We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is the total package” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Tiga

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canggu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Tiga
Ranked #64 of 105 Canggu B&B and Inns
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This is the total package”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

“We are so happy we found this gem. I loved my stay at Villa Tiga for many reasons. Firstly, the views!! I was in my element relaxing upstairs overlooking the green rice-fields with my books, while the gang were off surfing just down the road. The beach near-by is magically still unspoilt but still so near all the action. The house itself has been designed for comfort and beauty, and the pool area was amazing for just chilling out at night. A good budget choice. We are coming back for sure.”

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LanaMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
1
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

This villa is very nice. Too bad I had to cut my trip short and didn't get a chance to use the pool. I plan to return in the future for sure.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blueplanettraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

“i stayed in villa tiga for about three weeks and could easily get used to living there. felt very comfortable, loved the dogs, felt very safe. it's a very nice area, away from chaos but near enough to go to seminyak and near the beaches around. the house has beautiful views of rice paddies. it's also nice to have all the facilities so you don't need to go out every time to eat and such. the pool is nice as well. all in all, i felt great there an stay for a longer period of time.”

Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank talula80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

"Lia and Mark were wonderful.
The house very comfortable (I recommend the upstairs room with view and balcony)
And having a pool to dip into to cool down - very perfect!

thanks Lia + Mark"

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank larissaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

My stay was great... Mark helped me out plenty of times over the course of my trip even when I wasn't staying there...stayed in the downstairs room perfect for 1 or for 2 and is a great location to take back roads into seminyak and to echo beach canngu!
Thanks for a great stay!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank purplebracelets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2010

I stayed at Villa Tiga in October for 4 nights. Its a beautiful traditional building set next to some rice paddies. The upstairs bedroom is large double with air-conditoning, and a great balcony to enjoy the afternoon sunshine and watch the locals.Downstairs there is also another bedroom and a small lounge room with TV etc.
There is also a pool and a downstairs outside cooking area, so you can cook your own food if you would like.
I don't surf, but it is a short motorbike ride to the beach at Canggu / Brewara if you do.

Its really a great place to get out of the tourist hub and live with locals - and about
30, 000 to Seminyak in cab so you are not too far out, if you want that.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank musthaveholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

My wife and I stayed at Villa Tiga for nearly one month while living on Bali for a year. It was like our home away from home and we loved every minute there.

Villa Tiga is owned and operated by an Australian expat teacher named Mark and his Javanese wife, Lia. They are an absolutely lovely couple and went out of their way to make our stay perfect.

The Villa:

The compound consists of two buildings with a total of 3 rooms. Mark and Lia live in the smallest separate building leaving a two-story, two-room building available for rent. The top room is beautiful and spacious and includes a large deck overlooking some beautiful rice terraces. Air-con, cable tv, internet access are all available, and the bathroom is large and perfectly spotless. Clean sheets, clean towels etc. The downstairs room is smaller, but it is attached to a living room with a tv/dvd and small kitchen/dining area making for quite a large living space. The downstairs room has its own private bath, but you have to walk through the living room to get to it. The two rooms can be rented independently or together so that you have the whole house to yourself or your family. If you're a couple on a honeymoon or if you're looking for more privacy, I recommend the top floor apartment. If you're a surfer, backpacker or simple traveller, you won't find a cleaner or more affordable room than the downstairs unit. My wife and I stayed in the downstairs unit for a month and were very content there. Guests have full access to the kitchen and a full refrigerator which is nice when you want to store some snacks or drinks or cook your own meal from time to time.
There is a small pool approximately 5 meters long in the garden area between the houses that is perfect for a cool dip after a hot day at the beach.

Location:

The beach itself is very close. Pantai Berawa (Berawa Beach or Brawa Beach) is a short 3 minute motorbike drive away and is a great beginner surf spot if you get the tide timed right. When a bigger swell comes in it can be pretty big as well for more advanced surfers. Echo beach is about 10 minutes away by motorbike and is a better spot for more advanced surfers. The house is located out in the Canggu rice paddies away from all the crowds of seminyak. It is quiet and secluded but you can easily drive in to Seminyak in about 10 minutes to catch a bite or get a cocktail. Taxis are a bit inconvenient out there since you have to call for them so it's better if you have your own motorbike and can drive to wherever you want to go.

Service:

Villa Tiga is not a hotel. It truely is more of a guest house. The owners Mark and Lia are happy to help you with your stay get you anything you need, but they stay out of your way as much as possible. There is no front desk or room service or anything like that. In general though, you couldn't ask for better hosts than these two.

Summary:

I would absolutely recommend Villa Tiga to anyone I know. It is an extremely affordable option in Canggu which is one of the most desireable areas of Bali. Having lived on Bali for a year, this is my favorite area by far. If you're looking for a quiet and relaxing place to stay that is away from the noise and crowds of Kuta and Seminyak, but still within range of great dining and drinks, this is your place.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicholasjlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canggu hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tugu Bali
Hotel Tugu Bali
#1 of 33 in Canggu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Kirana Hotel Resto and Spa
0.0 mi away
FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Bali Dream Villa & Resort
0.0 mi away
Aradhana Villas
Aradhana Villas
#4 of 33 in Canggu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.0 mi away
William Place Apartment Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Tiga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Tiga

Property: Villa Tiga
Address: Jalan Pantai Brawa 168 Gang Bima | (just behind the shop), Canggu 80123, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Canggu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 kilometers to the famous Canggu surfing beach through the rice fields...this timber villa with views of the rice fields is fully serviced and has all the comforts you could want. Mark and Lia are your hosts. Mark will show you to the best surf spots, which range from for absolute beginners to the expert, all within 10 minutes of Villa Tiga. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Tiga Bali/Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing