We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“8 out of 10 violently ill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga
Ranked #30 of 276 Speciality Lodging in Canggu
Certificate of Excellence
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“8 out of 10 violently ill”
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

The hygiene of the villa gravely concerned me. On arrival we where told by another guest that a few people had been I'll. Within a couple of nights the majority of us where voilently I'll. I dont know if the weather can be blamed when the guests sicknesses where bad enough to warrant daily doctor visits, with several of our group requiring injections. In the end we cut our stay short and left for a nearby hotel. I am not trying to defame the place, just trying to warn others that there is a really nasty bug affecting guests at present.
At night and at times throughout the day and night septic smells would come up through the toilets, so maybe the system can't cope with the heavy rain and maybe this is why people are getting sick. Based on our collective experience I could never reccommend this place at present.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexpye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielfromBali, Manager at Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Hi Alex

Thank you for your review, first of all we like to apologies that you are stay was not as serene as you expected.
We are sorry that you and your friend been ill and that you may have smelled something unpleasant.
We had a meeting with all the coordinators to find a solution to make sure that your bad experience will not be repeated

With Serenity
Yeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    67
    25
    19
    16
See reviews for
16
48
132
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canggu, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

The location and the concept of the place are great. Nice swimming pool and common areas with TV, ping pong table, ...
Unfortunately the staff was sometimes helpful and nice but other times very rude, especially when asked to make less noise late at night or early in the morning (yes, the place is noisy) or when confronted with some problems we had.
They didn't make us feel welcome, instead we had the impression of being an accepted inconvenience since we brought them our money.
There have been few people with food poisoning on our visit, so we didn't feel safe eating there beside breakfast (which was good).
I will not go back to Serenity Eco Guesthouse

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank El_Tripp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielfromBali, Manager at Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Hi El

Thank you for your review. Yes, our location, swimming pool and common area really are what serenity is all about. And thank you for mentioning our liking our new ping pong table
We had a meeting about the noise and we are working to reduce it. For the food poisoning, we are currently looking to the case. But we are glad that you enjoyed our breakfast!
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrnambool, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Serenity Villa had everything we needed plus the staff were so helpful and willing to give you a good deal. Free breakfast every morning was delicious! Also, I left my wallet outside at the resort one day and when I asked if they had found it the following day, they handed my wallet over with all of the money still inside. Very honest bunch! We stayed in the room named Sun and it was HUGE. However, for the first week we stayed in a room called Banyan which was half the size but was the same price as the large room (Sun). Not sure how that worked. I'm definitely staying there again!

Room Tip: Room Sun is HUGE with a large bathroom and has A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Maddi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielfromBali, Manager at Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Hi Maddi

Thank you for your compliments. Yes, the staff are helpful and we always try to be honest
We realize that the price for Banyan and Sun are not too different, so from 2014 we have modify the price to make it more fair


With Serenity
Yeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

the eco concept seems sincere and many details are with a sustainable thought. Our room was dated and not very clean. But what bothered us the most was the noise from staff which started very early. The restaurant is limited and pricey but there are many good options in Canggu for good food at a great price.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank patrick l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielfromBali, Manager at Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Hi Patrick

Yes, we work very hard to make our place Eco friendly and sustainable. We are pushing our gardeners to grow more fruits and vegetables.
I'm sorry that you are stayed with us was not as serene as you had expected.
We have talked to the staff that work in the morning shift and for them to make less noise in the morning, we will follow up to make sure they keep lowering their voice.We talked to the housekeeping about keeping the room cleaner and the maintenance to touch up the room.
For the restaurant, we have plan to reduce the prices by focusing on simpler meals.

In the end, thank you for your review. It gives us chance to improve ourselves and we hope that you will one day come back

With Serenity
Yeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana Point, California
1 review
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I know them as Villa Serenity but I think it's now named Serenity Eco Guesthouse. Either way it is a very easy friendly place to stay. The rooms are nice without being excessive. If you're not comfortable spending a lot of money on place to park your bags, this is for you. The yoga instructors are a wonderful mix from all over. Nice pool, great message, a block from the beach and an overall good vibe.
I will return!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Soulwedgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielfromBali, Front Office Manager at Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Greetings

First of all we thank you for selecting our hotel as your holiday destination. We appreciate your valuable comments on TripAdvisor of your experience with us.
Yes!! nice yoga, nice pool are enjoyable, indeed
Hope you're happy & healthy.

Serenity Crew
By Yeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Great to have a pool and good value for money. The shared toilets and showers are not the best though.
The staff is friendly but the restaurant is quite pricey and they do not have the best food so eat elsewhere...

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EDalg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielfromBali, Front Office Manager at Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Hello ED

We're really glad that you liked our pool.It was an absolute pleasure having you at our place.
Sorry to hear that our restaurant is quite pricey, but for sure we will make some observed and will compare it with the other place. Anyway, Thank you for staying with us. And thank you for writing this review. We hope that you and your family found a nice place to live and that you'll enjoying Bali. Once again, thank you very much

Serenity Crew
Yeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Villa Serenity is perfect. It's great value for money and offers lovely single rooms for solo travellers. Perhaps because they offer single rooms, it's a great place to meet like-minded, solo travellers. The vibe of the place makes you feel comfortable on arrival; it's very chilled and social, but without the late night parties. Yoga classes are held every day, which only adds to the great vibe of the place. The beach is visible from the entrance way (only 150m down the road), it's a short walk along the beach to Echo Beach for surfing, and there is a great restaurant called Beatlenut Cafe close by. Villa Serenity lives up to it's name - Villa Serentiy is serene.

Room Tip: Dream and Joy are at the front near the road, they are lovely single rooms but some find them noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Leonie1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielfromBali, Front Office Manager at Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Hi Leoni
Thanks a lot for the great review, we are very happy you had a good time here and enjoyed the beach. Yes, there are lots of good restaurant near by. Looking forward to see you again for another experience in the Island of the Goods.

Serenity Crew
Yeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canggu hotels
0.5 mi away
FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel
0.2 mi away
Aston Canggu Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Villas Canggu
Villas Canggu
#177 of 276 in Canggu
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
808 Residence
808 Residence
#62 of 276 in Canggu
15 reviews
0.6 mi away
Echoland
Echoland
#18 of 127 in Canggu
228 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Calm Tree Bungalow
The Calm Tree Bungalow
#8 of 127 in Canggu
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga

Property: Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga
Address: Jalan Nelayan, Canggu 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 276 Speciality Lodging in Canggu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a harmonious surroundings of Canggu and only a five minute stroll away from the beach, Serenity Eco Guesthouse offers a tranquil retreat for everyone. With a wonderful variety of accommodation, featuring private superior rooms to comfortable dormitory rooms. Providing free Wi-Fi, parking and DVD player. Sit back, relax, and enjoy the ambiance by the 14+ meter outdoor pool, join one of the many daily yoga classes or treat yourself to a Balinese healing massage. With an in-house ‘warung’ featuring healthy homemade meals ‘Alkaline Restaurant’ has plenty of variety to choose from. Catering for vegetarian and vegans, using no MSG or chemical taste enhancers. Located only 45 minute drive from Ngurah Rai Airport and 20 minute from popular Kuta/Seminyak areas, come and experience the peace, love, and harmony with Serenity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serenity Eco Guesthouse And Yoga Bali/Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing