We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Villas with Excellent Service!”
Review of Villa Komea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa Komea
Ranked #10 of 267 Speciality Lodging in Canggu
Certificate of Excellence
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful Villas with Excellent Service!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed in Komea Villa three nights in the beginning of June 2014, and we fell head over heels in love with the place, and would not hesitate to return if (or when) we’re going back to Seminyak.

The villa:
The villa and the outdoor surroundings are new, well-maintained and spotlessly clean. The bathroom is a large semi-outdoor bathroom with a huge stone tub. (Unfortunately, there wasn’t enough warm water to fill the tub with a comfortable level of water – but that’s a minor detail). The bed was super comfortable, and the air con very effective and quiet. The pool is big enough for a few strokes, and the water temperature simply perfect. We were never disturbed by any sounds coming from the outside or from the neighboring villas during our stay. The villas are located in the rice paddies, and at one point farmers were burning the fields behind the villas, and we had to stay inside for 15 minutes until the smoke had disappeared. The reception called us immediately to apologize and let us know it would be over in approximately 30 minutes.

The location:
It’s a little outside of the main Seminyak area, and you’ll have to get transportation to Seminyak, restaurants, the beach etc. That didn’t bother us, as the Komea Villa driver would take us anywhere we wanted to go in the Seminyak area, even picking us up after dinners or long days in beach clubs. One afternoon when I called for pick up at a spa and the car wasn’t available, they told me to take a taxi and even offered to pay for it. That’s outstanding service! Most restaurants, beach clubs, spas etc. is within a 5-15 minutes’ drive from the villa. Not an issue, as long as you don’t expect to be able to walk to the beach in two minutes. (If you want to walk to a nearby restaurant, the restaurant in the Desi Sani Resort just across the street is fantastic and only a two minute walk from the villa!)

The breakfast:
There’s a large range of breakfast options available. The night before you’ll choose what you want to eat (the omelet is delicious!), and when you want it to be served. They’ll carry it to your villa where they’ll set it up for you, and you’ll have a relaxing start to you day enjoying your breakfast poolside. You’ll have toast, croissants, omelets, fresh fruit, yoghurt, fresh juice, coffee, tea etc., it’s all well-made and very filling. We didn’t eat anything from the room service menu. The options were quite limited (no desserts!!), however, it was reasonably fairly priced.

The wifi:
Stable enough and the speed was not bad. (I admittedly live in China and may have lower expectations than most people when it comes to internet and wifi, but it was stable and not too slow, so I was happy).

The service:
The service was nothing less than excellent. The entire staff were welcoming and happy to help you with your every wish or small request, and they all felt sincerely happy to be working at Komea Villa. Even the drivers had a very good command of English. Everything from the pick up from the airport (nice air conditioned minivan with cold towels and bottled water) to checking in and out was a pleasure, and very efficiently handled.

Overall, Komea Villa is an excellent choice for a villa in the Seminyak area. We would love to return one day!

Room Tip: I don't know - but I think all t he rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank enirtak_kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayan W, General Manager at Villa Komea, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear "enirtak_kat"

My self and all team members wish to thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted to know that your stay with KOMEA VILLAS was fantastically relaxing. It is rewarding to read how much you loved the experience you had and that you were pampered by the sincere attentive service, friendly staff and the beautifully designed villas.

Once again thank you very much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager - KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    19
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
130
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

This is our 3rd visit to Villa Komea and it never disappoints. The team are friendly, efficient and so obliging.
Nothing is too much trouble and we feel safe and welcomed as soon as we are collected from the airport.
After being here many times we have come to know many of the staff and from the reception, housekeeping, gardeners & drivers we cannot fault their efficiency, and all done with a genuine smile on their face.
The villas are immaculate and maintained to a very high standard.
The transport is fabulous and you feel very safe in their company as they shuttle you to shopping or to a restaurant.
The only thing that would make it easier if catching taxis would be to have a sign out the front that is visible from the road. We know where it is but Taxis are not so familiar with this area. We are going to book our trip for next year and guess where it will be ..............Villa Komea of course. Until then thank you Rai and the team.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayan W, General Manager at Villa Komea, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear “Mandy C”

We were very happy to welcome you back to KOMEA VILLAS and thank you for taking the time to review your stay on TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your 3rd visit and to know that you highly appreciate the unique tropical living our villas has to offer. More over we wish to thank you for your high appreciation to the level of service rendered by our team members who were always helpful, friendly and went beyond their way to ensure your stay was relaxing.

All of us at KOMEA VILLAS look forward to welcoming you back very soon again.

Kind regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We loved Komea Villa. The villa was beautiful and clean with well groomed gardens and a nice splash pool. The compound is not large, which makes access to the staff/service fast and convenient. The food was also great: well prepared and presented. The staff was very friendly, professional, and helpful. Komea Villa is about 15 minutes by shuttle to the center of Seminyak, and a shuttle driver was nearly always available at the villa to take us into town. If not, a taxi could be called within 5 minutes. The roads are not really walkable into Seminyak (mostly no sidewalk) or to the beach, but it would probably be a bit too far to walk anyway. I think the slight distance from Seminyak was actually a benefit, because the area / compound are quiet and peaceful, and the ride to the villa from the center is scenic. If you go into Seminyak, take a card with the villa address and your iPhone/GPS because a few taxi drivers from town got confused when trying to find the way back to the villa (The GPS worked without connecting to the cellular network). Taxis are ubiquitous in town and not expensive (~$5US from town to the villa). You can also call the villa and they will pick you up, although we didn't bother with that. Our stay also included a free 1 hour massage service per person, which was quite good. Another resort with a variety of yoga classes open to the public, Desa Seni, is 50M up the road, and walkable. We had the villa staff arrange a driver/guide for a day trip, and the driver was OK, but for another day trip where we used "Bali Made Tours" we got more guidance and explanations from the driver. In summary, we'd definitely stay at Komea Villa again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayan W, General Manager at Villa Komea, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear “Thomas S”

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and It is gratifying to read that the exceptional service, the beautifully designed villas and the attention to details make KOMEA VILLAS stand out and different.

I am also happy to know that you made the most of our free shuttle service and was pampered with the in villa massage. The entire team members and I look forward to welcoming you back to KOMEA VILLAS.


Warmest regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

No words can describe how this place very beautiful and staff very lovely and friendly...For anybody want go to bali you must stay in komea villa. .I am there now spend my honeymoon. . Thanks Mr. Rai

Ahmed moussa

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ahmed83farid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayan W, General Manager at Villa Komea, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear "ahmed83farid"

It was a pleasure having you staying at KOMEA VILLAS and thank you for taking your valued time to share your experience.

I am pleased to read that your stay has been incredibly amazing, enjoyable and one to remember. Thank you for recommending us to other travelers, very much appreciated. We are all very happy and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager - KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed at Villa Komea for 3 nights at Komea Villa, two weeks ago. Everything was fantastic, from the property itself to the attentiveness of the staff.

We got Villa No. 1 - a one-bedroom pool villa. The size would have been perfect for two people, but we had three in our group so it was a tad too tiny with the extra bed in place. Not the villa's fault though, complete our own choice. The villa was well maintained, complete with trendy Balinese furniture to set the mood.

The service provided by the staff was top notch. They were friendly and attended to our every need promptly and with a smile, even in the wee hours of the night! They brought us towels, bottled water, and basically everything immediately when we requested for it. For those of you who are afraid of mosquitoes, fret not! The friendly staff will drop by the villa every evening to light up mosquito repelling incenses around the villa, and it really helps a lot.

When we had any questions on getting around, the front desk tried their best answer our queries (special shoutout to the guy at the reception every evening, sorry I forgot your name!). One thing in particular that completely changed the experience of our trip was the complimentary shuttle service provided by the villa, to places in and around Seminyak. We saved so much time without having to go through the hassle of calling and waiting for cabs every time we wanted to go somewhere.

On the location, it was a bit of a distance from the main attraction areas ie. Seminyak but the free shuttle service provided made up for it! Batu Belig Beach is about 15 mins away by foot, though I don't really recommend walking there, can be quite dangerous with the narrow roads and numerous blind spots along the way. Other than that, there is nothing really special or nearby conveniences around the villa, basically you have to take the shuttle out to other areas if you needed anything at all. We've not nothing to complain on the noise from the cars on the main road, as per other reviews. We had no such issue, it was really quiet at night - probably because our villa faced the paddy fields.

Now, there are a few things which I thought there were room for improvements:-

1. Breakfast - it seemed as though it was pre-cooked way before it was supposed to be delivered to the villa. The continental menu was subpar - poached eggs that tasted more like hard boiled eggs, tasted bland, and the portions were relatively small. The items on the Indonesian menu were slightly better - tastier, more enticing, and bigger in portions.

2. The iPod dock/speakers was only compatible with the iPhone 4! None of us had an iPhone 4, so we resorted to playing music from the phone itself. It would have been great if the speakers were compatible to more devices, ie. iPhone 5, Samsung etc. I'm sure there are ones out there where you connect via the headphone jack!

3. Swimming pool was a bit too dark for night swims, would have been nicer if the pool/pool area was more well lit.

In summary, our trip was overall fantastic, with some very minor setbacks as mentioned above. Kudos to the team at Villa Komea! Will definitely come back one day and recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewtbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayan W, General Manager at Villa Komea, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear "andrewtbh"

Please allow me to thank you for sharing your review of your stay at KOMEA VILLAS. It is rewarding to learn that the experience has been wonderful and the stay was amazingly great, fantastic right from the beautiful villas to the attentiveness of our team members.

We high value your constructive feedback on some issues that you raised. We are committed to address them with our team. Comments and suggestion from all guest are very essential to us and we continuously improve our service and facilities based on your input.

Once again thank you very much for your review and we all look forward to welcoming you to KOMEA VILLAS again in the future.

Warmest regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager - KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

That was absolute perfection! We had one-bedroom villa - villa no. 5. Everything was really ideal - our villa was decorated really tastefully and made in very practical way. Bathroom was quite original - outside yet separated from living room area. And despite other opinions, we didn't hear the noise from the road. Receptionists are really lovely and helpful - we had troubles with some taxidrivers and they were always there to help us. (Important hint: ALWAYS use Blue Bird taxis, we were cheated 2 times with the others.)
Just a little disadvantage: location. Komea is located near quite busy and narrow road so I strongly recommend to take shuttle/taxi every time you want to go anywhere. Don't try to walk, it's dangerous! That is why, I think that the villa management should't even give the distance to the beach by foot. We tried to have a walk one time and it is really not possible to make it. That is one thing. Second - Canggu beach is really not special, so if you want to enjoy ocean, waves & sun, take a shuttle to Seminyak beach. That is why, if you choose Komea Villa, forget about lazy strolls to the beach through rice fields - you need to plan your day and take shuttle/taxi all the time you want to go out.
On the other hand, shuttle was available almost 80% of the times we wanted to use it and taxis were cheap (again - take Blue Bird!). Receptionists and management were really helpful. Last day we had very late flight and they let us stay in our room without additional charge. It was really paradise! If only this paradise could be located in more convenient place....

Room Tip: Villa no. 5 was nice and quiet. I heard that in some villas you hear noise from the street so ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo-the-alien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayan W, General Manager at Villa Komea, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear "jo-the-allien"

Thank you very much for taking your valued time to share and post your review of our stay at KOMEA VILLAS.

My self and all team members are very happy to read that your stay was an absolute perfection. KOMEA VILLAS is designed to allow our guest to sit back, relax and enjoyed the luxury tropical living in a private pool villas. I am also happy to note that all staffs were very friendly, have full knowledge of the areas and places of interest and were without hesitation to help in any way they can to ensure your holiday is one to remember.

Our shuttle service is a plus, where we provide drop off service to Seminyak area, shops and most sought after restaurants within the area. We are happy that you made the most of drop off service. We are excited and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager - KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morges, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We have spent the last 5 nights of our stay in Bali in Komea and really enjoyed it.

The place is beautiful and the staff very friendly and helpful.

After visiting so many places when we were in Ubud, our stay here was more about relaxing and spending time on the beach and in the surrounding towns (Canggu, Seminyak, Kuta) for the remaining days.

The only disadvantage from Komea Villas is that apart the Japanese restaurant which is just in front, you will need their shuttle or a taxi to take you to a place for lunch or dinner. There are no sidewalks when you get out and even in Canggu and we experimented walking by ourselves once but that was a one time mistake.

The shuttle was almost always available when we needed it, the town and beaches in Seminyak are great (if you like waves) and it was the perfect spot to spend the last days of our trip while being not too far away (about 30-40 minutes) from the airport.

Room Tip: We had Villa 5, it was extremely calm on the side where there are only 2 of them (4 + 5).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SchneckCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayan W, General Manager at Villa Komea, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear "SchneckCH"

I am very happy to read that your stay at KOMEA VILLAS was enjoyable, fantastic and most everything you have ever expected.

We are committed to deliver a truly memorable experience with genuine care for what Bali and KOMEA VILLAS is famed for. I am pleased to hear that all staff members were helpful, friendly and went out their way to ensure your stay memorable and relaxing. Once again thank you very much for your review and we all look forward to welcoming you in the future again.

Warmest regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager - KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canggu hotels
0.9 mi away
THE HAVEN SUITES Bali Berawa
1.4 mi away
Hotel Tugu Bali
Hotel Tugu Bali
#1 of 35 in Canggu
747 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ngeluwungan Boutique Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lv8 Resort Hotel
Lv8 Resort Hotel
#12 of 35 in Canggu
220 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aradhana Villas
Aradhana Villas
#5 of 35 in Canggu
143 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Kirana Hotel Resto and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Komea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Komea

Property: Villa Komea
Address: Jl. Subak Sari no. 7, Br. Tegal Gundul, Canggu 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 267 Speciality Lodging in Canggu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Komea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering only seven One and Two Bedroom Villas, all fitted with private swimming pool, elegant living space and lush tropical landscape. Each Villa is individually styled, crafted to be your very own romantic sanctuary and is fashioned to allow you make the most out of each stay. We bring you an opportunity to experience a boutique villa living, an affordable personalised luxury at the best value. Komea Villas is a secret secluded hideaway, within easy distance to the beach and mere minutes from Seminyak, the most sought-after destination on the island to dine, shop and party. Our complimentary transportation services make it even closer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Komea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Komea Bali/Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing