We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Serenity!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga
Ranked #30 of 277 Speciality Lodging in Canggu
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No Serenity!”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The good thing about this guesthouse is that the property is very nice looking. The bad things are numerous. There was constant construction with a nail gun going off almost all day. I imagine the whole expansion is made of nails. No matter where you lie on the property of if your doing yoga upstairs you hear the construction. Obviously they need to build but as a traveler, if the sound of construction bothers you then skip for now.
They rented us bad bicycles. The bicycles had no brakes and were rusted and failed to work properly.
Everyone and I do mean every single guest came down with Bali Belly. The one uniform experience for each guest (some in country for weeks, some just a few days) was eating at Serenity. After speaking with the management it turned out that many guests have been sick for the past couple of weeks. Traveling makes people sick sometimes but what made me angry was that they had medicine they did not share with the guests! Once the secret was out they charged guests for the medicine. I think if all your guests are sick and from a few weeks ago to the present I would think they would take care of them by providing them medicine especially since they provided the illness :)
Very uncaring and money grubbing. Not very Yoga.
I don't think it's a safe place to stay. Imagine how the place smelled with all those upset bellies!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LukeCageBeijng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielfromBali, Owner at Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Hi Luke,
Thank you so much for your review, feedback is very important to us and we took it very seriously

In regards to the Bali Belly's, although previously we have had such a case, we did have a general cleaning of the kitchen and ensured that food (especially meats) are not kept longer than 4 days in the fridge. For hygiene reasons, it is now protocol for crews to always clean their hands with soap prior to food preparation. Nonetheless we will look further into the case.

Our maintenance team are supposed to keep our bicycles properly running so i will look into the case. Also, since we found the bicycles to no longer be in pristine condition, we have reduced our bicycle rental rate.

Finally, in regards to the construction, the Serenity Crew and myself are terribly sorry your stay was disturbed. We are building better facilities for both our crew and guest. However we assure you that loud hammering will not start before 9am and will stop before 5pm

Thank you again for your review and hopefully once the construction is all nicely finished, you will visit us again!

With Serenity,
Krishna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    68
    25
    20
    16
See reviews for
16
50
136
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

location of Serenity Eco Guest House is the most Positive advantage . It is just 6 minutes leisure walk from the Beach which is almost Surfer Paradise & very popular with serious Surfers . Another Good advantage is guided Yoga Events & quiet & serene Meditation Hall used only for Meditation
The Guest House has about 10 Single Rooms & about 13 double Rooms . Most of the Single Rooms are located on First Floor with Common Toilets on Second Floor,. However because of the economic tariiff , it is suitable for single back packers .Most of the Double / Family Rooms are located on the Ground Floor around a well maintained Swimming Pool. It is fairly Calm & quiet except day time renovation going on .

Wi Fi is provided all the times on all the Floors Free of cost . Restaurant caters to the orders placed on it with a well managed Menu .

Staff , particularly on Front Office and the Managing Staff , is extremely polite & takes care of any requests. I had booked Non refundable Single Room , finding it difficult to climb stairs( being older with Knee Problem) , My request to upgarade to a better Room on Ground Floor was accepted without any hesitation , of course with higher Tariff .

Anyone staying in this Guest House should not expect luxuries ( at this cost) but all basic facilities are well provided .

Room Tip: Younger & Single travellers can select Single Rooms but any one with physical disability should...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Musafirhoonyaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielfromBali, Manager at Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Greeting Musafir

Thank you for taking the time to write review - we are thrilled to read your review and to know that you enjoyed yourself so much.
Yes, our location is very close to the beach and the quite serene of meditation hall are really what serenity is all about. As a Front Office manager, I always try to make our team work accordance with our rules! to be one as a family . We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Terima Kasih !

Serenity Crew
Yeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Serenity eco resort is far from serene. The owners stay live on the property and are quite loud with music and loud conversation. I was really wanting a peaceful environment to relax and I felt like I was in someones backyard. Coco room and Japan room are right on the pool, but everyone walks by and the walls are very thin. The place doesn't feel clean and not laid out well. The private bungalows are defiantly not worth the $ and the single rooms are right next to the kitchen and entrance. They are more like an upscale shack.
I ordered a lemon/mint juice. It tasted like a little watery lime and some blended mint. The worst drink I've had in asia. :(

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielfromBali, Manager at Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Hello Lynn,
We are actually a bit surprised when we read this because when you left Serenity you thanked us with a smile!

Anyhow we do apologize and are always open to an honest opinion.

About the noise,yes, the owner was having his yearly dinner with friends. I have discussed with the owner and we agreed that next year they will make less noise.

As we are in the middle of renovation, we apologize that our place is not as clean as it can be. It should be finished soon!

Our lemon mint juice, is simply fresh lime,mint leaves,sugar and some ice. It is a very simple recipe so we are not sure how we could go wrong, if you have any tips we would love to hear them.

In the end thank you for your review and hopefully see you soon

Serenity Crew
Yeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2014

An amazingly peaceful place! Wonderfully run. Staff are very obliging. Yoga and meditation are offered. Restaurant food was delicious. The presence of the family is encompassing. The environment felt like one big family. True essence of serenity. Thank you for providing a memorable experience to our seven family members.

Room Tip: Peace and Harmony around the pool area were big
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielfromBali, Manager at Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Hi Randa

We are so glad that you and your seven family members enjoyed our peaceful & serene place.

The staffs really feels like a family, and we hope to always be one and we are so glad that you enjoyed the restaurant, i will tell the chef Wayan and Made immediately.
Thank you so much for your review, it really mean a lot to us

With Serenity
Yeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

The hygiene of the villa gravely concerned me. On arrival we where told by another guest that a few people had been I'll. Within a couple of nights the majority of us where voilently I'll. I dont know if the weather can be blamed when the guests sicknesses where bad enough to warrant daily doctor visits, with several of our group requiring injections. In the end we cut our stay short and left for a nearby hotel. I am not trying to defame the place, just trying to warn others that there is a really nasty bug affecting guests at present.
At night and at times throughout the day and night septic smells would come up through the toilets, so maybe the system can't cope with the heavy rain and maybe this is why people are getting sick. Based on our collective experience I could never reccommend this place at present.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexpye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielfromBali, Manager at Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Hi Alex

Thank you for your review, first of all we like to apologies that you are stay was not as serene as you expected.
We are sorry that you and your friend been ill and that you may have smelled something unpleasant.
We had a meeting with all the coordinators to find a solution to make sure that your bad experience will not be repeated

With Serenity
Yeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canggu, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

The location and the concept of the place are great. Nice swimming pool and common areas with TV, ping pong table, ...
Unfortunately the staff was sometimes helpful and nice but other times very rude, especially when asked to make less noise late at night or early in the morning (yes, the place is noisy) or when confronted with some problems we had.
They didn't make us feel welcome, instead we had the impression of being an accepted inconvenience since we brought them our money.
There have been few people with food poisoning on our visit, so we didn't feel safe eating there beside breakfast (which was good).
I will not go back to Serenity Eco Guesthouse

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank El_Tripp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielfromBali, Manager at Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Hi El

Thank you for your review. Yes, our location, swimming pool and common area really are what serenity is all about. And thank you for mentioning our liking our new ping pong table
We had a meeting about the noise and we are working to reduce it. For the food poisoning, we are currently looking to the case. But we are glad that you enjoyed our breakfast!
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrnambool, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Serenity Villa had everything we needed plus the staff were so helpful and willing to give you a good deal. Free breakfast every morning was delicious! Also, I left my wallet outside at the resort one day and when I asked if they had found it the following day, they handed my wallet over with all of the money still inside. Very honest bunch! We stayed in the room named Sun and it was HUGE. However, for the first week we stayed in a room called Banyan which was half the size but was the same price as the large room (Sun). Not sure how that worked. I'm definitely staying there again!

Room Tip: Room Sun is HUGE with a large bathroom and has A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Maddi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielfromBali, Manager at Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Hi Maddi

Thank you for your compliments. Yes, the staff are helpful and we always try to be honest
We realize that the price for Banyan and Sun are not too different, so from 2014 we have modify the price to make it more fair


With Serenity
Yeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canggu hotels
0.5 mi away
FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel
0.2 mi away
Aston Canggu Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Villas Canggu
Villas Canggu
#177 of 277 in Canggu
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
808 Residence
808 Residence
#71 of 277 in Canggu
16 reviews
0.6 mi away
Echoland
Echoland
#16 of 134 in Canggu
232 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sedasa Lodge
Sedasa Lodge
#4 of 277 in Canggu
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga

Property: Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga
Address: Jalan Nelayan, Canggu 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 277 Speciality Lodging in Canggu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a harmonious surroundings of Canggu and only a five minute stroll away from the beach, Serenity Eco Guesthouse offers a tranquil retreat for everyone. With a wonderful variety of accommodation, featuring private superior rooms to comfortable dormitory rooms. Providing free Wi-Fi, parking and DVD player. Sit back, relax, and enjoy the ambiance by the 14+ meter outdoor pool, join one of the many daily yoga classes or treat yourself to a Balinese healing massage. With an in-house ‘warung’ featuring healthy homemade meals ‘Alkaline Restaurant’ has plenty of variety to choose from. Catering for vegetarian and vegans, using no MSG or chemical taste enhancers. Located only 45 minute drive from Ngurah Rai Airport and 20 minute from popular Kuta/Seminyak areas, come and experience the peace, love, and harmony with Serenity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serenity Eco Guesthouse And Yoga Bali/Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing