We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax and unwind”
Review of Villa Echo Beach

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canggu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Echo Beach
Ranked #65 of 312 Speciality Lodging in Canggu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This was our second trip to Bali this year. We loved everything about Echo Beach, the crimson sunsets, beachside dining, delicious cupcakes and tanned surfers.

Villa Echo Beach is perfectly located within walking distance to the beach. We spent our days splashing about in the swimming pool or lazing on the lounges. It's incredibly private.

At night we ventured down to the beach to watch the sun set and drink cocktails.

Special mention must go to the villa's staff. They are a real asset. Nothing was too much trouble for our lovely driver Jana. His colleagues organised a motorbike when we needed one and were always so cheerful.

I will be honest and mention a couple of things though. The curtains in our room were paper-thin, consequently we were wide awake at 5.30am most days. There was no soap to wash your hands with in the bathroom and the bathrooms are extremely dark.

But the villa we stayed in was private, clean and beautifully maintained.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2013

Writing this review sitting at the dining table in the villa on our last morning; and the villa is lovely.

Firstly the location: Echo Beach is a quiet surfing village about 10km North of Seminyak. The villa is about 200m from the beach, you walk down there most days for either lunch or dinner and you have a choice of about 5-6 cafe/restaurants on the beach all of which have an amazing view. If this is your first time to Bali make sure you know that this is a quiet area with very little shopping and no flashy restaurants etc. and for this you'll have to travel into Seminyak. As return visitors to Bali this is exactly what we wanted, so we were thrilled. For us the location is 9/10.

The Villa: We chose a 4 bedroom villa for 2 couples so we had plenty of space. Three of the bedrooms are ensuited, and there is an extra toilet off the large living area.
The pool is fantastic and very clean; as is the entire villa. The villa staff were great: our villa was cleaned twice daily (a quick clean before serving breakfast, and then a more substantial clean in the afternoon), the onsite manager Ketut was friendly and spoke very good English which was helpful for organising things. Our driver Jana was brilliant - he always arrived before the agreed time to get the air conditioning going! Jimmy was always on hand for a chat or to help us organise things - he was super friendly! All up we'd give the villa itself and the staff a very good 8/10.

Things you must do:
- Sunset by the beach. It's simply magic.
- Ole Ole Ollie cupcake shop. It's about 100m down the road, halfway to the beach. The best cupcakes made by the super friendly Olivia who speaks great English and moved here from Jakarta for a lifestyle change.
- 2 for 1 cocktails overlooking the beach. They work out to $3 each. Yep, 3 Aussie dollars.
- Monsieur Spoon. About a km down the road is this little French-inspired patisserie. Just do it.
- Opposite Monsieur Spoon is a rice paddy field. On the edge of this every night a couple set up a little street food stall selling Pork Satay kebabs. 6 small kebabs and rice with satay sauce for $1. Brilliant. Note they don't speak English so you'll be pointing and grunting to order.

Constructive criticism mainly centres around sleep...
- Although we knew it was in a more rural area, we very seriously considered offering the local neighbour however much money he wanted to turn his Rooster into dinner. It does what all roosters do at 5am...
- The dogs who lived in the small side street the villa is on also wake up at about the same time as the rooster and it appears they try to communicate with every other dog in the neighbourhood. Loudly.
- The outdoor and pool lights stay on all night. This is good for security and safety, but not good when the curtains are super thin. I'll definitely recommend to the owners to install rubber-backed blockout curtains.

All in all, our holiday was fantastic. We'll probably never be back to Bali considering how much of the world is left to see but I will recommend this place to anyone who comes.

Room Tip: The 2 big bedrooms are identical and a great size. The ground floor opens up to the pool, and the up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MatthewHerbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

Wow what a place, I've just spent 5 fantastic nights here:) the villa is beautiful but what I liked the most were the amazing staff! We had beautiful Babi Guling for my sons birthday, lovely breakfasts every morning. The boys organised scooters for us and nothing was ever too much trouble! Ketut the manager would greet us each morning, it was great ! Special mention to ketut the cook, Rahtu and the gorgeous Jimi :) will definitely be back :)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Narelleanddamian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We have just returned from staying 10 nights in a 4 bedroom villa (Mawar). There were 4 adults and 4 children and we had the most relaxing holiday ever. We have previously done hotel holidays in Bali and this by far was the best way to do it with children.

The pool and living areas were just lovely. Plenty of room for all of us to have our own space or be together.

The staff made our holiday. Ketut, our cook, cooked us the most delicious meals from $40 for 8 people. There was enough food for two dinners really. We loved his Babi Guling (whole bbq pig) and all the sides with it. It was a feast.

Putra our driver negotiated the crazy streets for us. Driving us all around. Nothing was too much trouble. Whereever we went he welcomed us back with a big smile and a cool car!! He helped us with a sick child and we were so grateful we ended up at a good medical centre.

Jimmy and the cleaning crew were lovely, always talking and playing with the kids. The villa was tidied and cleaned more than 3 times a day. We did not have to do a thing. They were there before we could lift a finger.

The massage ladies were all really lovely. I even had a facial and it was great. The cost $10 per hour - dont think you can beat that anywhere. And you do not have to leave home.

Every morning we were asked what we wanted for dinner, what time we would like our driver and do we need massage ladies! What a holiday!

The Echo Beach area is lovely. Rice paddies and cows in fields as well as the beach. There are some good restaurants by the beach (Bali Satay) and the pizza restaurant up the road is good too.

There is a little bit of shopping in the Canggu area but it if you really want to shop, take your driver into Seminyak or Legian for the day.

I would totally recommend these Villas to anyone who wants to get away from the hustle and bustle of the Kuta - Seminyak strip. You are close enough to visit for the day but can easily wander without being hassled.

We are planning on returning next year!!! It cannot come around fast enough!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AliandJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We recently stayed in one of the 3 bedroom villas and all 6 of us have nothing but great things to say about our time at Villa Echo Beach. The staff are fantastic and nothing was too much trouble. We ate dinner in twice and the food was fantastic - possibly the best spring rolls, chicken satays and crispy calamari I have eaten and that just what we've had for entrees. Our driver was fantastic - nothing was a problem and he and definitely knew his way around.

I have read some of the other reviews and don't understand what people expect for $50 aud per person (approx - assuming 6 guests) per night - I understand the villas are about 8 years old so I'm surprised there is such minimal signs of wear & tear. The manager or senior staff came in every morning to check everything was ok. We ate at a number of restaurants based on their recommendations and everyone was great. In fact went back to one of the restaurants twice because the food and ambiance were excellent.

We are already talking about going back to the Villa's next year (sooner if I win the lottery).

I would have absolutely no hesitation is recommending the villas to anyone that will listen.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hurl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed in the 4 bedroom villa for 4 nights. Experience was rather good despite minor hiccups. The staff of the villa made us feel very at home, taking care of all our requests. Special thanks goes out to one of the staff, who specially drove out to purchase toothbrushes and toothpaste for us because we were affected by both a flight delay and a baggage delay and arrived very late in the night without luggage. Villa was pretty clean, with a gorgeous pool, and there are restaurants along echo beach with good food at reasonable prices. We also had the most meticulous and in my opinion, one of the best drivers that I've ever met. He recommended a value for money local restaurant to us that had good food, and negotiated good prices for us for various activities. For that, we were very thankful. There were slight hiccups during our stay though. Hot water is intermittent if all 3 bathrooms are being used at the same time. Water volume was relatively low too. We had 2 pieces of tissue paper floating in the pool which we fished out 1 but the other disintegrated into the water. We asked for late checkout of 2 hours which they requested for an additional USD150. When we rejected, the charge went to USD50 which we rejected as well because we could not fathom why the villa would want to charge even for 2 hours. We were also not told beforehand that the free airport transfer was immediately upon check out. So we got a rude shock the day before when we were told that we couldn't even hang around the vicinity after checkout and had to go immediately to the airport (unless we were to arrange our transport at own cost) and endure a super long wait. So be prepared for all these and i'm sure you will have a great trip. The ground staff of the villa are really good though... we can see that they put in all the effort. Villa manager.. we refrain to comment.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icyparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiveCanggu, Owner at Villa Echo Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Dear Icyparadise,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience after having stayed with us. It must have been frustrating, to say the least, to have had your flight delayed and luggage go missing due to the airline. I am sure that you understand that what happens with your airline is completely out of our control.

I would like to address this issue of late checkout. You emailed me and only asked me for late checkout and I quoted you 50% of the nightly rate as per what is published on our website. This entitles you to full villa services and facilities, including 8 hours of car and driver, cook service, wifi, etc until 10pm at night. You never mentioned anything about only requiring the villa for a few hours. When your villa manager visited you to discuss this, you only then mentioned that you required the villa for a few more hours, this is why the rate changed to USD 50. I cannot at all agree with your recollection in this TA review as I have the emails that we exchanged. As you were 7 adults in total this price included you using the villa for the additional time and the additional airport transfer. Your airport transfer vehicle, on your day of checkout is only available until 11.30am (as you booked through wotif) - it is very clear on our listing with them that airport transfers are immediate as the car is then required to be used for the next guests arriving. This is all on your booking confirmation, which i am sure, had you taken the time to read, it would not have been such a 'rude shock'. This information is also available on our listing, before you book, so we are just as surprised that you were so shocked.

The villa manager has worked with our family for 10 years and we have all the faith in him.

I am not sure about the 2 pieces of tissue paper that were floating in the pool. We have full time maintenance people that are responsible for ensuring that the pool and outdoor areas are kept clean. But perhaps, after they finished their shift and before you arrived it is likely that the tissue paper has blown into the pool.

The only issue that I will be looking into is the hot water. We have had this issue in the past but after re-engineering our hot water system some time ago we had thought that this had been dealt with.

I will pass on your compliments to the staff and your driver. I am sure they will appreciate the positive feedback.

Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

If you are looking for a relaxing time in private surroundings and having everything done for you then Villa Echo Beach is the place for you. Five of us stayed for a week in a 3 bedroom villa with own driver, cook and a service second to none. The Villa was spotless throughout with open lounge entertainment area and kitchen onto private pool. All rooms, (two upstairs, one downstairs) were air conditioned with king size beds and french doors leading out to the pool. A driver is at your disposal 8 hours a day from the time you book him to start your day and a cooked breakfast comes with the Villa. The cook is also available to cook for you should you choose to stay in for dinner. You pay for the ingredients only. They even shop for you. A five minute walk to beach offers you shops and restaurants. Setting is magical. Echo Beach is situated just north of Kuta, and boy has that place changed since I was last there back in the 70s and 80s.

Room Tip: All rooms are Identicle - air con, ensuite and facing pool. Just comes down to whether you want a do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KiwiStevechch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canggu hotels
0.9 mi away
Theanna Eco Villa and Spa
0.2 mi away
FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel
0.1 mi away
Papillon Echo Beach
Papillon Echo Beach
#18 of 41 in Canggu
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aston Canggu Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
The Kirana Hotel Resto and Spa
0.4 mi away
Ngeluwungan Boutique Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Echo Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Echo Beach

Address: Jl. Pantai Sentosa | Gang Echo, Canggu 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > North Kuta > Canggu
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 312 Speciality Lodging in Canggu
Price Range: £106 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 250 meters from Canggu Beach (aka Echo Beach) this complex of private pool villas comprising 2, 3 and 4 bedroom villas. Book direct and receive great rates with full service inclusions - such as daily car with driver, cook for lunch and dinner, breakfasts, 50 Mbps wifi, satellite TV, welcome drink, unlimited drinking water + more. Built in 2008-2010, each building is approximately 330-250m2 on land approximately 350m2. If you are looking for value for money we have the perfect villa for you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Echo Beach Hotel Canggu
Villa Echo Beach Bali/Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing