Beach, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Dear Macbris,

Thank you kindly for sharing your experience with other TA visitors. Obviously, we are a bit concerned by your feedback and have been looking forward to making a considered and appropriate response after investigating your concerns mentioned.

Firstly, you mentioned development in the area and I would like to clear up that there is absolutely no development immediately surrounding the villas: there are no construction sites or associated noises that can be heard from any of our villas since October 2012.

In the past I have responded to other feedback published on tripadvisor by re-iterating the importance of communication with our staff. Your mention of the pool light not being appropriate fixed against the pool wall is correct, but we actually had to get someone to swim in the pool to see this. If you had brought this to our attention during your stay this would have taken no more than 5 minutes to fix. It is not a procedure for our pool and maintenance team to swim in the pools so we do rely simply on some issues being brought to our attention through guest interaction and feedback. During your stay you probably had no less than 6 employees of Villa Echo Beach at any one time. All our staff speak good english and with your villa manager/supervisor visiting you each day this would have been very appropriate and easy feedback to provide. We apologise for not changing one of the 4 water dispensers in your villa during the 3 days that you stayed with us. This is certainly our oversight but just a quick mention to either your villa manager/supervisor, private driver or housekeeping staff would have had this issue rectified in minutes.

Your mention of the hot water system not being enough for 4 people comes as a big surprise. We have a 150 litre hot water system for the 3 en-suites and a separate hot water system for your kitchen. In the past a shortage of hot water has been a problem but this was rectified over a year ago. But, as mentioned, 150 litres has not been a problem, even with 6 guests in our villas for over a year.

Any bird droppings are actually cleaned/washed away daily - every morning by our garden and maintenance team. On the columns near the kitchen, we have a grout/paint stain that we haven't been able to remove. But I have never seen bat or bird droppings on these columns.

The breakfasts are prepared in the staff kitchen that was immediately outside your villa, not 1 meter from your front door. I am sure that if you had communicated to my staff that you prefer your breakfasts prepared inside your villa we would easily have been able to accommodate this special request. Once again, its a simple as talking with one of our many staff to relay your expectations. We actually have 3 juices to choose from, 5 different styles of eggs, 2 different types of pancakes, 2 choices of bread, fresh mixed fruit platter, Nasi Goreng and Mie Goreng as well. We aplogise if these 10 different choices on our breakfast menu and 3 juices weren't sufficient but we are unable provide a buffet style breakfast as we are not a hotel.

Once again, I thank you for your feedback and have appreciated the opportunity to respond.

All the best, Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Everything was wonderful. The staff, villa, location and our driver were all amazing. I can't wait to return again with my kids! The pool was clean, the breakfast was delicious and the short walk down to dinner for amazing food was great. Nothing was to hard for anyone and I can't wait to visit again. I would highly recommend this as a safe and very comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MrsLadner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Our stay in Villa Echo was a Christmas present to our son, daughter and three grandchildren. You can imagine the dynamics between 7 people aged from 12 to 77!! The villa was great - very spacious, comfortable and well equipped and the staff professional but friendly with ready smiles. Our driver Putra was a 'gem' - nothing phased him and jolly Ketut very helpful with organising things and provided a light hearted touch. We thoroughly enjoyed several dinners cooked by the staff too. Nothing we asked for was too much trouble so we had a very relaxing time. We cannot thank the staff enough for our wonderful stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank celia r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

The Villa Echo Beach was the perfect accommodation for our recently holiday in Bali.
The staff were helpful, friendly and always smiling. Our driver was wonderful, nothing was too much trouble (even when there were four tired, grumpy and loud children in the van).
The layout of the villa is fantastic as every downstairs area has a view of the pool which means you can relax whilst still being able to see the kids playing in the pool. The villa was cleaned more often than I had anticipated (three times a day). The food prepared by the inhouse chef was delicious. Overall, a very easy and relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank k_grace255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canggu hotels
0.2 mi away
FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel
0.1 mi away
Papillon Echo Beach
Papillon Echo Beach
#21 of 35 in Canggu
11 reviews
0.2 mi away
Echo Beach Villa
Echo Beach Villa
#32 of 267 in Canggu
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Sandhya
Villa Sandhya
#68 of 267 in Canggu
20 reviews
0.0 mi away
Echoland
Echoland
#19 of 123 in Canggu
226 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Radian Villa
The Radian Villa
#118 of 267 in Canggu
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Echo Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Echo Beach

Property: Villa Echo Beach
Address: Jl. Pantai Sentosa | Gang Echo, Canggu 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 267 Speciality Lodging in Canggu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 250 meters from Canggu Beach (aka Echo Beach) this complex of private pool villas comprising 2, 3 and 4 bedroom villas. Book direct and receive great rates with full service inclusions - such as daily car with driver, cook for lunch and dinner, breakfasts, 50 Mbps wifi, satellite TV, welcome drink, unlimited drinking water + more. Built in 2008-2010, each building is approximately 330-250m2 on land approximately 350m2. If you are looking for value for money we have the perfect villa for you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Echo Beach Hotel Canggu
Villa Echo Beach Bali/Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing