We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply delightful”

Review of Villa Dukuh

Crystal clear infinity pool with spacious terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Crystal clear infinity pool with spacious terrace
Spotless and spacious bedrooms, each with a beautiful view Oversized bathrooms for added luxury
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Crystal clear infinity pool with spacious terrace
Spotless and spacious bedrooms, each with a beautiful view
Oversized bathrooms for added luxury
Each bedroom just steps from the pool
A variety of dining options
Our wonderful team
Our private tennis court
Our open kitchen. Learn Balinese cooking with our chef
Full breakfast included
Dine in or dine outside by the pool
Stone pool terrace
Our stunning neighbourhood, now a designated ecotourism destination
Choice of poolside lounging, including our antique teak bale
Picture-perfect view from lounge area
All bedrooms with teak King beds
A tennis court unlike any other!
Extra bedroom.  Teak daybed converts to Queen bed
Our chef can cater to all tastes
Warm antique teak interiors
Young guests welcome
Comfortable pool chairs
Tennis in the shadow of our own cliff
Open bar and billiard table
Dinner for two?
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Canggu, North Kuta, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Alexander...
London
1 review
“Simply delightful”
Reviewed 15 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

It is really impossible to say anything negative about the Villa Dukuh. All the staff are extremely friendly and welcoming. Rekar cooked delicious meals. Nopar is an excellent driver and tolerant of every driving request. Gede had a multitude of suggestions for trips and took us on a walk around his village (which was very worthwhile). The other staff were all equally obliging. The photographs show how elegant the interior is and how inviting the infinity pool. The tennis court is probably in the most aesthetically stunning location you will ever come across. The pool table was much used after dinner. And one should not forget the elegant garden. Bali is full of flowers and the garden is no exception.
Having arrived, you will never want to leave.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AA_Oakley
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Could not be improved, an absolute gem of a find”
Reviewed 11 October 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Staying at Villa Dukuh was hands down the best decision we have ever made for a holiday. We traveled with a group of friends and had expected to rent multiple rooms in a boutique hotel and enjoy Bali’s weather and some sites. A friend suggested finding a villa rental, and when we saw Villa Dukuh’s photos all I could think was: there is no way it as good as it looks. But no contest: the Villa is stunning, and just as it is described on the website. It was so perfect that we ended up spending most of the time enjoying the luxury of the place!

Here’s why we loved it:
- Everything you need is right there. You can order all your meals off a fantastic and diverse menu, as well as your alcohol.
- The staff are absolutely a delight. They are welcoming, friendly, and extremely helpful.
- The Villa has a car and driver that we used to get around on the days we felt like exploring: we checked out the beach, and the local temples. Also, the villa is in a town that is known for eco-tourism, and the owner mentioned that the staff could also lead us on a local temple walk (saving that for next time….)
- The pool is beautiful, we spent all day playing, reading, lounging. It works well for laps, and you cannot beat the twilight for atmosphere
- Every evening we practiced our pooltable skills, and in the morning got our exercise playing tennis in the totally unique private court.
- The rooms and bathrooms are lovely, spotless, well air-conditioned, and serviced at least twice daily: you will never fear the wet towel! (other Bali hotels tend to be very stingy in their room, pool and beach towel allocation).
- This is a luxury villa, and the price is well worth it; if you are sharing costs like we were, it was easily the better bet over a boutique hotel. I plan to bring my family for a reunion holiday next year. It would be the perfect place to bring children.

All in all I wish we had stayed here for the entire trip, rather than just the 4 days we booked. Ubud, the Bali Bird Park, and many other places can be done by taking day trips.

Bottom line: this place is a hidden gem.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamRoss
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“High quality villa retreat ”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed at Villa Dukuh for 6 days in August, and really enjoyed it. We were a travelling party of 2 adults + 2 adults and an infant (7 months). The villa itself is beautiful, very well maintained and has excellent amenities. The pool, which is unheated, was really warm every day (25 degrees +). It overlooks a beautiful valley, much like Ubud. The tennis court is so good, we played every morning after breakfast - a great activity to have on your doorstep. The location of the villa is quite remote, around 30 mins to Canggu and 1 hour to Ubud, but this didn't at all phase us. We stayed in most days and chilled out around the pool, played billiards, ate, drank; as there are no near shops there wasn't a temptation to venture out. Bliss. The staff are excellent (6 people) and the booking process with villa owner Andrew was vey easy. I would happily recommend the villa to anyone wanting a high quality luxury escape outside the hustle and bustle of the busy Bali areas. What you see on the website is what you get. Overall I'd give it 4.5 stars for amenities, service and value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carpOt_13
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
Reviewed 1 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We have just arrived home after an Amazing holiday at Villa Dukuh, Everything about this villa is fantastic (apart from the road used to get to it!!) The pictures on the website do not do it justice. It is the most beautiful, peaceful & tranquil place we have ever stayed - it's only a shame our stay was short.

We had planned to do a few day trips but only managed to go to Echo beach (about 20 min drive) - as we were so happy just chilling out at the villa

We traveled with our girls who are 10 & 8 and they agreed it was the best villa we have ever stayed in. The staff were wonderful, nothing was too much trouble and the food was fantastic - can't wait to return!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrambleK
England
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Simply incredible!”
Reviewed 12 May 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Villa Dukuh is the most wonderful villa imaginable, the pictures do not do it justice, as it is even more stunning when you are actually there. However, the thing that makes this place so special is the staff. They simply cannot do enough for you. The food is fabulous, every meal delicious and the service of Gede as your own personal guide is wonderful.

The villa is very remote. As other reviews have said, the road to through the village is agony! But the fact that you are going through a real Balinese village, with paddy fields and 'life' going on around you, means that you are seeing the 'real' Bali and not the manufactured version put on display for the tourists in the big resorts. Gede is happy to take you anywhere and we did visit Ubud and Seminyak, but we were always very glad to get 'home' to our little oasis of Villa Dukuh. Our last night was also one of our partys birthday and the staff made it very special. They laid a banquet table by the pool, with candles all around, cooked a whole suckling pig and some local children in full costume came and danced beautifully for us. A truly memorable end to our wonderful stay. Thank you to all the staff, its taken me ages to get around to writing this review, but I think about them all often and hope one day to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquility and staff
Liked least: Getting a tummy bug, but this was not the fault of the villa!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
churchlan...
Kirdford
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Everything amazing, particularly the staff”
Reviewed 31 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed in Villa Dukuh over the Christmas period, and what can we say, but thank you thank you. Our family dynamic can be tricky, but Gede and his team took it all in their stride and nothing was too much trouble. The villa itself is beautiful, with lovely bedrooms with mosquito nets (essential!) beautiful pool and, although the tennis court is a workout on its own to get there, it was a bonus. But the main attraction of this villa is the way the staff handle your every need - our daughter had a scooter accident and Nopa was there for us during night visits to hospitals etc. Gede coordinated all the paper work and even returned our phone to us after we had left the villa! As for Christmas Day, all was beautifully laid out with flowers in the morning and then we had roast turkey by the pool in the evening with a beautifully decorated table with such an effort to make our Christmas very special. Rika produced the most beautiful meals for us, accommodating a lot of fussiness between us! We were sad to leave the villa, but even more sad to leave the staff who had become our best friends. Thank you to you all.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd K
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gracious staff, spectacular setting, perfect stay”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Villa Dukuh is one of the most amazing luxury properties we've ever been to: secluded and serene, yet the sights of Bali are still easily accessible; tastefully designed; plenty of activities to keep one occupied, but also space to kick-back and relax; an incredibly nice and helpful staff; and a stunning setting.

The property consists of 4 rooms arranged around a pool overlooking a lush river valley. The architecture, interiors, and landscaping perfectly takes you into your own private world away from the touristy hustle of Bali. The Villa is several miles down a small road and in the middle of a small rice growing village, but the beaches and attractions of the Seminyak area of Bali are no more than 30 minutes away. We have never stayed in a more comfortable and serene location.

The courteous and extremely helpful staff are a major highlight of the experience. They consistently went out of their way to ensure that we had all we could desire from transport to meals, to massages. We arrived in Bali at midnight and had to wait in a long immigration line, and were so happy to see the Villa's friendly driver waiting for us with bottles of water right outside the airport. The Villa's staff in fact provided transportation around the area as we explored the following days. We left with the impression that if something was in their capacity to provide, they would happily do it.

The Villa's cooks are top-notch. Everything is freshly made the day of, using groceries from that morning's market. The menu has a wide range of Balinese and western food, all of which are superb. There are many restaurants around the Seminyak area, but we honestly enjoyed the Villa's cuisine so much we chose not to explore further.

We highly recommend staying here. It is great for couples, families, and groups of friends. There is plenty to do for children (such as the pool, a nice TV room, pool table, etc). There was really nothing we found lacking, and we hope to go back again.

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing under frangipani trees by the pool
Liked least: really nothing, it was incredible.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing