We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
36
2
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
2
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsecho beachprivate poolthoroughly enjoyed our staylanifrogscafesvilladriver
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2016

This was our repeat stay at Villa Enigma and we enjoyed the stay thoroughly. For the first 2 nights we stayed at Villa Mala (without pool), this villa had a renovation and facelift done and we were lucky to be the first occupants. The Villa had a beautiful garden and a huge Mediterranean style bath tub. The in villa services for breakfast, meals was fantastic, the villa attendants cooked amazing food which was hygienic and tasty (as we travelled with a Kid we were more particular about the hygiene. The neighbourhood of the villa is serene with lots of nature and local temples. Later we moved to Villa Enigma which had a big pool, and this villa was also renovated. Villa looked very beautiful and we liked more to stay in the villa near the pool, playing and relaxing. The rooms were nice and clean and villa had put mosquito net as they knew we were with a kid :-), The Villa attendant Lina helped us taking care of the kid on some evening when we wanted to see the little parties at Echo beach. The nearest beach to the Enigma Villas is Pererenan Beach which is very quite and have some locals selling sweet corns, snacks and drinks, you will see some serious surfers and people looking for hustle bustle free beach only at Pererenan. Villa Manager, organized day tours to Ubud, monkey forest and the best part was that the driver was the guide so we didn't had to pay extra. Its really a paradise in Bali, away from busy streets and crowd and yet near to the chic clubs and restos at Echo Beach.

Room Tip: If you are with family book villa Enigma or Mia (Villa Enigma has the bigger pool).
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ankitpri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnigmaBaliVillas, Owner at Enigma Bali Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear Ankitpri,

thank you for staying with us. We hope to have you back one day! Greetings Lani, Lina & Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2015

We cant complain as they let us use our original booking free of charge which we missed due to volcanic activity. The place is in quiet canggu with a 20 minut taxi hop to senayang. We did soms diving which is quite a trek from here as it mostly done at the other side of the Island. Surfing on the other hand is great here. The beach is a good 20 minute walk.

Accomodation is fine with outdoor living space and a plunge pool.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnigmaBaliVillas, Owner at Enigma Bali Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2015

Dear Kndatkin,

Thank you so much for you review!

We are very glad you liked your stay with us.

Yes surfing is the sport to do on this side of the island.
Snorkeling and Watersports is on the other side of the island.

That is Bali, at least it offers everything so close to each other on one island.

Wish you come back and stay with us one day.

Cheers
Pat

Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2015

This being our second visit to Bali, we were hoping for relaxing solitude away from the hustle and bustle of Seminyak, and that is exactly what Enigma Bali Villas delivered. We stayed in the largest of the villas – “Enigma”, and made the right choice we think.

Location

Enigma Bali Villas is located in Pererenan, this is well worth looking at on a map before you visit, as it is quite far from the main holiday areas – which suited us just fine. Pererenan beach (black sand) was a 10 minute walk, down one street which is mainly residential, and can be safely walked – even at night with a torch as it is reasonably well lit for most of the way. Pererenan beach has a small beach bar (perfect for sunset viewing), and one or two restaurants, which served simple, but tasty, and reasonably priced food.

Echo Beach is the local hub, which can be walked fairly easily (20 minutes or so), has several seafront restaurants, shops, an ATM, and a sports bar showing Aussie rules, and EPL matches. We did walk back in the dark, but the road is fairly busy. Approximately half way to Echo beach is the Red Salt Café, which is a welcome place to stop for a drink and snack on the way.

We didn’t hire a scooter, as most visitors do, but managed to get around fairly easily. The staff at Enigma booked us taxis, which were clean, cheap and reliable; but taxis back were hit-and-miss, so on one occasion we did walk back from Echo Beach – even though we didn’t really want to.

There are several short-cut trails across country and through the rice fields, which were genuinely beautiful – and offer a taste of the real Bali.

There is a small convenience store directly opposite Enigma, which was perfect for basic supplies. There are two laundries close by, so there’s no need to pack a huge amount of clothes.

The Villa

Enigma villa had two double bedrooms, each en-suite (showers – no bath), an outdoor lounge area and TV, and a kitchenette with fridge. There were sufficient utensils to cook a meal if required, as well as a microwave, egg cooker, and a two ring gas hob.

The villa was great in every way; the pool was large, but the loungers in the “Enigma” villa were set out in an inconvenient place, with no sun, and amongst the undergrowth which was teeming with lizards. If you are a sun worshipper, I would recommend bringing a lilo to bob around in the pool which catches the sun beautifully. Otherwise the other pool villa seemed slightly smaller, but better laid out. There are refurbishments planned I understand.

If you are of a nervous disposition, you should be aware that the villa backs onto a small bamboo forest, and as a result is teeming with wildlife, from large lizards, and frogs, to some much bigger animals that we could hear in there behind the wall at night.

Service

The hotel arranged our pick-up and drop-off at a reasonable price, and with no issues at all.

Our rooms were cleaned daily, and the staff were great. We had a meal cooked for us in the villa one night, and it was lovely. We prefer to be left alone for the most part, and the staff got that just right. Clean towels and linen were provided as required.

Overall a great stay, and I would recommend.

Room Tip: Pool villas are best
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank ShakyStevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnigmaBaliVillas, Owner at Enigma Bali Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2016

Dear Shaky Stevens,

thank you for staying with us! Hope to see you again at Engima Bali Villas.
We recommend to book directly with us to gain "repeater booking discount".

Greetings
Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2015

We have been to Bali a few times and this is one of the nicest places we have stayed. Perfect for ladies who may be left unattended while the boy goes off surfing! Beautiful, clean, private and modern accomodation with lovely staff. My recommendation would be take some friends and stay in the larger villas with its own private pool and chef. If we ever go back to Canggu this would be where I want to stay!

Stayed: September 2014
Thank Goods111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnigmaBaliVillas, Owner at Enigma Bali Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2016

Dear Goods 111,

thanks for staying with us! We are happy to welcome you again some day.
We recommend to book directly through our website to receive a repeat bookign discount.

Greetings
Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2015

Really nice villa in a non-touristic area of Bali! We stayed here for 5 days with our daughter of 1,5 years. We were sad to leave.. Staff is really friendly and helpful. Banana pancake breakfast is very nice!

Room Tip: Go for the villas with the pool!
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Arno v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnigmaBaliVillas, Owner at Enigma Bali Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2016

Dear Arno,

thanks for staying with us! We are happy to welcome you again some day.
If you wish to come back again, we recommend to book directly through our website to receive a repeat booking discount.

Greetings
Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews